We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful customer service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House Bistro & Bar

Beach House Bistro & Bar
Festival House | The Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1AP, England
+44 1253 749899
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 482 restaurants in Blackpool
Price range: $5 - $43
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Awful customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have been to blackpool quite a few times recently and were looking forward to visiting the beach house. It was fairly empty on our arrival and we were given a table near the window which was great. We both ordered fish and chips. Let the nightmare begin........ First of all the waitress took our food to another table and placed it down in front of two other customers, she eventually realised she had got the wrong table. We we finally given our meals - the waitress didn't even ask us if we would like any salt,vinegar or sauce. Out of the six chips that we were given, five of them were completely raw. Unfortunately non of the staff bothered to come and ask us if everything was ok so we left most of the meal. We complained to the waiter to be told 'I'm just the waiter'. He then came back and told us that we would need to go to the bar to resolve the issue. The manager was very defensive to start with, saying it was our fault that we didn't complain straight away and even brought the waiter over for us to be confronted by him! We were adamant that we were not paying for our meals and after a long debate the manager backed down and we paid for our drinks. Completely unnecessary in front of other customers and staff, very embarrassing! To top things off the card machine wasn't working so we had to wait around twenty minutes whilst they tried to sort it out. Lovely looking place from the outside but the customer service was absolutely diabolical! DO NOT GO HERE!!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach H, Owner at Beach House Bistro & Bar, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
True to form, we expected your comment and it is clear you were not prepared to pay for your meal from the outset. Leaving only 2 chips on your plate the nasty comment hardly seems fair. We hope you enjoy dining out at other establishments in the future, kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    110
    38
    16
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A touch of class in Blackpool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Visited for the first time for my birthday and this place really is a much needed touch of class in Blackpool.
The food is excellent, the service is attentive and unhurried - I can only imagine how great the view will be on a summer evening - this is definitely my new favourite restaurant in Blackpool.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach H, Owner at Beach House Bistro & Bar, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back to Beach House soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“A big disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The risotto was under cooked, pizza tasteless and they didn't even have any cracked black pepper to save themselves.
The decor would be suited to a sunny day coming from the beach for lunch but as an evening restaurant it lacks character. Also lets face it when is Blackpool ever sunny anyway?
When we told the staff that we hadn't enjoyed the food they said they were sorry but made no effort to assist in compensating.
Past reviews seem to rate the Beach House views very high but they're hanging from up there by one big question mark if you ask me?
I know you didn't ask me but I will tell you anyway why this is -
If you look out to sea it is ok but facing in land you see "poundland" ermm "burger King" a run down Harry Ramsdens and various other tacky bars and shops.
If you want a nice setting, good views and less tack ....YOU'RE IN BLACKPOOL, stop kidding yourselves

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great food and destination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Had some great food yesterday evening, we just nipped to Blackpool to eat and stumbled across this great bistro next to the sea! The starter mini burgers and prawns was fresh and lovely presented and both mains were also excelent, modern place and great atmosphere and very reasonable price! the owner (i think) was a very nice guy who meeted and greated guests on arrival, good vibes!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fylde coast
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Location with a fantastic view !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Sampled this restaurant for the first time on a 'deal' voucher which included Tapas & Wine for 2.
Food was delicious, well presented, staff very courteous and attentive, and the main menu seemed appetizing so look forward to sampling more ! Atmosphere was lovely, pleasant background music, not at all obtrusive, and good to have such a more upmarket restaurant on the seafront, hopefully will encourage others to come into the heart of Blackpool. This was winter, therefore cold but a pleasantly calm evening - just sat by the window and took in the fantastic view - miles of sand and sea - providing a calming and relaxed feel - and watch the thousands of birds - an interesting spot ! Enjoyed the experience and ambience and will certainly return, especially when you can sit outside in the summertime !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach House Bistro & Bar also viewed

 
Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Beach House Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House Bistro & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.