We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cedars

Cedars
9 Cedar Square, Blackpool FY1 1BP, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 578 Restaurants in Blackpool
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Dessert, English, Café, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Quality coffee shop/cafe.Excellent selection of cakes,sandwiches and more at exceptionally reasonable prices.Luxury interior and surroundings,with cool marble,elegant seating and fantastic service.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Average.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Wasn't particularly impressed. Breakfast was average and served slightly cold. Staff were a little unfriendly. Reasonably priced. Nothing to write home about. There are far better places to eat in Blackpool. Also cutlery was dirty,

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice A, Owner at Cedars, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to Cedars.
We are delighted that you felt the breakfast was reasonably priced-a little puzzled however with the comment regarding 'staff'....as we don't employ any, we are all family. Therefore I assume you felt it was myself, whom you felt was unfriendly.I have absolutely no idea why you felt this, also I can only apologise if you felt the cutlery was 'dirty', and, had you mentioned this at time of service it would have been immediately rectified.

It is a well known fact that you can't please everyone all the time, and we do hope you find what you are seeking in other Blackpool eateries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    4
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best breakfast in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great service, cloud'nt have been more pleasant or helpfull. Nothing was too much trouble.
Great fresh cooked to order breakfast and a good pot of tea too. Very clean. This is the place we'll be heading to for breakast on our next trip to Blackpool.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice A, Owner at Cedars, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hello there,
Many thanks for reviewing your trip recently to Cedars.
It is a delight to read that you enjoyed the breakfast, service and pot of tea !
We look forward to serving you once again on your next trip to Blackpool.

Regards
Janice & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic. .....fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Visit Cedars in St John's Square....the food is fantastic and all diets catered for.
Also lovely owners who are always happy and friendly.
Great value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice A, Owner at Cedars, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Gosh...
A lovely simple review of your thoughts of Cedars...Thank you!
We are both delighted that you feel welcomed and that you feel we are good value for money.
Untill your next visit...
And,with best wishes,
Janice & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Came here on the 24 June with my Mum as we were having a day out in Blackpool. It was out of the way of the hustle and bustle of Blackpool and was really nice and quiet. As soon as we got into Cedars Janice was really welcoming and asked what we would like to drink and eat, as soon as we decided what we wanted she made our drinks straight away and put our food order in with Mark who was in the kitchen. We both ordered a Full English Breakfast but I ordered Scrambled Egg and they were both fine with the change and all I can say is the breakfast was delicious and great value for money. I would like to thank Janice and Mark for being welcoming and for setting us up for the day and we would definitely return when we're next in Blackpool.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice A, Owner at Cedars, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
We are both delighted that you chose Cedars for your day trip out...with a full breakfast to set you and your Mum up !
We hope you did lots of shopping and had a fantastic day.
Many thanks for taking the time to review Cedars, and in particular the service and food quality & price.
It is indeed a privilege to read such lovely comments, and we do both hope you will have many more days out to the Fylde Cost.
Again, thank you, and until your next 'girlie day ',with your Mum...
Take care....
With Best Wishes,
Janice & Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exemplary service and perfectly cooked food...best cafe in Blackpool by a country mile!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We went here because of the reviews on TripAdvisor and were not disappointed.

They can't do enough for you and the service is awesome.

Then the food arrived...the scrambled eggs were seriously as good as a five star hotel and everything else was cooked perfectly.

Fantastic food, can't wait to go back.

Blackpool is my home town and Cedars is a place to feel proud of.

Best breakfast in the 'pool for me!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice A, Owner at Cedars, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
I speak for my husband and myself....simply thank you for such a lovely review of your recent trip to Cedars.
We are deeply humbled by your very kind words, and it means such a lot to us both, that you feel proud to have Cedars in your home town.
Mark also adds his thanks for noting the scrambled eggs!
It is an honour to serve our guests, whether they be locals or visitors to the town, and we look forward to welcoming you again to Cedars.
Until next time, with warmest wishes,
Janice & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedars also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Cedars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.