We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel from hell” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Broadway Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Broadway Hotel
Save
You added Broadway Hotel to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   2-4 Burlington Road W | New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1NY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #865 of 910 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“hotel from hell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

we stayed at the broadway hotel on aug bank holiday monday.been there previous years when rudy and ian owned it.unfortunately they went bust at christmas.when we went to our room the lock was faulty-on opening the door there was dried blood on the yale lock-t.v didntwork.dry hot chocolate all over the net curtains.the shelf for the lamp at the side of the bed was loose-the lamp just slipped off it onto the floor.the matress was so springy you could have bounced up to the ceiling if you werent careful.the carpet was gross would like to think what some of the stains were.the wardroab only had half panel at the back.
no draught bear-just cans.
the breakfast was poor.fried eggs only-no scrambled etc. no marmalade for the toast.we had to send dirty cups back.
no comments book to write out experience.
it was a disgrace.we had some great memories when rudy and ian had it.
the hotel needs closing and totally refurbishing.a good management needs installing.r.i.p.

Room Tip: dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    35
    32
    22
    139
See reviews for
77
43
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

First of all me and my girlfriend came for 2 nights child free and upon arriving we were given a room which had a damp stain on the ceiling, the light above our heads not working and hanging off, tv not working, bathroom tiny, the noise through floorboards noisy so I had no sleep throughout the night and the bed so uncomfortable my back was hurting when I complained to the manager his response was its an old building so I said we're gonna leave after 1 day and he sed fine and wudnt refund me, he sed have some breakfast before you leave so I asked for scrambled eggs on toast and waitress looked at me n sed we only do fried egg so I sed ok ans this was cold and tasted of rubber. This shouldn't even be a 1 star hotel because my rabbit hutch looks nicer so please people save your money and don't come here it ruined my break and week away from work..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Where do i start.... we booked this hotel as advised by the travel agent it was a good hotel! firstly its miles from the main part of Blackpool, its right at the side of the pleasure beach very close to the pepsi max! The beach was close. The rooms stink and smelt damp, we had to ask for the air freshener. My friend was given his room key and when we went in the room was still a mess from the last person (lovely!) One of the main lights didn't have a bulb attached, there was a hole in the roof, the TV's did not work, the wardrobe had no back and there was a fan that guess what, didn't work! (we were there in July when we were having the heat wave!) the towels were old and rough. The windows needed a dam good clean (do they not have window cleaners in Blackpool!!!) Beds very questionable, Bathrooms tiny. Staff were smoking in the door way of the hotel which stuck right up the stairs. Its seems like meal time is 5pm no later and its a set 3 course meal and breakfast was minimal, coffee really nice but tea an odd colour! i asked for toast but brown bread the waitress looked at me stupid they dont do brown bread!!! wouldnt ever stay there again, i am so glad i was only there for 4 nights.... NEVER EVER again! BEWARE!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Me, my husband and 2 young children booked this hotel on the last minute without checking the reviews first, we paid £60 for the night. We arrived at 2.20pm but our room weren't ready so we went back at 4pm, the stairs carpet and wall paper was disgusting and the room was even worse, it stank of mould and damp, the beds where awful, the bathroom stank of wee, carpet all stained and just generally dirty throughout. We decided we could not stay there another minute and asked for a refund where we was told we could only get half of it back. We then went to a premier inn and had to pay a further £83 but it was money well spent. Shut this place down it is disgusting, by far the worst place I have ever seen and got ripped off with £30!!!!! Terrible

Room Tip: Go to the premier inn near the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We (myself, my husband + 2 teenage boys) visit Blackpool annually and usually stay in a different hotel/b&b each time. We are neither picky customers nor fussy eaters. We rarely complain about anything and accept that you “pay for what you get”. All we want is a clean ensuite room, friendly staff and a decent breakfast, in a not too rowdy part of Blackpool. NOT MUCH TO ASK….?
We paid £70 for 1 night for 2 rooms (1 double/1 twin) at the Broadway Hotel through Booking.com in August 2013. The reviews for the Hotel weren’t that good but we usually take the reviews with a pinch of salt. BAD MISTAKE ON THIS OCCASION.
On arrival, we were told that there’d been an error with our booking and that we’d been allocated 2 double rooms – not the double + twin that we’d specifically wanted for our family and that the hotel was fully booked. The rooms + bathrooms looked clean enough, with clean towels provided and tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. Yes, the rooms were small, the décor was outdated and the beds were soft - but that’s what we expected and that’s what we’ve experienced in most of the Blackpool hotels we’ve stayed in. Neither the light nor the TV was working in our sons’ room (but we didn’t complain about this since we knew it would mean them getting more sleep!)
In the evening, we decided to sample a drink in the hotel bar. As we left our 2nd floor bedrooms and headed towards reception, a terrible stench met us – the smell of sewage. It may have been coming from some downstairs toilets. In the bar - quite a large room, suitable for some decent entertainment (had there been any) we were the only customers. Surprising really, given that the hotel was supposed to be fully booked (and it probably was, given that there were no spare tables in the restaurant at breakfast the following morning). We couldn’t hack the smell long enough to stay for a second drink, so headed over the road to The Silversands, where we had been advised to go by the Broadway Hotel staff if we wanted some evening entertainment.
On returning to the Broadway, fortunately the smell had gone and we went to bed. Woken by what we thought was the noise of rain against the window in the early hours of the morning, we were horrified to discover water dripping through the ceiling at the foot of the bed onto our belongings. Not wanting to disturb anyone else in the middle of the night, we placed towels on the floor to soak up the drips and tried to get some sleep… On waking, we noticed a gaping hole in the ceiling where one of panels (approx 40cm square) had come down and shattered all over the floor. The carpet and towels were obviously sodden and that corner of the room looked like a tip!
The staff member we reported it to took a look – couldn’t apologise enough and gave us a full refund on the room.
Plus points: The Hotel itself has a pleasant frontage in a quiet location near to the Pleasure Beach. Apart from the orange juice (like squash), the full English breakfast was fine and the staff were friendly. We had a full refund on one of the rooms - still doesn’t make up to the smell of sewage and the collapsed ceiling. NEXT TIME WE’LL TAKE MORE HEED OF REVIEWS!

Room Tip: Keep clear of this hotel altogether. If you have to stay there, avoid rooms 28 and 29.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burton-on trent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

i can not put it to words made me poorly it needs shutting down please do something about getting it shut not fair to other people . there is damp in every room ,they shut the left at 11 we went in at 10 15 and it was closed already we was on the top floor and i have got heart trouble the only good thing was the young girl behind the bar she was lovely but the other staff was rude and didnt give a dame please dont stop there never every again we came home early

Room Tip: please dont stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Dont stop here. the place is a dive, ive seen better public toilets. No drinks at bar. mold on walls plaster falling off. huge holes in wall. Rats in rooms. the manger is a muppet, who could not even run a single room Hotel. Stay away at all cost..

Room Tip: None, stop on the beach..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Hotel

Address: 2-4 Burlington Road W | New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #865 of 910 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Broadway Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.