We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stretton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Stretton Hotel to your Saves list
Stretton Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   206 - 214 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
brum brum
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just returned from this hotel today and while I agree with some of the points of the last review, we found it ok, we didn't pay all that much for 8 of us, our 3rd room was booked at 10.45pm the night before we travelled and the gentleman couldn't have been more helpful.
Parking was slightly surprising, my sister parked by there large bin and a dirty mattress, we parked behind the hotel for £7.50 for 24 hrs. The staff were very kind and helpful, and yes the decor in parts was slightly poor, but to be honest, we had a lovely breakfast this morning while being served by great staff. I wouldn't return to the Stretton as I was the other end of the 'golden mile'. Overall a pleasant stay, we will b returning for the lights in October.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view otherwise you will be over looking the 'car park'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    65
    38
    34
    66
See reviews for
52
87
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Booked into hotel for three days.(KGB deal). A good thing it was as I would not recommend this apalling establishment to any self respecting person. The sheets were not changed during our stay. The tea facilities was cheap and nasty. The cups were not changed/washed throughout our duration there. We were given one towel between two, when asked for another, we were told they didn't have one. Breakfast was basic but the tea was much better than tea provided in the room. If first impression was solely based on the disgusting car park, where dirty matresses lay slump, then ??? This hotel is nothing to write home about. It needs gutting its dirty.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

the photo's of the hotel must have been taken quite a few years ago, the staff were lovely but the hotel left a lot to be desired, it says online that there is a pool table and dart board, it didn't mention no pool cues or darts!! the games room itself was in a disgusting state.
The bedrooms were tired and dated, the en suite was tiny and in dire need of a makeover.
Breakfast was very poor, no fresh fruit and the crockery all felt a bit dirty.
We couldn't park so had to pay for a public car park for 3 days.
We attempted to have a drink in the bar in the evening but that was completely shambolic.
Would never go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We booked a deal at this hotel and were not expecting much, but the room was clean, comfortable and well equipped, the staff were friendly and helpful,there was a good breakfast,and it has parking.We got a family room for four , which was two doubles as opposed to a double and two singles, but the beds were big enough anyway,and we had an en suite bathroom. We paid just £42 for all of us,for just one night, and were pleased with the accommodation. Great location just along from the North pier. The decor is a bit dated and tired, but don't let this put you off.

Room Tip: We had a good view of the beach and tower from our front room. We also had an en-suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is billed as a hotel but should probably be classed as an average B&B. We went on a two night Group On deal and would safely say without the deal we would have been disappointed considering the general tariff for a twin or double room was £94 a night! The room was ok, we were on the front which had a lovely sea view however there were only two small windows so it proved to be quite stuffy in the hot weather. Reception staff were polite & friendly. The room was clean and the bathroom whilst small was also clean. The little touches that you expect in a hotel were not there so no hairdryer in the room, no shower gel or bubble bath in the bathroom. Breakfast was no great shakes, first day we had friendly staff second day the waitress lacked basic customer care skills. Again little touches lacking so when toast was brought out there wasn't any brown, the fruit was limited to grapefruit segments, the fried egg on the cooked breakfast was overdone and looked like plastic, the tomato came straight out of a tin. Little things like this could be changed very easily to make things a little bit more appealing. All in all everything was ok for the money we paid it being on a deal and as we were just using it as a base to sleep in it was fine. Without a deal I wouldn't recommend it as there are much better and far cheaper B&B's around Blackpool. If you're looking for somewhere close to the beach and the North Pier then the location is good for all seasoned travellers that like good quality this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Choose a front facing room so you can get sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Hello and thanks for reading this review. This reservation was booked on the back of a coupon website and prior to making the commitment I called the hotel and spoke to James who was helpful throughout. He confirmed there and then the availability. On confirmation I asked for a room spec' as we did not want a hotel 'shoe box', and James confirmed the room type and he was spot on. Check in was swift and sorted; loaded the bags from the back of the hotel and there is a lift to the upper floors where needed. The reception area is good and open and having gone to our room it was clean, bright and as earlier reviews the bed linen and towels - sparkling! The room furniture was not modern however looking at the cost of the stay this was well within the budget. Bed comfortable and everything in the room was serviceable.

We had a breakfast option and albeit a little small and basic - it was ample. There was a choice of fruit juices, cereals, tea, coffee and the british breakfast was OK. Again look at what you pay for - Well worth the money.

Overall when compared to other hotels in this price brand this is hotel that has warmth, character and staff leave you to your own devices. Restaurant staff very attentive and responsive, Ann could be a little more relaxed!! But the whole experience was as we expected, a hotel to stay that is hassle free, has all that you need and what is spot on is the location of this hotel - Thanks again James - I would say that if you have a budget in mind and this is in that range - consider this hotel and I do not think you will be disappointed. Go on give it a go - thanks for reading my review.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

we arrived sunday afternoon,staying for 2 nights 14th to 16th july 2013 there were 3 of us myself ,wife and sister, needed 2 rooms single and a double my sister was pleased with her room though very small ,but had a sea veiw which made up for the cramped conditions.
double room was abysmal,not much bigger than the single, double bed took up most of the space ,veiw was of the next hotel side wall about 8ft from our window, the heat was unbearable it felt like the air had been sucked out the room.
went down to reception said it would be impossible to sleep in that room ,within 5 mins we were shown to a seaveiw room next door to my sister which was a 100% improvement airey spacious even though it had a double and a single bed .hotel needed decorating very tired looking.staff were hit and miss most were chatty enough couple needed lessons ,breakfast was decent enough,dinner on sunday was ok choice for monday was diabolical ,god job we had already planned to eat out then go to a show,did not like anything on the menu ,any of us.overall it is a place i would reccomend but only for a short stay

Room Tip: even if there is only 2 of you ,ask for a sea veiw family room pay the upgrade if need be ,you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stretton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stretton Hotel

Address: 206 - 214 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stretton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stretton Hotel is proud to say we are under a completely new management team! But don't take our word for it, come and sample our fantastic hospitality for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Stretton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stretton Hotel Blackpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stretton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.