We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms at the Queens” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Queens Hotel to your Saves list
Queens Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   467 - 469 South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Rooms at the Queens”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The rooms are small and adequate but every single floorboard in the hotel squeaks and I do mean every one of them. Sleep was nigh on impossible as guests were comming in at different times. Breakfast was good but there was a long wait

Room Tip: Not sure there could be any due to floor boards
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    72
    62
    57
    57
See reviews for
77
95
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Certainly not worth the money,Basic tatty rooms and decor, very creaky floorboards in room, so felt uncomfortable walking round it,really in need of a revamp. Breakfast average. Although the staff were very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

just got bac from a weekend in this hotel so disapointed i paid £168 which i didnt mind until i seen the state of our room basic is a good word to say the room was absolutley filthy, dust was every were damp walls net curtains grimey then to top it off the mosaic tiles on the bathroom floor was all loose & broken it also smelt of urine me & my partner complained to reception then a porter came showed us other rooms but thay was twin rooms but basic again thay all looked the same in desprate need of refurb i spoke to the manager he explained that thay had been taken over by a new company named leisureplex i am now going to complain to this company because of the upset it caused us we have been to blackpool loads of times & in all honestley i have stayed in back st b&b a lot cleaner & cheaper the smell is still under my nose this is a geniue review i only tell the way it is

Room Tip: the room we stayed was 328 seaview very noisiey drafty windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Really needs a revamp there is a damp smell when you enter this hotel and it really looks old and dated rooms have old furniture but bed was clean breakfast was full English and cereal if wanted also which was nice people running it made you welcome would be ok for bed to sleep and breakfast but don't look for frills if its still open

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Was not sure to expect after reading the mixed reviews, but found the hotel quite acceptable, although in need of some updating. We had a 3 bed room, which gave us plenty of space, as there were only two of us. The decor in the room is looking a bit dated, and the lack of bedside cabinets was disappointing. However, there was a jug kettle with tea & coffee provided (no hot chocolate though), as well as a hair dryer. The wall-mounted flat screen TV was able to pick up all the standard Freeview stations. The bathroom was fairly modern, although the floor tiles had seen better days. We also found the electric shower to be a bit underpowered, but the water hot enough.

Meals are all served by waiters, who were quick once they had taken your order. Breakfast included the usual cooked items, as well as cereals & fruit juice. The toast was often underdone or burnt, but otherwise everything else was perfectly OK. The evening menu was the usual meat or fish variety, with a vegetarian option. A welcome extra option was 'Lighter choices' ; basically a slightly smaller meal for children or anybody who preferred something else. This included sausage & chips, jacket potato with cheese & beans, ham & chips. We found that there it was possible to change some of the extras with the meals (e.g. no sauce on the cheesecake, onion instead of beans for the jacket potatoes). You can even request a second helping!

On the ground floor, there's a sun lounge, a small games room and an indoor pool with a small jacuzzi. The entertainment at this time of the year is mainly based at the over 60's; there's bingo, some 50's and 60's music acts plus the occasional quiz (which we won!). The hotel is well located on sea front, not far from the south pier, with the Talk of the Coast entertainment bar next door. Although not well advertised, there is free wi-fi available on the ground floor, covering the reception area through to the dining room.

All in all, not a bad hotel. Our coach driver advised us that refurbishments are planned, which should make the hotel well worth a second visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renfrew scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Queens hotel on the front Blackpool.My wife and I are just back from a great weekend break at this fab.,establishment.Food and entertainment were excellent,bar staff and restaurant staff were first class.Recomment the Queens to anybody looking for a well run Hotel.For a wee change I couldnt find anything to moan about.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

me and my family,went to the queens hotel for a long weekend and birthday celebration in the tower suite everybody from the ages from 1 to 83 throughly enjoyed themselves and there was plenty for them to do. The younger ones enjoyed themselves in the leisure complex and the older members enjoyed there favorite game of bingo and a tipple at the bar, which wasent expensive compared to the other hotel bars iv visited. T he bedrooms was clean tidy and spacious and warm. the breakfast and evening was exceptional witha wide variety of a choice the waiter what we had was very efficent the tower room suite was laid out lovely with white linen champagne and wine glasses.the whole occasion was well organised by alex the manager and his team the buffet was excellent and everybody commented on the high standard of how delicious the food was i would highly recommend having a function at the queens hotel as it was perfect and i would like to say a big thankyou to the manager alex and the rest of the staff at the queens hotel for s very enjoyable weekend and celebration at the queens .

Room Tip: sea views are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Address: 467 - 469 South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on South Promenade, the Queens is one of Blackpool's larger hotels overlooking the Irish Sea and only a ten minute walk from the famous Pleasure Beach and Sandcastle waterpark. The Queens hotel is the newest addition to Leisureplex Hotels and is a perfect base to explore 'Britain's most popular holiday destination' with its prime location between Central and South piers. 111 Bedrooms have central heating and bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, internal telephone, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Generously sized public areas including cocktail bar, recently refurbished theatre bar with superb entertainment, attractive lounges and an indoor heated pool, sauna and gymnasium. Extensive coach and car parking. A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool Hotel Queen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.