We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and entertainment top of the class, rooms bottom of the class” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lyndene Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lyndene Hotel to your Saves list
Lyndene Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   303 - 315 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Bridlington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Service and entertainment top of the class, rooms bottom of the class”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

What a fantastic 5 night holiday we had at the Lyndene Hotel on the Promenade at Blackpool. Evening entertainment every night was superb, the staff were all very helpful and friendly, the meals were certainly value for money. All public areas were immaculate. However, the room we stayed had a view of a brick wall, the carpet was threadbare, it had obviously been made smaller as you could see the bodged up walls - there had been a glass panel above the door which had been covered over on one side ... you could see the word "gyproc" from our side of the wall! If you're over size 12, then you have to walk sideways to get around the room!

However the biggest problem was their smoking policy. The management said that if you paid for a room, you were entitled to smoke in it! There was no regard to the legal smoking regulations - there was no designated smoking bedrooms or non smoking bedrooms, the corridors stank of cigarette smoke. We were not advised that the bedroom had previously been used by smokers. In the covered entrance foyer, there was a sign stating No Smoking Allowed but the number of smokers who ignored this sign was many - and God forbid you point out the sign to a smoker .... the line of verbal abuse was quicky forthcoming.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyndene303, Owner at Lyndene Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Dear Guest
Your kind remarks regarding our hotel, particularly regarding cleanliness, proffessionalism and our public areas being immaculate are very much appreciated. Your comments concerning our superb entertainment show why we are the busiest hotel in Blackpool. As I am currently answering this review, it is Tuesday 18th January 2011 and all 140 bedrooms in the Lyndene Hotel are FULLY BOOKED.
The Lyndene is rated a 2 star hotel but is unofficially a 3 star. I do not wish to go into details as to why we have decided to operate as a 3 star hotel. As a star rated hotel, our hotel premises/ bedrooms are regularly checked by the authorites and I can assure you, none of our carpets are threadbare. As a family, we run this hotel to a very high standard and we ourselves regularly inspect our bedrooms/ public areas and whenever we spot anything that is not up to our standard, we have it replaced immediately.
Again, as a family, we are all non smokers, but like most non smokers we are not anti smokers, who wish to complain whenever someone is spotted smoking a cigarette. It was only a couple of years ago when smoking was allowed everywhere. I am sure you, along with myself remember those days.
We work within the law that allows guests to smoke within the privacy of their own bedrooms and until this law is changed we will continue to allow this. We do have smoking and non smoking bedrooms, this request should be specified at the time of booking. We also have expensive ozone machines that also remove the smell of smoke from the bedrooms. As I have previously stated, I regularly inspect the bedrooms and never do I smell cigarette smoke.
Our smoking guests are as important to us as our non smoking guests and we will not discriminate between them.
I cannot comment upon the abuse you may have received from your fellow guests smoking outside the hotel as I was not privy to the conversation.
Mr B.R. Young
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    204
    87
    68
    39
See reviews for
180
332
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

This id the second time that we have stayed at the Lyndene and you cannot beat it for value.
Good points.
Cost
Staff are very efficient and friendly
We had a sea view room and their was plenty of space and it was clean.
Something going on if you want to join in.
Efficient waiting staff in the dining room.
Good breakfasts.
Not so good.
The heat , and it was the same the last time was stifling in th e dining room and in the bars. I could not enjoy a meal or the entertainment because of it and others were complaining too.
The place has taken on the feel of a nursing home and some grumpy residents at that. Not the hotels fault that last bit.
The evening meal was not so good but for the price I suppose what do you expect.
I would recommend for the price a good break.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyndene303, Owner at Lyndene Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Dear Guest
Thankyou for some of your kind comments.
I think it is unfair to discriminate age. Remember, this time of year, hotels, cruise ships, etc are over 80% filled by retired people, who now dont have to work to pay mortgages and have children to feed and clothe. It is only common sense to realise that our hotel, along with most of the others will be filled by retired guests, excluding the main and school holidays.
We have occasional comments from guests who say they wont return, but, as we have experienced this week, a couple left 2 years ago saying they wouldnt return, but they are currently staying here, having tried other hotels, they have realised they enjoyed their time at the Lyndene.
Good luck with your next choice of hotel, but if you are looking for a younger clientel, maybe you should book during school holidays.
Mr B.R. Young
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

staff are so freidly nothing a problem entertainment superb food spot on rooms clean managment very helpfull thanks for making are stay relaxing

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

You can't beat the Lynedene Hotel for value, good food, great entertainment, decent accomodation and very friendly staff. We (a group of eight) went in Nov for a pals 50th birthday and had a ball. The resturant staff helped us with his cake and went well out of their way to help us enjoy his birthday night. The acts were all excellent providing a great nights entertainment.
We have been to this hotel a few times now and will definately be back, the crowd that go there are always up for a good time. For what we paid you cannot knock the value.
Until the next time.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

my son wife ,10yr old daughter and myself booked tukey and tinsel 6 day break,tuesday should be xmas day the only thing we got was turkey on the menu and you could have xmas pudding the so called entertainment was diabolical we saw no tributes to anyone except a supposed cliff richard was an hour on our last night .we had such brilliant revues and were really looking forward to the entertainment which as ive said was rubbish i think the so called singers all shared the same tape as they were all the same songs apart from that big let down the hotel was very good ,clean rooms ,helpful staff,good food though sometimes the portions were on the small side i think we shall be looking somewhere else next year

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSwiftMGR, Owner at Lyndene Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2010
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your kind comments regarding our clean rooms and helpful friendly staff.
As the busiest hotel in Blackpool we are renound for such comments, our entertainment is second to non, we only use top tribute acts and all our additional 2/3 acts each evening come from a top agency. These acts are used in some of the best venues throughout the country, only recently one of our regular acts Carole Kaye was supporting Joe Longthorne on the North Pier, that is the standard of entertainment the Lyndene offers. Your comments regarding the entertainment are just not worth commenting on.
We wish you well to find another hotel on your next visit to Blackpool, but after these remarks you are not welcome back at the Lyndene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

what a fantastic time we had,we tried their turkey and tinsell break having been recommended by my sister,and she is fussy,was a sunday to friday trip for us both and what a great hotel it is,my wife and i have been through a bad time recently,so a break was what we badly needed,the check in went smooth although it was very very busy,we had a room above reception which was a family room i think so we had 3 beds which came in handy as my partner is figitty, the toilet didnt flush properly but a call to reception and the handy man came straigh away to fix it while we unpacked,the food was excellent,our waiter adrian was absolutely superb and really looked after us,athough he was foreign he spoke good english,may i just say the food,the service was fantastic,brian the rest manager was so nice to us during our stay,he is a treasure,obviously he runs a tight ship,the entertainment was 1st class,everyone you talk to seems to stay there a few times a year,the abba tribute was fantastic there my favourite,can honestly say i did'nt see a bad act while i was there,overall our stay was fab,good service and good value for money,and also very resonable bar prices,we drink vdka and coke,house doubles,the barman said ok i replied was shocked £4.60 for 2 double house vodka and coke's,thanks lyndene xx

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

We arrived late due to major road works around the promenade area. We had been previously been told we would receive an evening meal on arrival, however, at 8pm we were told we were too late for dinner and the resturant was closed. When we questioned this we were spoken to rudely and abruptly by the female duty manager. She called several members of staff to reinforce the fact that are party of 15 had arrived too late to have are evening meal. We were referred to on several occasions as 'these people' at no time were we reffered to or treated like guests. After much debating we then recieved trays of sandwhiches and tea.

On the second night of are stay, we were made to feel uncomfortable, as we danced and sang along to the act. Celebrating are grandmothers 80th birthday, we were really disapionted how deeply upset she was by over hearing of members of female staff in the toilets, on how 'load' are party had been.

The Lyndene should not encourage group parties they are not prepared to accomadate frivolity.

The only saving grace of are stay were exceptional staff namely Nigel, Phill and Mike. They provided the highest standard of customer serveice and were warm and friendly.

Overall the while trip was dissapointing and we shall not be returning to this establishment again.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloSteven, Owner at Lyndene Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2010
Dear Guest,
It was so disappointing to read your review considering how hard my staff worked to make your stay with us an enjoyable one.
I'd like to point out to people reading this review, we are not just a restaurant open evenings only, we are a hotel which also does early morning breakfast, and to arrive at a hotel late, well over one hour after the last serving has finished, and expect to be served a five course dinner, is just not fair on my staff considering that some of them started work at 6.00a.m that mornin, they too have homes and families to go home to, just like you and i.
We did manage to arrange for you to have a meal, though the staff that did stay behind to serve your party, said that their service and the gesture from the hotel wasn't appriciated by you or your party.
The following evening you have kindly pointed out, how execptional some of our bar staff treated you and all your party celebrating an 80th Birthday. Well you yourself ruined any atmosphere by sneaking alcohol from your handbags into your mixers, we have notices all around the hotel, advising people not to do such things, a member of staff did have a quiet word with you, and told you not spoil your celebrations and embarrass everyone in your party.
When you realise what an effort the hotel made to help make your celebrations memeroable, a thank you to my staff would be nice.

B.Young
(Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lyndene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyndene Hotel

Address: 303 - 315 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#33 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lyndene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Lyndene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyndene Blackpool
Lyndene Hotel Blackpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyndene Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.