We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Hotel, Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Big Blue Hotel to your Saves list
Big Blue Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clifton Drive/Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
chelmsford, essex
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Quality Hotel, Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel over 10 times and to be honest it is one of my favourites whilst on business trips to Blackpool.

The rooms are very clean and big, especially the junior suites. The hotel is pretty quiet even if it does back onto Blackpool pleasure beach. the food is good and the staff are always friendly.

The rooms have full air con which is a must during the summer.

Overall this is a great place to stay if on business, and I am sure it would also be good for tourists as it is right on the sea front next to the pleasure beach.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,106
    553
    154
    74
    30
See reviews for
757
559
27
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Enjoyed a bank holiday break in Blackpool, made even better by staying at 'The Big Blue Hotel' adjacent to the Pleasure Beach. Although I'd heard positive/negative feedback about this place, I thought we'd give it a try (I have 3 kids and never easy to find accomodation for us all).
Room was more than adequate, kids loved it and had a meal on first night which was surprisingly good for a large hotel like this.
Breakfast was more of a challenge, buffet very good, although busy around 9am - so get there before-hand - and you'll not be disappointed.
We got early entrance to the Pleasure Beach, which was a joy, before all the masses truned up at lunchtime, we managed to get on loads of the big rides before then. Thank You.
Finally, the beach/promenade areas have been upgraded and on a very warm bank holiday weekend, with loads of space to sit and take in the sights, or enjoy time with your family.
Great weekend and a great hotel.

Room Tip: I had one fsacing the Pleasure Beach, there was a slight noise in the evening but, it closed around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights with two rooms(1 twin and 1 double ) at a cost of £248.
Swift check in, even though we were one hour early, our rooms were ready and waiting for us so were given the keycard right away.

FREE WIFI IN ROOM AND AROUND THE HOTEL.

As we entered our rooms we were quite relieved to find we had connecting rooms as my mother is disabled.In our room we were surprised to find a kind size bed (two singles put together)and two bunk beds.We had floor to ceiling windows and both rooms were on the ground floor overlooking the car park.Mums room was very similar to our room but smaller.
It had all the usual things you would find in a hotel room and seven plug sockets so we could plug ALL our gadgets in .Tv with freeview and a dvd player ,NO in room safe and NO fridge.There is an ice machine at the end of the long corridor or you can ask for ice at the bar and they will give you it, in a large ice bucket.
In the bunk bed area there was two tvs ,two separate lights and a snakes and ladders game on the wall with a sponge dice.The bathroom was very modern too with chrome heated towel rail and a glass shower screen ?not so sure about that as some people will have young children running about .
The breakfast was adequate, not a vast choice but enough for people to fill up on.I must say that there are a few items you have to pay separate for which i do not agree with ,some of which are BOILED EGGS,MUSHROOMS,POACHED EGGS,PORRIDGE ,HERBAL TEAS, at the hilton these would all be included .Why on earth would they charge for eggs (fried and scrambled are free) or mushrooms??(see photo of menu).

ANNOYINGLY there were people on their phones at breakfast time and they were very loud.They should make the calls in their room and not at breakfast.They should be a bit more courteous to the people around them.

There is a large car park to the side and rear of the hotel with security tyre spikes at one end and a barrier (code needed) at the other end .

You get FREE ENTRY TO THE PLEASURE BEACH worth £6.00 when you are a guest of the big blue hotel,which includes a free train ride on the pleasure beach express.

All in all this hotel is in my opinion ONE of the best hotels in blackpool.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the car park side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menai Bridge, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Paid £240 for one night with breakfast and pleasure beach passes. Was a great room, family suite looked out over pleasure beach, right next to 'the big one' ride. Very nice bathroom and shower was beautiful! Supplied with shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. The staff were very efficient, especially waiting on staff at breakfast, the front desk staff were efficient but you could tell they were under a lot of pressure and they weren't overly friendly to our 5 year old daughter, got made to feel a little awkward when she was being her usual chatty self! Paid a lot to stay there and dinner would have been an extra £55, real shame!! Ended up going out to get food, BB hotel should have an option to book half board online! Thank you though, would return! An amazing comfortable nights sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benidorm, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

1st night was £62 booked on internet, we decided to stop another, paid at reception then it was £87 !!!!!

Nice room, shame its 2 singles bolted together to get a king size, as you can feel the join

the food was superb, and service was good, did have to wait at the bar a couple of times and it was empty, but not a problem

the only downside was the restaurant door, kept banging everytime someone went through it,
plus the bath towels are not big enough to wrap round you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel stacks up well against the many Blackpool hotels. Whilst not very central it is well placed for Pleasure Beach and offers ample free parking. Rooms are of a pretty good standard, clean and modern. Breakfast was reasonably good although, like most hotels, on a self service basis.

Would be happy to recommend this hotel as you can park up the car and walk or use the tram or bus for easy access to the town centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room as the noise from the Pleasure Beach rides could be a problem at weekend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel twice. Excellent location for pleasure beach and cheaper wristband prices when pre booking. Rooms are clean and modern with a tele for each bunk bed which the children loved. Video,s and playstations are available for the rooms. View of the pleasure beach from the room. What was excellent was the standard of the food(4 star) and the staff. This is a luxury family friendly hotel and the focus is on families. It also has room service and it is the same price for a family of five as staying in a budget B&B. Would only stay here when visiting blackpool. The bar is also nice in the evening, lovely cocktails and children cocktails.

Room Tip: The deluxe family rooms include playstation 3's
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Address: Clifton Drive/Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK’s only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. The hotel is also fully licensed for weddings, and the contemporary Blues Bar & Brasserie offers a stylish setting for intimate ceremonies with a sophisticated touch. The venue is perfect for intimate weddings or civil ceremonies of up to 30 guests. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room just some of the special touches we offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Blue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.