We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Metropole Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Metropole Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Metropole Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
1 review
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from a weekend the hotel is in a great location was pleased with the hotel
The only problem was lack of sleep due to a electronic bird screecher which kept us awake on both nights was supposed to be a relaxing break for me and my wife but we are both shattered now
It didn't stop the pigeons constantly flying into our window and trying to get in our room
A net across the opening on the roof would be a much better solution

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that your found your room and the Hotel to be clean and tidy and the staff to be helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    490
    401
    317
    640
See reviews for
458
949
79
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there last the room was amazin we had great views, it had everything we needed n nice teabags, the only one downfall would be the attitude of the waiter who was working in the evening but everybody else was great! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that your found your room and the Hotel to be clean and tidy and the staff to be helpful and friendly.

The waiter concerned witll be dealt with forthwith.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I am 86 years old, and this was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

:Of the two lifts that went to my floor, only one was working, and held 4 people, causing long delays

:There were no bathmats in the bathrooms, and when I asked to have one, I had a very curt response from Julie on reception. She said they were not provided because of safety. Ridiculous, as it is far more dangerous to have a pool of water in the bathroom!! I am a seasoned (elderly) traveller, and have never encountered a no bathmat issue.

:) No phones in the rooms, I became very ill on the Wednesday evening, and was not able to contact reception or my friend in the next room. I felt too ill to leave my room, and was extremely scared. Fortunately I was given a clean bill of health at the walk in centre I visited the next morning.

:) My friend and I were amongst the last people going down to dinner one evening, and when we went to get our desert they had all been cleared away. The manageress of the dining room was there , so I asked her about the deserts, she replied very abruptly with “what do you want”!! Chef very kindly brought out 2 gateaux’s

I could add many other complaints (dirty towels etc!)

Will add that Anthony who looked after us in the dining room was one of the few very helpful and friendly members of staff, as I believe other members of dining room staff were.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Where do we start...well we booked late and Blackpool was pretty full so we selected this hotel as it was very central to the clubs and bars. First impressions were not good as we couldn't get parked on the car park as (we were later told) the car park is full of non residents as the fee is only £3. The reception staff were also hostile and unhelpful, bordering on downright rude.

Inside the hotel has a run-down air with little of the former splendor that this hotel surely had at one time. The room was....can we kindly say disappointing? The bathroom was okay and had been modernised and the bed was new and comfortable...however the decor and carpets were stained and shabby, the furniture was damaged and old and the TV was one of those 14" boxes that have not been sold for ten years. Cleanliness was not up to scratch and the windows were that filthy we had to close the curtains to block them out.

Also be warned that there is plenty of road and tram noise which is understandable but the big issue is the nightclub opposite which had crowds of drunks kicking off outside it virtually all night.

We paid £60 for the night , might have been acceptable for half the price but you also might be best to try camping on the beach (even with the tide in).

Room Tip: Use another hotel. If you have to go ask for a high floor to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great britian
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My Husband&I stayed in this hotel for our Anniversary weekend..we booked the "V.I.P Premier sea-view wkend"..our room clean&i,d say quite newly decorated on the 2nd floor..nice sea-view..chocs&fruit in room&a free bottle of wine when we had our evening meal..we ate in the Worral resturant,which was eat all you can&help yourselves(which we do prefer)..some of the food was good..some not so good :( the cheese&biscuits&cakes could have looked a bit more appetizing...but most of it ok..the entertainment was good..bar prices quite expensive :( We have a "Britainna Hotels" card which they swipe when you pay..we got £25 off our next stay :) so hopefully pay another visit..

Room Tip: I,d try&get a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This trip was booked as an offer from groupon. This was a little break for our Anniversary at the time of booking my husband was asked if for an extra amount we would like to up grade to an executive suite he did .On arrival we were given room 171 .If this was an upgrade god only knows what we would have had small and in need of TLC. Not sure what they call luxury but this was far from it stains on bathroom ceiling green toilet white toilet seat I have good pics will post .When to reception to complain no idea of friendliness very abrupt .Offered to put us in twin bedroom next day (our Anniversary) so we just stuck it out for the two nights the whole place needs make over and so do reception staff. We have read the bog standard apologies from the hotel manager but there are no changes

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel, the bedroom curtains were filthy, they had what looked like faeces on them so this was reported to reception for someone to clean but nobody came. Not wanting to sleep next to this we ended up sharing a bed. In the two days we were there it wasn't dealt with despite complaining and there were no other rooms available for us to be moved to. We emailed pictures to the hotel/Britannia as requested by hotel staff and we have never even had an acknowledgment to this, despite checking the mail address with the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Metropole Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.