We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 day midweek brilliant Mike” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Viking Hotel to your Saves list
Viking Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   479 South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“5 day midweek brilliant Mike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Vikings great value no children a bit dated but clean and tidy ex food and staff are friendly and helpfull the bar TV room opposite dining room is very dark hard to read in overall it is a brilliant experience I go about 4 times a year Mike

Room Tip: Out side twin ask for large bathroom south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    286
    59
    24
    17
See reviews for
68
420
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton Lancashire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have just come back from a 5 day stay at this hotel, and although we couldn't fault the food and the entertainment and the fact that it was adult only we found the hotel in need of some tlc the entrance hall needed painting and in the dining room the windows were all blown, however, while we were there they did replace some of the windows unfortunately they did it while diners were eating making it not a safe environment, also when we arrived the staff at reception seemed to ignore us and carried on with their private conversation, we also found that on the first night for dinner we waited 10 minutes before we were shown to our table,even though waitresses were passing us, this hotel is not for disabled as it is all steps even the lift is on the first floor, however, on talking to other elderly guests they said they had been coming to this hotel for years and really loved it. we have been to most of Choice Hotels in the past and have loved every one but I don't think we will be returning to this one.

Room Tip: Try not to get one on the fourth floor as the lift only goes to three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our second mid week break to the Viking this month. Always visit with my wife and mother and stay for 5 nights. Excellent value for money, restaurant is great and and because of the nightly entertainment in Talk of the Coast we do not have to leave the hotel. Viking is very handy for buses and trams but what keeps us coming back are the friendly and helpful staff, from first arriving at reception it is like coming home and visiting old friends.Have booked another break for June.

Room Tip: Mother always has a lovely sea view room but they do come at a suppliment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had a 2 night stay (Fri-Sun) with 2 other couples who had never been before & we all loved it. Blackpool, I personnally am not a great lover of Blackpool so i'll leave it there.
The Viking Hotel, the food & service as usual was great. Buddy Lea (the Compare) & the Sensatons brilliant. The 4 acts that we saw over the 2 nights were good. Karl Scofield the comedian on the second night was brilliant & when he & Buddy teamed up at the end of the night my jaw was aching with laughing.
The only reason I have given it 4 circles (stars above) is due to the room it is showing it's age now, but for 2 nights it was ok.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

the hotel was excellent from the minute we got there the staff were very welcoming the food was very good plenty of choice and the entertaiment was excellent we are going back next year for another weekend the weather was brill.

Room Tip: we were at the back not a good view but we werent bothered very quiet the only thing if you didnt re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

If you are looking for a weekend away with family or friends then you can't beat the Viking Blackpool. It has everything you want. A lovely restaurant with friendly staff who can't do enough to help. Fantastic all you can eat breakfast. Beautiful 3 course evening meal. Your table is yours for the weekend.
In the caberet room your table is yours for the weekend, so you don't need to rush your evening meal to get a table. Buddy Lee (the compair and comedian) is apsolutely brilliant. He is the life and sole of the place. There are other comedians who also do a turn later in the night. There is one who does a rap using info from the crowd it's brilliant to hear.
very gggod value for money. I would reccommend it to anyone. Give it a try you won't be dissappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Viking from fri-mon and what an excellent time we had, if your looking for somewhere with great entertainment this is the place to be. The compare is absolutely fabulous, what a laugh we had with him plus on both nights you get a singer and comedian followed by late night disco. We are a couple in our thirties visiting Blackpool with parents and this suited us all, I loved the fact of having fab entertainment, disco then roll up to bed without leaving the hotel. Food was fabulous and very well organised you kept your same table for the whole weekend and this was the same setup downstairs in the bar which was great as it meant you didn't have to rush especially if there's a group of you. Rooms were nice a little small but we had a sea view so that made me happy. Staff were very helpful and overall this is a Lovely clean and friendly hotel. one of the best weekends we've had, what a laugh.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Address: 479 South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#22 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.