We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent early evening menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Othello's

Othello's
54 Talbot Road, Blackpool FY1 1LR, England
01253 751567
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 563 Restaurants in Blackpool
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Redcar
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“excellent early evening menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Sampled the early evening menu and it was delicious. Started with garlic mushroom and followed by divine lamb kleftico. My wife had chicken livers followed by mushroom stroganoff. The service was both friendly and efficient and a pint of Carling for £2.80 was excellent. We did not book and we were lucky as 1 hour into our visit the place was filled with a party of 22. I would certainly book when we go again, which we certainly will.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    38
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“ITS ALL GREEK TO ME”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Another visit to this very pleasant restaurant,nice clean friendly place.reasonable prices and good greek style food.Pre theatre visit this time so took advantage of early bird special,very good value straight of main menu just smaller portions but with portion of greek style chips great.one small problem owners turn heating up but place is well recommended

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“All is not greek !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

5 of us visited Orthello,s on the last weekend of the season.We received a warm welcome from the owner and the restaurant was welcoming and clean.Drinks and menu,s were quick in coming.The menu is varied with all the traditional favourites.When the starters arrived I was very disappointed ,3 of us had ordered halumi and greek sausage,the portions were very small with very thin bite size pieces of sausage and cheese,the pitta bread was hard.The starter was priced over £5 and not worth the money.One of the party had greek salad for starter which looked lovely,very fresh and auhentic.Mains were served quickly and I had moussaka,it was hot and very tasty but lacked any presentation.At £10 I would expect at least some garnish on the plate.Other party members said their mains were very tasty.The food on the whole was very nice if a little on the pricey side.We had ordered a bottle of greek red wine and on requesting a 2nd bottle we were told it was not available but were offered an alternative.Merlot was chosen and bought to the table,it was then they we noticed the wine was in fact from a discount supermarket,easily recgonisable from the brand name.This is not a bad thing but if a venue is going to serve such wine it should be reflected in the price charged.To pay more then around £10 is not acceptable.On the whole the experience was pleasant and the owners friendly but even with a discount voucher the overall bill was high.There are a lot of places to eat in Blackpool including other greek restaurants and in my experience there is better value for money to be had.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My wife Karen and I had probably the best Greek Cyprus meal outside of Cyprus last night.
I had the house speciality -Kleftiko which was fantastic, Karen thoroughly enjoyed her Mousaka too.
Great venue, very very clean, attentive and helpful staff, George the owner afforded us a lovely welcome and ensured the meal was perfect.
Do not pass this restaurant bye if you are in Blackpool - we will be back.
Paul

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delish, delish, delish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

What a lovely evening we have just had. Every single mouthful was delicious. Wonderfully authentic Greek cuisine. Staff were fab. Can't say anything but positive things...... Will definitely be back. Thank you for a great meal, atmosphere and reasonable bill. Xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Othello's also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Othello's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Othello's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.