We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hen party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The World Hotel

Save Saved
You added The World Hotel to your Saves list
The World Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The World Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1 Lansdowne Place | Northshore, Blackpool FY1 1SB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #458 of 886 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“hen party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

stayed at this hotel on a hen party, it had just been taken over by Fran and Terry, it was an all female hotel so Terry tended to keep out the way but was there if you needed him, Fran was a great host and nothing was to much trouble, great hotel to stay if you are looking for a all female party venue where you can let your hair down and walk round half dressed without the worry of bumping into any unexpected males on the landing, Fran warned us it could get a bit noisy when partying girls arrive back after a night on the town, this was not a problem to us and i must say i have stopped at much rowdier hotels in Blackpool !
a great venue to stay if you are looking for a all female stay but if you are looking to get lucky girls and take any males back then this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    15
    4
    4
    8
See reviews for
14
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel many times David & his Team look after you the minute you arrive. And continue to do so till the you depart.
Hope to visit soon . Rooms Fab. food to die for !!!! What more can i say

see you soon
Jeanette mackay Inverness

Oh and doggie friendly lol x

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

This Is A Fantastic Little Hotel Warm And Friendly With Oddles Of Marvolous Things From Around The World. We Loved Every Minute Off Our Stay And David And His Staff Couldn't Have Been More Helpful We Hope To Book Again This Year.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

David and his crew are fantastic hosts and have created a relaxing haven right in the centre of Blackpool. We spent the Saturday afternoon sitting in the courtyard, lapping up the sun and enjoying a break from the hustle and bustle.

The rooms are compact but spotlessly clean and each bedroom, as with the rest of the hotel, is decorated with wall hangings and curiosities collected on David's travels around the world - so much more personal than the standardised rooms of a large chain hotel yet much more fashionable than the usual chintz of Blackpool B&Bs.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and the breakfasts are enormous- with the best fried mushrooms we have ever tasted.

The location is ideal. Walking distance from the attractions and night-life, yet tucked out the way of the noise.

We are already planning to return later this year!

  • Liked — The quirky decor
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

I cannot fault the staff who were friendly and extremely helpful. We were unable to attend breakfast in the morning as we had an early start and were pleasantly surprised to discover sandwiches had been made for us and a bottle of water provided. The location is excellent if you wish to be very close to the Tower and the North Pier. However, the room was extremely small (the bathroom was huge however) and the beds were incredibly uncomfortable. The room was adequate in its cleanliness although the toilet seat fell off during our stay and the water from the cold water tap ran very slowly.

The property has no parking facilities of its own. However, if you are lucky you may be able to find a space on the road nearby. Failing that, you will have to use the pay and display which is a short distance away.

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — The room was too small and the beds were uncomfortable
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2007

We stayed here at the end of Feb begining of March, the room although a little on the small side was individualy decorated, we stayed in the Thai room (no 2) the owner David was lovely and couldnot do enough for us, the service second to none. the breakfasts were exceptional and definately not for the faint hearted, we couldn't manage cereals as well as Davids lovely full english breakfast,
Although Blackpool was "closed" our stay was made enjoyable by staying here.

  • Liked — The themed rooms, the owner
  • Disliked — no designated parking
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2006

I stayed here for one night with my husband and son during the illuminations. The hotel is brilliant - the themed rooms are really tasteful and clean. There are two bar areas - one quirky traditional area, and a beautiful modern African themed room. The owner and staff were extremly friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed the whole stay. We had a meal on the evening, which was lovely, and the breakfast was just amazing. The rooms are very small, but the gorgeous cushions and art more than make up for it. Nice hot showers, and shampoo and shower gel were provided - a nice touch. We loved the huge map of the world on the wall downstairs, and the many globes - a fascinating place to stay - loved it!

  • Liked — The owner, staff and decor.
  • Disliked — No view
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early to pick a room!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The World Hotel

Address: 1 Lansdowne Place | Northshore, Blackpool FY1 1SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #458 of 886 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The World Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world hotel is under new management as of 16th january 2013 (we are nothing to do with the new world hotel)we have 10 en-suite bedrooms, this hotel was previously run as a woman only hotel, we have decided to change this to couples and families and female groups sorry no stag parties! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The World Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.