We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Metropole Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Metropole Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Metropole Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times & I find it really pleasurable.. The staff are very helpful & polite it is a nice clean hotel & there is a wide variety of food available the evening entertainment is really pleasing as well.. The hotel is situated in a really nice location overlooking the sea. The rooms are very comfortable & clean I love staying at this hotel & my recent stay was very pleasant I will be booking this hotel for another break later this year

Room Tip: if possible try to book a room overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was pleased to read that you found the staff welcoming and your rooms to be a good standard of cleanliness.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    522
    437
    339
    680
See reviews for
478
1,024
87
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (862)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Ideal for any one looking for a reasonable place near the town centre. Room was good, staff friendly and food was also good. Had no trouble finding parking as hotel has ample. Have stayed there twice now and will return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was pleased to read that you found the staff welcoming and your rooms to be a good standard of cleanliness.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I booked this hotel for 3nights for myself, my mum & 2 kids. Arrived on frid 5th April, at first impression this hotel looked like a hostel, with all the smokers standing at the entrance. The glass doors were filthy, covered in hand prints! The reception had drunk men staggering about and shouting. On checking in, the staff didnt look particularly happy at their job. On walking along corridor to our room, the smell of stale cigarette smoke would have knocked you out! If it couldnt get any worse, it did, our room also smelled we had frosted glass windows, no outlook, when we did prize the window open, we were looking at pigeon poo and the kitchen extractor pipes. The bunkbeds were swinging from side to side and totally unsafe.

To top it all, this hotel DOES NOT put the heating on until you ask them to, and even then, they 'boost' it for an hour, so after that you are freezing again. The housekeeper gave us extra blankets on the first night.

We did ask to be upgraded even offering to pay extra, but were told there was no other rooms available.

The dining room was filthy with pieces of old food on the floors and tables. The staffs appearance was very dirty, with spillages down their uniforms. The food was very basic with the cheapest quality used.

The deputy manager Karen James was so unhelpful that i informed her of same, she refused to give me her name in order for me to write a complaint letter, but the stupid had a name badge on!lol. I clearly told her that she should never be in her position and also that she shouldnt be dealing with the public as not a people person.

I will be writing to Francis Sheridan the General Manager as i feel that we threw £400 out of the window with this place. It should be shut down!!

Room Tip: There could never be a good room in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the Metropole recently for 3 nights, should have been 4 nights. But the mattress was so hard it was like sleeping on a plank of wood my husband spent most of the nights sleeping in his wheelchair as it was more comfortable for him, he has arthritus in his back,we asked at the reception if there were any softer mattresses and were told they were all the same, so by the 3rd day we decided to return home to our comfy bed. My husband is disabled and in a wheelchair, the room was quite a good size and my husband could get around easily, we should have had a disabled room as my husband could'nt get his wheelchair through the bathroom door, tthe room was clean but there was a big damp patch in the top corner of the room, the meals were nice but it was a bit chaotic getting your meals, the hotel really needs updating, I would.nt stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Withernsea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I've stayed at a quite a few Britania Hotels, but this takes the biscuit for in my opinion the worst. On arrival we was treat like inmates being booked into a Prison or similar establishment. Our first room smelt like a kennel. Our second room had a 3/4 bed in I'm 6 foot my wife not much shorter. The bar had closed when we got there for a drink at 10.50pm. The breakfast was like a canteen in a third world with the food cold, stale and inedable, terrible. No one will convince me that this hotel has changed in years. It wants a good shake up with a strong Manager put in post. It's obvious that this hotel is for the young who are there just for a glorious booze up with no concideration to anyone and the staff couldn't give fig...

Room Tip: If thre are any we didn't get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linlithgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because we thought it looked grand but the interior needs urgent attention we asked for a non smoking room but got a room that had been used by smokers staff were not very helpfully only one that was very nice was the night porter very polite. Carpets were very dirty we went to the entertainment on the Thursday and the table we sat at was filthy but the floor was covered in what looked like dog hair and the carpet was filthy would not go to this hotel again. Staff defiantly need training in all aspects of cleaning and politeness.

Room Tip: Very dirty defiantly in need of updating
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

we booked this hotel at 11am tuesday as we were getting our son from blackpool on the wednesday, we arrived at 2pm as we only live 45 mins away, our son goes to his aunts for respite as he needs 24/7 care so we try to stay over to have a break. Our room was spotless clean we had a wonderful view overlooking the sea. There were complimentary tea coffee shampoo shower gel. We went down to the bar at 8.30pm and watched a good young group doing 50s songs, it was really nice. We went for breakfast the next morning and we were very happy with the choices, you had fruit juices, grapefruit, prunes, yoghurts,cereals, bacon 2 choice of eggs sausage beans tomatoes and toast. The waiter brings you tea or coffee. All in all we had a great night for the cost of £29 for 2 adults. I have been here before and always been happy,

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was pleased to read that you found the staff welcoming and your rooms to be a good standard of cleanliness.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Metropole Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.