We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Blackpool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Big Blue Hotel to your Saves list
Big Blue Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clifton Drive/Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
GLASGOW
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Blackpool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in the Big Blue Hotel on a Bed/Breakfast and Evening meal basis from 11 to 13 July 2013. This was our second visit to the Big Blue and not likely to be our last. While Blackpool has a tacky reputation, this is quickly forgotten when you step inside the Big Blue. The staff on reception were extremely helpful and allowed us access to our room even though we were a little early for check-in.

Our room overlooked the park, and from our fourth floor vantage point we could see the ‘Big One’ and ‘Big Dipper’ as well as the Pleasure Beach train. One slight disappointment was the grubby bedroom windows; however that aside the room was very comfortable with plenty of storage for clothes. You don’t have to fret about kids mucking about with hotel television and buying movies without your knowledge, as the sets are equipped with freeview. A DVD player is provided and you can borrow a film from reception (I don’t know if a charge applied though). While your room does not have a fridge, there is a free ice dispenser opposite the lifts on the ground floor, next to the drinks machine; handy in what was a very hot spell of weather.

The food in the Big Blue is excellent. On the first night we had dinner in the hotel restaurant. Our room rate entitled us to a three-course meal from the set menu, but if that does not appeal then you may choose from the a-la-carte menu instead and pay any difference. Breakfast was also very good, with plenty of choice for everyone.

The beach opposite the hotel was much quieter than the areas down on the front between the piers, however at the time of year we went, you have only until 12:30pm until the tide comes in which was a bit of a shame.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    558
    154
    74
    30
See reviews for
759
563
27
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I recently stayed at the Big Blue Hotel in Blackpool. The hotel is located at the south shore, just behind the pleasure beach theme park. It is a large hotel painted blue on the outside and finding it was easy. It has 157 rooms and a 4 star rating. The hotel has free parking for guests. I checked in on a bank holiday and was surprise we didn't have to queue. The check in process was easy and I was shown where breakfast would be served. We were staying for one night and our package included bed breakfast and wristbands for the pleasure beach. Hotel guess are able to use a special entrance right next to the park which is very handy are the actual entrance is quite a walk from the hotel if you have young children.

I was delighted with the room itself. It was very well designed, the kids had a special area which contained there bunk beds and TV's like there only separate bedroom, then there was a large en suite bathroom, then into the main bedroom with a super king sized bed, some chairs and a Tv. Our room looked out on the theme park and the rollercoaster came whizzing past our window. The kids loved having there own special space, there was snakes and ladders on the wall for them to play, with a giant foam dice. The hotel doesn't put on any entertainment but dvd's and games consoles can be hired from the reception. As we only staying one night the TV provided the kids with adequate entertainment as they were shattered anyway.

We did get room service in the evening which had a £5 extra charge. The food was very nice and arrived promptly . Breakfast the following morning had a big choice of both hot and cold options. You could get a full English breakfasts as well as cereals, pastries, yogurts and fruit. The food was nice and what I would have expected from a hotel of this standard.

To give you an idea of prices for one night for 2 adult and 2 children midweek in the school hotels is £199 and this included pleasure beach passes, weekends in the school holidays for the same would be £255. I think taking into account the pleasure beach passes this makes it a fairly good deal adults tickets into the pleasure beach are around £30 and children's passes are around £25. A local taxi driver told me he thought it was the nicest place to stay in Blackpool and I would agree.

Room Tip: Some rooms actually look into the pleasure beach park.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My Fiancee and i stayed for a Friday night get away. The hotel experience was fantastic. Fantastic friendly staff on reception and great rooms. We stayed in room 119 which was based on the ground floor. The room was spotless and had all the amenities you would expect. We had a great view of the 'Big one' roller coaster from our window.
We visited the bar on the way out for a walk, and again the bar staff were friendly.
Later that night we returned to the restaurant as we had booked a table for 7 o clock.
Great menu and food. Attention to detail again was shown by all the staff.
Breakfast was amazing. Ok, its a english style buffet, but they had got it right. The food was hot, bacon and sausages were good quality, and fried eggs were constantly being cooked.
A great hotel for all. The hotel had a mixture of families and couples.
Our intention was to spend the Saturday on the Pleasure beach, after checking out and driving out of the free car park , it was decided that we would return sometime soon.
Well done 'Big Blue'.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Hotel is lovely inside, nice reception and very polite, helpful staff. We booked into a delux double and first impressions were great, big room, Air con, nice décor and overlooked the pleasure beach. However on closer inspection (after noticing a funny smell) we noticed the sheet that covers the base of the bed had a vomit stain on it, and was giving off a disgusting smell! A quick call to reception and someone came to remove the sheet and would replace it in the morning. Wasn't expecting this in the room as we had paid a lot of money for 3 nights here, and how the housekeeper missed the stench of someone's vomit on the bed I'll never know! However, manager was very apologetic and had a bowl of fruit and chocolates in our room waiting for us the next day.
Breakfast was disappointing - had to pay extra for poached eggs, porridge, freshly squeezed orange juice etc - bit of a cheek when the rooms aren't exactly cheap! Sausages were poor quality and tasted cheap, other usual breakfast things but the food wasn't always hot. Toast machine either gave you warm bread or burnt toast. Have had much better breakfasts at Premier Inns. (Make sure you get there before 9am or you'll have to wait for a table!)
Overall, the staff were always very friendly and helpful and the reception was lovely. There's a tram stop across the road and a gorgeous Italian restaurant 1 mile along the road. Also nice to have a room overlooking the pleasure beach. Unfortunately the cleanliness of our bedroom and the poor quality of the breakfasts let us down. Have stayed in much nicer B&Bs in Blackpool for half the price. Lovely, friendly staff, but afraid we'll not be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed at the Big Blue on the first weekend of July for a friends 30th birthday. We had the Dinner on the first night B&B deal so it was just £100pp for the whole weekend. The rooms are lovely and modern. Our room had a view of the Big One :o The meal the first night was delicious. We had 3 courses off the Table la d'hote menu. The waiters were so polite and patient considering they were dealing with a gaggle of girls in fact all members of staff at the Big Blue were so friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Booked a room here 13th July,upon arrival receptionist was very welcoming.
We were also given an upgrade on our room at no extra cost which was brilliant.
We had booked pleasure beach tickets and were quickly given our wristbands and because we were early we could park at the hotel,and then just check in later on.
The hotel has it's own entrance to the park which is great so you avoid any queues,so when you have kids it's a lot easier,we had a great day in the park and at around 3pm we took a break from the rides and checked in.
Our room was superb,massive bed for me and the wife,bunk beds for the kids with play station and tv's and snakes and ladders ,this is all in a separate area of the room.
Very nice bath/shower and all immaculate.
Also the room looked straight out onto the rides of the pleasure beach! Very special for the kids.
Breakfast buffet style,eat as much as you like,all in all excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights last week. We booked a suite which was fantastic and couldn't fault it. Our room overlooked the pleasure beach which we loved. We had dinner in restaurant in the evening, and food was very good with great service. Hotel very clean and great service from start to finish!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Address: Clifton Drive/Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK’s only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. The hotel is also fully licensed for weddings, and the contemporary Blues Bar & Brasserie offers a stylish setting for intimate ceremonies with a sophisticated touch. The venue is perfect for intimate weddings or civil ceremonies of up to 30 guests. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room just some of the special touches we offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Blue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.