We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for an amazing stay :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Charfield Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Charfield Hotel to your Saves list
The Charfield Hotel
34 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #658 of 910 Blackpool B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thank you for an amazing stay :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Tony and Shell are so lovely ,helpful and they really care about people. We had such a lovely stay and very nice fresh cooked breakfast. We will be coming back and looking forward to it. :) Brian and Radka x

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    2
    0
    0
    8
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed at the charfield onAug 17th...I booked because the reviews were good......very disappointed.The triple room was a disgrace,filthy carpet,shower not cleaned and only one person could move about at a time as the room was so cramped.A long list of rules,no booze in your room[come to the bar and buy a warm can for triple the price].Breakfast was between 8.45 and 9.30 and four lads were refused anything at all because they arrived at 9.15.too late apparently....not that they missed much,coffee OR orange juice,no toast,butter,jam or cereal and a pre-cooked,warmed up,small full English.The hosts were quite hostile when confronted,threatening not to give back the £20 bond each person had to pay.If I hadn't paid online we would have certainly left.Not the cheapest at £28 each[we could have booked the same for £15 each]Shocking..must be flouting some health and safety /fire regs.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley C, Owner at The Charfield Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your review sorry to learn from here of your disapointment. Why did you not say when asked was all ok ?? prices £20 sun-thurs £25 sat,stay fri/sat £45 get sunday half price £10 per person .stay 4 nights £47.50 £28 each ???
The rooms are checked as always prier to arrival and all was ok before your keys were given.
we have a 24hr licenced bar with prices cheaper than most in the town,with hotel specials and all beers served chilled 5 for £10 ? triple price??? we have a breakfast menu served from 8.30-9.30 with full english and 6 other choices all served with toast,jam/marmalade is self service,we have a coffee machine free flow 6 coffees, tea ,chocolate, also self sevice as many drinks as you desire,we are a party Hotel and pride ourselves with repeat bookings so many happy people that return,we have been at this Hotel(my third) for just over 1 year and have never held back a group bond, this is signed when taken and signed when given back after room check ,you were listening but heard only half conversation, if you had any problems at all we are both always on-site from the time you check in to check out, we have 2 rules here no off sales alcohol due to our licence and no guests due to fire regs,both are on our web-site and have found that most respect this ,thats why we continue to accept groups .sorry for late reply but we have a life .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Had a lovely weekend in blackpool this weekend 02/08/13. Stayed 3 nights at the Charfield and really enjoyed it. Tony and Shell are really nice people, Friendly and professional and a really good laugh. Only trouble was, There was 2 couples in the bar on saturday shouting and screaming at the owners whilst there was other guests in there. Very rude towards the owners but they stayed professional and called the police. Rules are there to be obeyed not broken. Other than that incident it was a brilliant hotel, rooms were lovely and clean and breakfast was awesome.
cheers for a great weekend guys!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley C, Owner at The Charfield Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your review... I hope you were not put off by the couples from hell...all we can do is again offer our apologies ..this was a one off and not something we are used to ..we specialise in stags /hens/birthday groups etc, couples are most welcome but should check web-sites before booking as we do not do Bingo or have a reading area with rocking chair ..party hotel ...
normally people like yourselves who come to Blackpool for a good night out and return to the hotel to find us waiting behind the bar until daft o'clock .. hope to see you soon ...Tony & Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

4 of us turned up (2 couples) for our wedding anniversary and it was booked on line by our friend after reading excellent reviews on this sight. When we arrived we were asked to pay imediately without being able to view the rooms, not surprising because if we had viewed the rooms we would have left straight away! The rooms were tiny far too small to squeeze a double bed into, if you can call it a bed, more like a bag of springs! The rooms were dirty (we found a hair in the bed) and there was only one shower to share between 5 rooms on our floor and one toilet on our floor, at the other end of the corridor. Even the stag party who we found out had booked in, were not too happy with the facilities. We went to the owners and explained our issues and were rudely told that its our problem and we couldnt have a refund. After plenty of discussions we were then told that they would attempt to re-let our rooms, and if they did, they would call us and refund our money. (This was eventually amicable and we were content with this). So we found another b&b and eventually began to enjoy our day. We arrived back at our b&b about 6pm and noticed that the no vacancies sign had been put in the window so went over to enquire about our refund. We were greeted with blatant liars, making up some story about us phoning them, saying we had argued and needed the rooms. This absolutely dumbfounded us, and after realising that they never intended on refunding the money, we asked for the keys, so that at least they couldnt make double on them. To which we were greeted with aggresive behaviour and warned if we didnt leave, they would call the police. We welcomed this, and when the police arrived, although they were simpathetic to us, they explained there was nothing we could do but complain. This is exactly why I am spending my time doing this. People shouldnt be allowed to get away with this kind of behaviour. It spoilt me and my wifes 9 year anniversary. And they obviously kept our money and re letted our room. Horrible experience, horrible hotel, horrible people!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charfield34, Owner at The Charfield Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hello Thanks for review I have been in Blackpool running hotels for 7 years and made several new friends.At the charfield we specialise in groups and proud of our return bookings this includes couples/families.I would normally start with an apology if deserved..not this one ... I was appalled by your drunken abusive behaviour as were the guests in the bar,we have stags and hens weekly and all behave with respect something you need to learn. Michelle handeled the situation in a very professional manor and in no way rude,even having to apologise to all guests and assuring you would not return,(ever)all our rooms are cleaned by ourselves and rechecked before guests arrival,asked michelle to shave her head but we have setteled for a hair net. in your words call xxxxxxx police we want our xxxxxxx money,rooms were not re-let due to you stripping both beds and we would not have had time to rechange bedding so Vacancie light was off.I suggest that if you book a hotel in futur, look at what you are booking and view web-site, we are and always will be a party hotel
Horrible experience, horrible digusting no respect for others people. Bye. Tony & Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

i paid for me and my girlfriend to stay at the hotel Monday to Friday. very affordable. the couple who own the hotel tony and shell were fantastic and very helpful so friendly. we really enjoyed are stay here and the breakfast was very tasty. tony recommended quite a few places to eat and were to go for the day and they were all very good places. the location of the hotel was excellent 2 mins walk from the tower and 2 mins from central pier in a prime location. Both me and my girlfriend would recommend this hotel all the time for anybody as we are going back again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charfield34, Owner at The Charfield Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
It was our pleasure to meet you both, and look forward to seeing you again,keep intouch on facebook ...charfield group xxx Tony & Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonypandy, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

we stayed at the charfield hotel for our short honeymoon michelle and dell are they loveliest couple and are the friendliest couple, my wife is disabled and they were very careing and made us feel at home, not like some places where the people are just doing a job. .we loved it and will be booking again soon

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley C, Owner at The Charfield Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
The pleasure was all ours, it was nice to meet you, pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.... Tony (del-boy) and shelley x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

10 of us stayed here for a 50th birthday and we all agreed it's the best we've been to. The location is ideal, the rooms are clean and tidy and we couldn't have asked for better hosts! We had a great time with Tony & Shell, they are so friendly and welcoming we wished we could have stayed longer. Thanks guys, we'll definitely be back x

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley C, Manager at The Charfield Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you lynn for your review, it makes our job so much easier when we have a great people in, our job is to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible and that you enjoy your stay , whatever your plans I hope we did this ..it was a pleasure to meet you and hope to see you again soon Tony & Shelley x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Charfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charfield Hotel

Address: 34 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #658 of 910 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Charfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.