We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pembroke Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pembroke Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Pembroke Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   11 King Edward Avenue, Blackpool FY2 9TD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 878 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Hi
This guest house was spotless and Michael & Alan were really friendly, opening up their home to us. The food was amazing. They even gave us complimentary home baked rock cakes and a pot of tea.
Tram is only a short distance away and we managed to see a few attractions. We will definitely return next year..............I cannot recommend this guest house enough................FANTASTIC!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHiggins, Owner at Pembroke Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Pembroke Hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and the time you have taken to share your holiday experience with others.

Thankyou for your positive remarks and we are pleased you enjoyed the home cooking. How anyone can come here and not put on weight is beyond me!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
93
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire, UK.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Fourth visit to the Pembroke and everything as good as it has been in the past.

Same friendly hosts, spotlessly clean and tidy everywhere (not just reception and lounge as seems to be the case with plenty of others) and a breakfast that really sets you up for the day.

Two minutes walk to the tram stop and then it's a five minute tram ride down to the tower area. Cheaper to get a day travel pass from a local shop than to pay two single fares on the tram. If arriving early enough on a Friday and you're staying for the weekend then buy a three day pass on the tram (£10.50 for an adult at time of review). The hotel is just far enough out to be able to get a space on the tram at the busiest of times - some of the stops nearer the tower are not so lucky.

I'm already looking forward to going back next year. Basically if I can't stay here then I just don't bother going.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHiggins, Owner at Pembroke Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Pembroke Hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and the time you have taken to share your holiday experience with others.

It was nice to see you again as always and thankyou for the useful tips for prospective visitors to Blackpool. Hope you recovered from your mammoth trip to the pleasure beach!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

just returned after our third visit this year and as always had a fantastic stay. Very welcoming ,lovely food, spotlessly clean. It was our wedding anniversary and Michael and Allan placed two candles in small pot and bought them out with our breakfast and on the stereo congratulations was playing. We thought what a nice, thoughtful thing to do and its these little touches that makes the Pembroke so special. Keep up the good work and see you next year.

Room Tip: All room are of a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHiggins, Owner at Pembroke Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Pembroke Hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and the time you have taken to share your holiday experience with others.

I do love a celebration at the Pembroke Hotel, even more so when its lovely people like you two. I hope I didn't embarrass you both too much!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Having spent many weekends in Blackpool in the past,the stay with Michael and Alan at the Pembroke was second to non.The warm welcome, interactions and the sense of fun made the weekend very relaxed. The hotel and rooms are spotless and very comfortable and the attention to detail was so apparent.We thoroughly enjoyed the stay and feel it certainly lived up to the reviews and we most certainly will visit again.
Thank you
Anne Smith and Ian

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHiggins, Owner at Pembroke Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Pembroke Hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and the time you have taken to share your holiday experience with others.

It was a real pleasure to welcome you both to our hotel and look foward to many more years of accommodating you both!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay at the Pembroke hotel. It really is as good as all the other reviewers say. You will not be disappointed. The personalised service is set apart from anything I have experienced before. Michael & Alan made us feel so welcome. Tea & coffee (and home-made cakes) were supplied throughout the day, free of charge! We had a superb break! Thanks

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHiggins, Owner at Pembroke Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Pembroke Hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and the time you have taken to share your holiday experience with others.

Glad you enjoyed the complimentary tea and homemade cakes during your stay. I am becoming a bit of a whizz in the cake department. Just this morning another 24 Rock cakes was made for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our first stay at the Pembroke,and it is just as good as all the other reviews say,you will not be disappointed. The level of service, quality of food, and room facilities are excellent. Alan and Michael made us feel so welcome, we had a superb break-thankyou. We just wished we had found it years ago! Paul and Kay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHiggins, Owner at Pembroke Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Pembroke Hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and the time you have taken to share your holiday experience with others.

We are really pleased that your first visit with us was so positive. We look forward to many years of you returning. And yes, we wish you had found us earlier as well!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have had yet another wonderful stay at the Pembroke. Alan and Michael were the perfect hosts as they always are. We would never stay anywhere else.From arriving to leaving we were looked after so well. The food is excellent and everywhere is spotlessly clean. Look forward to next year.Thankyou both very much for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHiggins, Owner at Pembroke Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Pembroke Hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and the time you have taken to share your holiday experience with others.

So pleased we looked after you both well. We are very lucky that all of our guests are so nice as it makes our job so much more easier!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pembroke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Hotel

Address: 11 King Edward Avenue, Blackpool FY2 9TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 878 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Silver Award VisitEngland accreditation. Welcome to the Pembroke - a Quality Blackpool Guest House offering you REAL value for money! The Pembroke is an 11 bedded Blackpool Guest House where you will always find a friendly welcome and you may be assured of our very best service and attention at all times. No expense has been spared to offer guests luxurious and spacious en-suite accommodation comprising single, twin, double and family rooms. The peaceful, friendly atmosphere combined with the excellent service make relaxing on a well deserved break a real pleasure. Blackpool Tourism Awards 2004 Hotel of the Year - GOLD WINNER, Blackpool Tourism Awards 2005 Hotel of the Year - GOLD WINNER, Lancashire & Blackpool Tourism Award B&B of the Year 2005/06 - WINNER, Lancashire & Blackpool Tourism Award Best Tourism Website of the Year 2005/06 - WINNER. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Pembroke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pembroke Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.