We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would not reccommend to anyone” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Stretton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Stretton Hotel to your Saves list
Stretton Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   206 - 214 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“would not reccommend to anyone”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

On approach to hotel was met with a mound of fag ends which increased as the weekend went on. No card machine wroking, no change in the bar, no bitter , guinness or lemonade in the bar. Bath panel hanging off and no shaving light. White substance in bath which was there on arrival and still ther when we left. Had to have strip wash due to state of bath.Drawings in the dirt on the windows left by a previous guest. Chipped mug. Single headboard for a double ded so husband banged his head on telephone and radio several times. Had to buy an air freshener due to smell.Could not turn heating down or off so had to have windows open all time and listen to noise of traffic. Whoever managed to supply the stale breakfast on day one was not able to poach an egg on day two. Pool table ripped in several places and no darts for dartboard. T.V.room closed due to maintanence. Flat roof outside bedroom window covered with piles or rubble and pools of stsgnent water although there had been no rain. Lollipop stick and a tablet left by previous guest in dust between single and double bed there throughout stay.Waitresse's idea of cleaning table was to use her hand to flick all the crumbs ond food onto the chairs and floor then to reset table for next guests. Food and crumbs under tabls on day one were still there on day three. All in all the worst ,dirtiest place we have ever stayed in any country.

Room Tip: book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    61
    33
    33
    62
See reviews for
50
80
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Hi stayed here 5 years ago and it was clean and food lovely what a change bedroom basic dirty mouldy smelly mouldy curtains .bar next to restaurant smelt like blocked drains.needs shutting down gutting and restarting.cash only which says it all.39pound b&b should have remembered you get what you pay for

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frodsham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here on a (cold) bank holiday and, although the hotel has seen better days, we found the room clean, comfortable, well-equipped and warm. The location is great, 5 mins walk to North Pier along the prom, and less than 10 mins walk to North Station.
We paid 28 pounds for two people, and this price included full English breakfasts with waitress service in the rather grand dining room!
Obviously at this price, don't expect fashionable decor, but I have no complaints at all. It compares well to many other hotels in Blackpool- and checkout was later than some, a bonus if you are there for just one night. To me this was the bargain of the year, and I hope to be back there soon.

Room Tip: Room was at the back and perfectly adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Welcome to 1970....

When we arrived we had booked a family room for 2 adults, 1 child and 1 baby.
To get to our room with a pram we had to walk a maze of corridors, up and down stairs. It was like a scene from Hogwarts.

The rooms are shabby. The room we got had a flat pack wardrobe from the 70's with no back, painted polystyrene wallpaper, lovely war wound carpet scatted with iron burns. 1 double bed, a single and no cot.
Told on arrival no cots were available.
Only thing that was clean were the sheets and towels.

Food VERY average, you have to order your breakfast. A full english consists of: 2 bacon rashes, 1 sausage, 1 egg, 1 plum tomato, 1 tbsp of beans..... VERY LAME!

Needs modernising inside and out, cleaning etc. TV doesnt work very well, you can only get wi-fi downstairs.

Will certainly NOT stay here ever again
Half Term October 2013.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Im 5ft 8in tall if my legs had been a fraction longer I would not be able to use the toilet in the room the toilet would not flush a great deal of the time, room had not been hovered, complained and nothing done. very little heating in the room, Luke warm radiator, breakfast cold Very disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at The Stretton twice before and it was excellent BUT third time round and we will NOT be returning.

When we arrived we had booked a family room for 2 adults, 2 children. The room we got had 1 double bed and a single, so for 3 people. My husband went to receiption and they offered us 2 seperate rooms which was a no no. They said they had given our room to an older couple, that had 2 double beds, still not ideal but better option. We did swap with the couple but felt awful as the poor lady was exhausted and was on oxygen.

There is NO entertaintment, the place is dead, only 6 in total for evening meal.

The rooms are shabby, only thing that was clean was sheets and towels. Food VERY average.

The place is like a ghost town.

Needs modernising inside and out, cleaning etc. TV doesnt work very well, you can only get wi-fi downstairs

You have to pay CASH to so there must be problems

Will certainly NOT stay here ever again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Not good unfortunately! I'd never been to Blackpool before but we stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of October, the weather and the position of the hotel was great but that was all. We had no hot water at all, we could only get BBC 1 on our ancient telly, and we only had one towel a day for 2 of us. We complained but there was apparently only one other room spare, which we looked at, but it was worse than ours so no choice but to stay where we were. We stayed in room 201 which had a lovely view over the kitchen roof.....no seaview. The staff were very hardworking as I think there was only 8 of them to run the whole hotel so they did ok. Would go to Blackpool again but definitely not here.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stretton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stretton Hotel

Address: 206 - 214 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stretton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stretton Hotel is proud to say we are under a completely new management team! But don't take our word for it, come and sample our fantastic hospitality for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stretton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stretton Hotel Blackpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stretton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.