We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carousel Blackpool

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Carousel Blackpool to your Saves list
The Carousel Blackpool
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   663 - 671 New South Promenade | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1RN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last weekend whilst on a conference and was very impressed by just about everything about it.

The staff are very helpful and polite and the bar is open to all hours, not like some much posher hotels which close and make you look for a night porter.

The atmosphere was good, all the hotel is maintained to a good standard and well decorated.

Importantly the standard of cleanliness is very high and my room was spotless.

Excellent value for money

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    172
    87
    29
    17
See reviews for
172
145
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have been going to the Carousel now for about 4 years. I love Blackpool and this is always my first choice of hotel. This is my first time review of the hotel even though this will have been my fifth stay.

I like to stay somewhere quite corporate, i.e. I like Travelodge and I like Premier Inn. You really know what you are getting.

The Carousel is good for me in this way as all the rooms are identical. Beautifully presented and pristine clean and very, very modern.

The decor is really up to date with a good standard hotel. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are well equipped and warm. Bathrooms are spotless and luxurious. When I say luxurious, please bear in mind this is a 3 star hotel, I am not talking free bathrobes and slippers.

We have spent the last couple of New Years hear and have enjoyed the NY Gala night. My only bad point this year was that the tables were shared with other parties, something I really think they should have mentioned before accepting our booking. However, this does not reflect whatsoever on the rooms and standards of the hotel.

With regards to parking, we always get a space outside the hotel, but I guess it's first come frst served.

My only concern this time was that my friends had a double room and said that there was an air conditioning machine next to their window that kept them awake all night. My concern was that the noise from the bar downstairs kept me awake until I eventually got dressed and went downstairs and asked them if they could switch the music down a bit.

It was New Year though, so I wouldn't worry!

I will always recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: My friend and I normally book a single room each. These normally overlook the promenade. We normal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Management Representative at The Carousel Blackpool, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Carousel Hotel. We are delighted to see that you return to us on a regular basis. We're so proud of our establishment and it's great to see that our guests feel that they can visit us time and again and receive the same great service. Please accept our apologies regarding the noise levels over New Year. We have also taken on board your feedback regarding the shared tables at the gala. We are really pleased that you otherwise enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My Hubby & I loved staying here.
Our room was small, warm, clean and comfortable. Beds are comfortable and if I ever have a moan it's always the beds and pillows that cause me to moan. I could have slept for hours more!!!! It's a quiet hotel even tho it's next to the Promonade. We were booked in for B & B only and the breakfast was brilliant. The dining area is pleasant and comfortable. Friendly, helpful, concientious dining room staff, well done you guys. Receptionists also were very helpful and polite. Lounge area warm, seating arranged for views to prom, this is a good reading area and for socialising with other guests The Carousel is very convenient for trams, buses, pleasure beach, Lytham, and Promonade walks. One of us is disabled so using the tram to view the illuminations was great. A little problem is the parking facilities, not enough spaces so get there early to park round the rear of the hotel. And take note who parks next to you, we had the next car scrape ours with their car door, silly people, too cowardly to confess. NOT managements fault and they were upset because we were upset. I don't even think the car occupants were staying at the Carousel Hotel! Managegement need to be more strict and vigilant to protect their guest cars. (we had owned our car for 3 days only!!!)
We were so chilled staying here we were walking horizontal !!!!
Had this hotel had a swimming pool and Gym it would have warranted 5 *****
If I get asked would I visit the Carousel Hotel again......a speedy YES would be given. Very much recommended.
Sorry I'm late in writting this review, I thought I had done it last year.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on second floor overlooking the Promonade. Very quiet due to double glazing. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Management Representative at The Carousel Blackpool, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel; no matter when written your feedback is always appreciated! We're really proud of our rooms and facilities and so are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are sorry about the situation that occurred regarding the car parking facilities but as you suggest, we would always endeavour to assist where possible to ensure your visit is as comfortable as possible. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff - your comments have been passed on. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Blackpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

One of the best run friendly Hotel you could wish to find. Food and service very good and the staff were most helpful and efficient. I would reccommend this hotel for anyone who appreciates being given every opportunity to avail themselves of what the Carousel has to offer ie; nice rooms good food pleasant staff good organisation and good entertainment. If that is not enough you must be hard to please or a proffessional moaner!

Room Tip: Just ask for your prefference, and ask for a change if not satisfied
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Management Representative at The Carousel Blackpool, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Carousel Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive nice feedback as it is really important to us to make sure that all guests have the best stay possible. We have passed on your thanks to our staff, and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Blackpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We visited The Carousel again for a Twixmas break , and again everyihing was 1st class. from the receptionist during the booking process to the entertainment staff The room ,food and everything about the hotel is superb, we would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: any seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

we recently stayed at this hotel it was ok staff wer very friendly room was clean but the entertainment was not up to much the singer was on for half an hour then it went to a quick game of bingo and that was it plus u had to be suited and booted to eat in the resturant which was a bit stupid and line up for a table for breakfast but apart from that hotel was good nice warm welcome

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We got married at the Carousel Hotel on Saturday 01/12/12. We booked their wedding package which included a twin room with dinner and wine for bride and friend the night before, a room for the bride and groom on their wedding night, wedding breakfast, evening buffet, wedding cake, table decoration, D.J, and more. We had a room where the ceromony was held and a large room where the wedding breakfast and evening celebrations were held. The managment and staff could not be more helpful when arranging our special day and on the day everything looked great. The food for the wedding breakfast and evening buffet was lovely and well presented the sevice was good and the staff polite and helful. Many of our guests stayed over and had a good breakfast the following morning. We received many good comments from our guests. We would not hesitate to recomend the Carousel Hotel for weddings, parties or just a break. We had a great weekend, thanks.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Management Representative at The Carousel Blackpool, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear guest, many thanks for your kind review of The Carousel Hotel. We were delighted to host your wedding and are so pleased that you had a lovely time! Our staff take great pride and pleasure in making sure our guests have a pleasant stay - particularly when you are celebrating a special occasion! Congratulations and best wishes for your future as a married couple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carousel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carousel Blackpool

Address: 663 - 671 New South Promenade | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#32 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carousel Blackpool 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautifully refurbished Carousel is the highest AA rated 3 star hotel in Blackpool. Situated five minutes from Blackpool Airport, we are ideally located on the South Promenade near to all of Blackpool’s attractions - but far enough away from the bustle of Blackpool's famous Golden Mile to offer a relaxing, refreshing and high quality experience. Restaurant 21 serves breakfast and dinner daily and we also have an extensive bar and room service menu which is available 24 hours. We have 22 family rooms all with DVD players and an extensive library of DVDs which are available to view with our compliments. The hotel has nightly entertainment (including children's entertainment, a pool table and children's soft play area). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Carousel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carousel Blackpool Hotel Blackpool
The Carousel Hotel Blackpool
Carousel Hotel Blackpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carousel Blackpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.