We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Buddy Lee is fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Viking Hotel to your Saves list
Viking Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   479 South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Hotel, Buddy Lee is fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Stayed in October, same week every year. Food is always good and entertainment is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChoiceHotelsltd, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Dear Jill P

Thank you for the great review.

We are so glad you keep coming back to see us!

Regards

Sally Carpenito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    262
    54
    23
    18
See reviews for
65
382
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

If you are looking for a break with with good food, great entertainment and friendly helpful staff look no further than The Viking.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

stayed here for a week end in november, lovely clean rooms excellent food, and fantastic entertainment would recemmend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We were put in the 4th floor but were unaware that on the 3rd and 4th floors you could smoke in your room. As my partner and I dont smoke we were disappointed that we hadnt been asked if we wanted a smoking or none smoking room, the smell of cigarette smoke as soon as you entered the corridor was absolutley awful the smoke was even coming into our room and we had to leave the bedroom window opened all night. However we did ask in the morning if we could be moved into a none smoking room and the receptionist organised this straight away.

Room Tip: If you are a none smoker ask not to be put into floors 3 and 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChoiceHotelsltd, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Dear Irene 1304

So sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. It is normally policy to allocate smoking/non-smoking rooms according to customer preference and we are pleased that reception were able to give you a suitable room as soon as you made them aware of the problem.

You will be very glad to hear that as a result of customer feedback, the Viking will be a totally non-smoking hotel from 1st January 2012!

We hjope you will come back to visit us again.

Regards

Sally Carpenito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

this is the 3rd stay at the Viking, again the staff could not do enough for us. stayed in room 339 overlooking seafront, room has been refurbished to a good standard, and will ask for this room again, plenty of space and natural daylight, couldn't fault the food, entertainment or staff. look out for Gemma in the restaurant, she is so pleasant and cannot do enough to make your meal enjoyable. Comedians on Friday & Saturday night were so funny, long time since laughed like that!!! will definitely be booking again soon, perfect weekend break with our friends. A big thank you to all staff

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have more space and natural daylight, rooms at rear tend to be darker
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Over the past few years I haved spent many holidays at the Viking, I have always received a warm welcome from all of the staff, being greeted by name. The food and entertainment has always been first class, and I have no hesitation in recommending it. It speaks for itself when the staff has been there many years, and it is sometimes difficult to get a reservation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Staff very helpful and pleasant, food excellent, entertainment 1st class, this was our 3rd time this year that we had been,also we have booked for January 2012, so it must be good.

Room Tip: We try to get ground floor when possible as we have walking difficalties..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Address: 479 South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#23 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.