We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bedford Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Bedford Hotel to your Saves list
The Bedford Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   298 - 300 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #463 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Leeds
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

Have just returned from a one night short break and this hotel offers excellent service and accommodation. Good location - close enough to the town centre to be near anything you may want to do, but just far enough away to be quiet on an evening.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Blackpool.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BedfordBlackpool, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, we try our best to make guests stay more enjoyable, We look forward to welcoming you back, thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    126
    42
    25
    21
See reviews for
83
135
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

friendly staff good food ,clean rooms ,no problems would reccomend to friends, excellent value for money

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BedfordBlackpool, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, we try our best to make guests stay more enjoyable, We look forward to welcoming you back, thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilmarnock
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We booked this hotel through Blackpool Promotions.. The hotel is dull and dreary there were buckets in the lounge to catch the drips from a leaky roof. swimming pool so cold no one could use it, restaurant down in the basement with hardly any room between the tables. Food less than mediocre. On suite so dirty i went and bought cleaning materials and cleaned it myself. Complained to Blackpool Promotions who just did not want to know. Would never go back to the Bedford Hotel and would never go anywhere with Blackpool Promotions.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BedfordBlackpool, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
It’s disappointing to here that you did not enjoy your stay here, we try very hard to make everyone’s stay an enjoyable experience, but as always if you don’t let us know what your problems are during your stay we are unable to rectify them for you, and making quite unjustified comments after your departure is not the way forward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glnrothes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We booked a week here through Blackpool Promotions. First impressions are the hotel is rather grubby in the corners – however it was late in the season.
Also really hard to get into. The stairs at the front are quite steep – no disabled access. The lift is tiny and feels a bit shaky.

Nicely surprised on arrival the room was ready and we had been given a sea view room. Plenty of tea, coffee ect in the room.
We enjoyed the meals and the dinning room staff was really helpful. Dave the bar man was our favourite member of staff. Very helpful and good for a laugh.

We were most impressed with the assistance from the Adrian on the front desk. I had to ask for the bed to be changed on the Saturday – and although we were only going to sleep in it for another two nights – not only did the bed get changed, the only time, the room had a good clean.

Would we come back? Yes definitely. Good honest value for money.

Though next time I’ll bring a swim cossy with me, the pool looked lovely even if its not huge- and will ask for sheets to be changed sooner.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BedfordBlackpool, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
Thank you for your comments, I will pass them onto the staff, As the guest only stayed 4 days we normally only change sheets during longer stays but if the guest requests a change we will certainly oblige. We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

I have just returned from a 5 days short stay holiday. It was wonderful. The hotel has excellent service. The rooms are bright and tastefully decorated, with central heating. There is a television and also tea-making facilities in the room. The beds were very comfortable and the ensuite bathroom was pristine. The housekeeping staff were very helpful and thorough.Throughout the hotel there is a high standard of cleanliness.
The hotel overlooks the sea and the bay window allows 180' view along the promenade.
Leisure facilities include a bar which has live entertainment most nights and a swimming pool and spa which was comfortably warm and clean and I spent many relaxing hours there. There was also a sauna.
The waiters provided excellent service and there was a choice of menu in the dining room. The food was varied and delicious and served promptly.
There are also parking facilities.
The owners provide assistance with your luggage if asked and are very helpful, welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BedfordBlackpool, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2010
Thank you so much for your comments; I am pleased you enjoyed you stay with ourselves, we really do try to be of assistance and to make a guests stay more relaxing and enjoyable; I hope to see you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010 via mobile

Just had 5 great days the food was great and the two happy hours in davids bar were brilliant. There was nice entertainment on at night and best of all rocky,the worlds best kp put us onto a bar where the beer was only 1.50 a pint.This hotel represents the best value for money in blackpool.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BedfordBlackpool, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
Thank you for your kind comments, we really do try our best to make guests stay more enjoyable. I will pass on your kind comments to all the staff and Peanut, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Once again thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

i have visited blackpool many of times, in various hotels and none of them has measured up to the bedford hotel, when i arrived the exterior view was lovely, when i entered into the hotel i was greeted by a very friendly gentlemen named adrian who made me feel very welcome, he even advised me on new things that i could do in blackpool througout my stay, i went up to my room which was very clean and tidy and very homely room indeed, the hotel is in a brilliant location which is on the sea front with a spectacular view! and also there is a bus stop situated right outside the hotel which is helpful bonus, and there are also the local trams, when it came to eating the food was what i could only explain as beautiful and homely cooked meals, throughout my whole stay i felt so comfortable and like i was at home which is what i personally look for on my travels, the staff were absolutely outstanding very courteous and very pleasant one young lady in particular who worked in the restaurant was a very helpful member of staff who was always polite and recommended various good places for me and my friends to go to on the night life, as where all the members of the restaurant staff it was always service with a smile, i found my whole stay at the bedford a absolute pleasure and would recommend to any body.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BedfordBlackpool, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
Thank you for your kind comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We really do try our best. I will pass on your comments to all the staff
We look forward to welcoming you back. Once again thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedford Hotel

Address: 298 - 300 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #463 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the finest positions on Blackpool's exclusive North Promenade, the 42 bedroomed Bedford is the ideal base for your holiday, just a short walk from the Town Center, North Pier, Blackpool Tower, and within easy reach of Blackpool Pleasure Beach. The Bedford hotel has been awarded a Quality Plus status, Blackpool's highest quality standard, an has been family run for over 50 years, establishing itself as one of the areas best. We have a enviable reputation for first class food and service. Sea view rooms, luxury sea view lounge and a well stocked bar with live entertainment throughout the main season. Whether your visit is for pleasure or business, take a well deserved swim in our indoor heated pool, or sit back and relax in the turbo spa or sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bedford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.