We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Canberra Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Canberra Hotel
Save
You added The Canberra Hotel to your Saves list
46 Withnell Rd, Blackpool FY4 1HE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #359 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with a large party. The rooms were fantastic, beautifully decorated and clean. Tea/coffee & biscuits, turned down beds and other little touches made us all feel special. The owners couldn't have done more for us and created a very warm friendly atmosphere. Very reasonable rates. It's all you need for a stay in Blackpool. We've all said we'd defiantly be back

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra B, Owner at The Canberra Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
It was an absolute pleasure to have you all stay. Thank you again for your lovely comments. We try hard to ensure high standards at all times and that everyone's needs are catered for.

We look forward to seeing you all again!

Louise and Dave xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Genuinely enjoyed our one night stay at the canberra hotel. Pleasant reception with very clean rooms. Very reasonable rates. All you need for a good night or weekend in blackpool. Would recommend :) And when we return to Blackpool it will be my first choice

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra B, Owner at The Canberra Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. We try hard to ensure high standards at all times and that everyone's needs are catered for. A warm welcome always awaits, those friends both new and old!

We look forward to seeing you all again!

Louise and Dave xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic stay!! 12 of us stayed at the beginning of august for my friends 30th birthday and we couldnt have asked for a better hotel stafg went out of there way to help us with any request rooms clean and spacious bed lovely and comfortable. Was so impressed i shall be staying again with my family when we visit for the lights in september. I wouldnt stay anywhere else!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra B, Owner at The Canberra Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi Laura

It was an absolute pleasure to have you all stay for Katie's 30th birthday. Thank you again for your lovely comments. We try hard to ensure high standards at all times and that everyone's needs are catered for.

We look forward to seeing you all again!

Louise and Dave xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Fourteen of us stayed here at the end of may for my friends 30th birthday, the hotel owners were so nice, i would definitely recommend a stay here, the hotel has just been refurbished and they are just doing the kitchen, it is near the pleasure beach

Room Tip: The 3 bed room is massive, they all have a shower and toilet except for the twin room, which just ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra B, Owner at The Canberra Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
It was an absolute pleasure to have you all stay and I hope you all enjoyed your night out dressed as nuns! I know looked all looked amazing. Thank you again for your lovely comments. We try hard to ensure high standards at all times and that everyone's needs are catered for.

We look forward to seeing you all again!

Louise and Dave xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed here for only one night and wished we could have stayed longer. This is an excellent hotel with a warm friendly atmosphere. This hotel is in the later stages of refurb and has been done to a very high standard. The rooms were extremely clean and the beds very comfortable. Downstairs there is a modern feel to the communal area. A large fish tank helps you to relax and there is a pool table and bar. The kitchen is currently under restoration, but this does not interfere with your stay at all. Dave and Louise are really friendly and will do anything to help. One of our party was staying at a different hotel and unfortunately was attacked. Dave and Louise didn't hesitate to help. They gave her an extra room so the rest of the party wouldn't be disturbed, contacted the police and hotel so she could get her things, and then stayed up until 6.00am assisting us. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. I am looking forward to staying here again, and excited to see the finished product when all refurb is done. So if your looking for a clean, comfortable and friendly place to stay in Blackpool, stay here. You will not be disappointed with this hotel. I do have to say to all those people on Tripadvisor who write bad reviews about hotels. If you want 5* luxury with baking hot sun, large pools and free everything. Then you need to build your own hotels. I am a qualified travel agent so I know what a hotel should offer for the price they charge. This hotel is extremely well priced and in my opinion they could charge more for their rooms. Thanks Dave and Louise. I will definitely be back xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra B, Owner at The Canberra Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi Jeanette

It was an absolute pleasure to have you all stay. We are more than grateful for your lovely comments. We try hard to ensure high standards at all times and that everyone's needs are catered for. We were glad to be of assistance and more importantly glad that nobody was caused any real harm from the incident at the other hotel.

We look forward to seeing some of you again next weekend.

Louise and Dave xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Under new ownership.. we were there in oct 2011.. the rooms were mimimal and you got the feeling that they couldnt wait for you to get out, they dont seem suited to B&B work. very unsociable.. she was more interested in ironing than pleasing guests and the husband was worse. didnt get to know names just felt very uncomfortable all the time . I stayed sshort term but would hate to stay any holiday in the place, on leaving they hardly lifted there heads to say goodbye.. money is to tight these days so i will be shopping about for a better deal for my money..somewhere that the owners are actually pleased to see you. You wont find it here....

Room Tip: another hotel. rooms to small
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

A very reasonable room only hotel.... two people in an en suite room with freeview tv and new beds/ coffee making for £20 per night can't be beaten. ITS UNLICENSED BUT THEY HAVE ANOTHER HOTEL AND PEOPLE CAN USE FACILITIES IN BOTH. Really nice owners. Make you feel at home been back three times already.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Canberra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canberra Hotel

Address: 46 Withnell Rd, Blackpool FY4 1HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #359 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the earlier months of 2011 the Canberra Hotel was completely renovated in a modern and stylish decor incorporating cleanliness and value for money.In 2012 our fully refurbished bar and seating area was opened, shortly followed by a modern, clean dining room where we currently offer full English as well as continental breakfast until 10am.With an idyllic location of being situated in between the Pleasure Beach and Blackpool Town centre nothing that Blackpool has to offer is too far away. As well as catering for families and couples we also are happy to cater for parties, big and small, including Stag Do's, Hen Party's, same sex groups, contractors etc. Please note we do not take group bookings if families are in and vice versa. We have been used as the perfect venue for a variety of small to medium sized functions, including 30th birthdays and First Holy Communions. We have a range of double, single, twin and family rooms available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Canberra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.