We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room nice, frostbite and a very tight squeeze in the bathroom!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliffs Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Cliffs Hotel to your Saves list
The Cliffs Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Room nice, frostbite and a very tight squeeze in the bathroom!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in December for the annual Tinsel & Turkey events, we have done this for several years now & usually enjoy our stay. The room was very pleasant & I think had recently been refurbished, the only down side was the awful plastic under sheet which made the bed uncomfortable to sleep in. The main thing we disliked immensely was the bathroom, you had to open the door and move very close to the sink, then shut the door so that you were able to then move to the toilet which was extremely close to the bath you couldn't move, the process was reversed on the exit. Neither of us are very large by the way. The other thing was there was no heating in the bathroom and it was extremely cold, far too cold to have a shower. I have recently spoken to someone else who stayed there and they had the same problem with the cold bathroom. Generally if we stay at a hotel where the bathroom is chilly, we leave the door open so that some of the heat from the room can go into the bathroom, it was so cold, it made the room cold so we had to shut the door. It's such a pity as the rest of the hotel is fine. This factor spoiled the break and made us very glad we were only there for 1 night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    416
    112
    55
    45
See reviews for
457
379
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011 via mobile

Stayed for sept weekend and our room was burgled whilst at breakfast on first morning. Police took hours to come and were totally unfazed by this. Lost purse with £600 cash, iPod, chargers, Nintendo and games and even. T nephews pyjamas! The manager told us this had never happened before. There was no forced entry and definately done by staff and their accomplices. It was devastating and holiday was ruined. When we got home there had been at least six break ins reported on this website during sept 2011, therefore manager was lying and covering up. Don't go near thus hotel as there's obviously an inside scam going on.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

My wife and i have been visiting the Cliffs Hotel for the last twenty five years and cant reccomend it enough the hotel is comfortable, the Food excellant and the entertainment first class. And the prices very very reasonable, so if you are looking for a Hotel that is value for money you wont go far wrong staying at the Cliffs

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChoiceHotelsltd, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear Phil783

Many thanks for your positive review and for taking the timeto tell us and other readers that you have been enjoying the Cliffs for so long - 25 years!

I trust you are a member of our Choice Rewards loyalty scheme and are making the most of our special offers for regular customers. If not, please contact us so you can join the scheme.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards for the Christmas season.

Sally Carpenito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Went (again) in November for a three day break. Late booking but kucky to get a reservation as the Hotel was full. Since last visit Hotel has been undergoing renovation and all is being done to extremely high standard. Hotel very warm, food excellent, entertainment at night great with acceptable bar prices. All Staff are as friendly as ever. As usual car parking difficulties due to small car park Now been with grandchildren in holidays--great. November with no children in hotel-great!! Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to arrive about 11am...just as people checking out are leaving car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Well what can we say about this retro hotel, i dont think it is meant to be retro, just it hasnt had any money spent on the rooms (Bathrooms) since the 1970s, typical british sea side hotel.
Poor parking allocation, so had to park 10 mins walk from hotel,however enjoyable stay with friends, the staff were very friendly and at times comical (Maureen) our waitress...felt like being back at school with the dinner ladies!! "eat your starter first then you can order your main!!!".......................naughty boy!, however we did see the funny side of this.

Wouldnt stay again however cheap and cheerful and clean so for a cheap break couldnt fault it, just dont have too high expectations from the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChoiceHotelsltd, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Good afternoon Ruth and Craig

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. We have considered the points raised and will use your criticism of the restaurant service to help develop customer service in that department. Without wishing to make excuses, the Cliffs serves dinner to over 300 people on a daily basis and therefore it would be difficult to use the more traditional way of taking the whole order at the beginning of the meal.

With regard to bathrooms, the company has an ongoing refurbishment programme in place and I can report thast over 50 bathrooms have been replaced since in the last 6 months.

We hope that you may change your mind and give us another try one day.

Regards

Sally Carpenito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in November with our two boys - 5 and 9. After reading some of the reviews, we were very pleasantly surprised.
We paid £218 for DBB and it was well worth it!
We hardly saw the kids as they loved 'The Base' - basically a kids den with supervised activities. They made pizza, watched films, played football and spent a lot of money on rubbish from the gift shop but they thoroughly enjoyed this independence and so did we!
The food was very good although the menu was not incredibly varied but could always find something! Excellent waiter service.
The pool and leisure area looked very nice but we never had chance to use it.
We had adjoining rooms and they were clean with tv's in both rooms.
We enjoyed the nightly entertainment and there were plenty of places to sit.
We would definitely book again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChoiceHotelsltd, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Dear Chele 86

We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us, made all the more enjoyable because your young boys were kept entertained for you. Our Base 'kids club' is designed to look after your children with a variety of activities whilst the adults enjoy the other facilities in the hotel 'child free'!

So glad you intend to visit us again!

Sally Carpenito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Stayed for 5 days. The period just before Xmas is great value for money. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the food was good. We will visit again.
Minor complaints - noisy drunken neighbours. Also the entertainment is a bit naff. The "star turns" only dream of being stars and seem to think the louder they shout the better they are. They also like to tell the audience when to applaud which really says it all. If you want decent entertainment take a taxi to somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cliffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#19 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cliffs Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliffs Hotel in Blackpool offers its guests 160 comfortable and pleasantly decorated bedrooms, all with the privacy and comforts you would expect from a hotel.All with en suite bathrooms and some with delightful sea views overlooking Blackpool promenade and beach plus the famous Blackpool Illuminations. There are a range of room sizes sleeping from one to a family of six.The facilities available at this fine early century hotel range from the swimming pool, leisure centre with gym and sauna and 'kids club' to the sea view Cafe bar and cabaret room making it the ideal hotel venue for a family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool Cliff Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliffs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.