We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Avenue

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Avenue
Save
You added The Avenue to your Saves list
56 Reads Avenue, Blackpool FY1 4DE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We would just like to say a big thanks to Chris and Gordon for a lovely stay at The Avenue We really enjoyed our stay at your 1st class bed and breakfast everything from start of weekend to the day we departed was excellent we have no hesitation in recommending The Avenue to anyone

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris k, Owner at The Avenue, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
I would honestly say the term " your very welcome" certainly applies in your case , its always a pleasure to have nice people in the house and you were no exception, and nothing is too much trouble for us were here to help , thanks folks , hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
79
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
LEEDS
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Warmly greeted at the door with the well mentioned tea and biscuits offered to us on arrival. A friendly little chat with Chris and Gordon and they gave us good information of what was on and where in Blackpool. Then shown to our room which was a lovely size, clean and with the most comfortable bed. Both Chris and Gordon go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Breakfasts are very good with lots of variations of choice. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Another plus point of The Avenue guest house is the good availability of private parking. Location good, near to the Winter Gardens. All in all a great little place to stay. Would recommend and would certainly return here next time we visit Blackpool. Thanks Chris and Gordon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris k, Owner at The Avenue, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi folks and thanks for your kind words in your review, it was an absolute pleasure to have you with us and by the way the laughs come free of charge usually with the cuppa and the biscuits and the last one on your way out lol! hope to see you again soon, cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodhome
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed in this guesthouse for 3 nights and my stay was lovely. The rooms are clean. The guesthouse has a central location and very nice atmosphere with Chris&Gordon! Good breakfast - it can be choosen what kind of breakfast you prefer - e.g. full english or cereal&fruits, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris k, Owner at The Avenue, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
cheers guys! and thanks for your review, nice to see people make the most of their time here in blackpool too, it looked like you had a really good time, hope to see you again soon , take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Had a lovely stay at the Avenue.
Rooms lovely and comfortable,clean, and very well equipped.
Also very good value for money.
Welcoming and friendly owners(Thanks again for the birthday card and drink.Was a lovely gesture).
Breakfast is excellent with good quality ingredients.
Have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel.
Have stayed before and will certainly return.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for the premier rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris k, Owner at The Avenue, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you janet for your kind words we are really pleased you came to us for your hubbys birthday! we love it when people come to us for a celebration, and really glad you enjoyed your stay with us, cheers onece again , hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I must say I can only echo the the positive reviews. This guesthouse is fantastic! All the staff we met were helpful, friendly and very pleasant. The hotel and the room is decorated to a high standard and is clean.

The beds are a good size and very comfortable. The shower is excellent. Plenty of choice of tea, coffee or hot chocolate in the room. The rooms are a good size and laid out well.

The local pub is a good traditional pub selling local beers and fine food.

As for the price, it is exceptional value. In the past I've paid twice as much and not even got half the service. If I am ever near Blackpool then this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris k, Owner at The Avenue, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi folks , thanks for your review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and of course its about having a bit of fun too ! hope to see you again soon, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed at the Avenue for a couple of night's at the first may bank holiday it was brilliant everything was perfect the rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished, let me say I have stayed at Blackpool many times and have stayed in some b and b's that shouldn't be open to the public but this one is second to none I would reccomend it 100% and hope to be there staying there for the August bank holiday

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris k, Owner at The Avenue, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hey there Sandra! thanks for your review, really pleased you had a good stay with us and keeping company with my sister when she was here too, thanks again , you really seemed to enjoy yourself, cheer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duna beach gran canaria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

What a great weekend we had,Chrissy and Gordon were fantastic, they made us really welcomed from the time we arrivied to the time we left. The rooms were clean and bright and the beds very comfortable, and food was excellent. Would recommend this hotel and give it a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris k, Owner at The Avenue, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you Billy and Bernice, it was lovely to see you both its lovely when people we know from our time in Gran Canaria come to visit, really glad you both had a good time and loads of photo too from everywhere you went, those discount cards are great, you made the mot of your tay with us, hope to see you agian very soon take care both and bernice that son of your is a credit to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avenue

Address: 56 Reads Avenue, Blackpool FY1 4DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avenue is a small Guesthouse owned by Chris and Gordon in Central Blackpool, licensed, only a short stroll from the Tower, Winter Gardens etc. We can accommodate couples and families, single occupancy of any room will incur a surcharge, we are Gay friendly and Family friendly. You can be assured of a warm welcome with the guarantee of no Stag or Hen parties. Free Wifi and residents parking and a choice of rooms from standard to a premier room with its own sofa, walk - in wardrobe with a silent fridge. All rooms en-suite with TVs with DVD players and Tea/Coffee facilities, hairdryers. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.