We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Big Blue Hotel to your Saves list
Big Blue Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clifton Drive/Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
west wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mini break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, had a good stay,we had a delux room which was spotlessly clean, a lovely big comfortable bed,extra pillows in the room, good quality complimently toileties,power shower and plenty of hot water. Staff were friendly and very attentive, we had a very good meal in the restuarant not over priced, although the drinks were on the expensive side.
Breakfast was buffet style plenty with of choice. As this hotel is close to the pleasue beech a lot of familys stay there, but it is advertised as a family hotel,we did not find it to bad, if you want peace and quite I would recommend you don't stay there weekends or school holidays. The location is very good, 2 min walk to the trams.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    526
    148
    68
    29
See reviews for
703
523
25
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked initially for only one night Fri 26th April to see a show at the Opera House in Blackpool. Our stay at the hotel was so good we stayed the Saturday night as well.
It was very easy to book in with Tara and we were upgraded to a delux room which was spacious and spotless. It had a little seating area and the room was bright and cheerful. It had tea, coffee, mineral water an iron and ironing board provided as standard which I always need and it saved asking for one. I was a little concerned as it was just my husband and I, as we passed the other rooms on the hallway to our room we could hear children shouting and laughing from the other rooms, but once inside our room we could not hear anything.
Breakfast on the Saturday morning was lovely and the chef made me veggie sausages, on the downside there were not any mushrooms and I had to pay an extra £2 for these, shame as these are standard on other full English breakfasts.
We had lunch in the bar on the Saturday and we were served by Andy who was very efficient and polite. I had lovely scampi and chips and my husband had a steak and ale pie that was full to the brim with steak. We had lunch because we would not have time for dinner because of the show. After the show we returned to the bar just before 11pm and had a sandwich (again served by Andy). On that evening we asked about staying a further night in the same room, I asked if we could have the same rate and was advised that it would be a further £9 because it was a Saturday which was a really good deal. There seemed to be a hiccup when booking the room as Chelsea (receptionist) had then left for the evening, Simon booked it as best he could and asked us to comfirm in the morning. Tara Valentine was there in the morning and she knew about us instantly and confirmed the booking.
We booked a table for dinner, I picked a certain table but we were given another but it was fine. The meal was lovely although I had to ask for more saute potatoes as there was only one small sliced potato. We were served by three different people and each one was excellent and nothing was too much trouble even though the restaurant was busy. I had the most fantastic sticky toffee pudding with cream.
Breakfast on the Sunday was very busy at 9.45am and we had to wait about 10 mins for a table but it was not an issue, we still received excellent service.

Cons
The internet is not just one click on, you have to set up an account which is a pain and worse when it goes off and you have to do it again. Staying the second unscheduled evening wiped it off completely but I couldn't be bothered asking about it.

The air con never really went cool so it was quite hot when trying to sleep, some instructions would help. I can't really complain as I never asked how it worked so my fault really.

No mushrooms and at £2 pretty steep.

These are only minor things and they did not spoil our stay. Well done to all the staff and the HR person who employed them.

I would certainly recommend this hotel but only if you like children.

Room Tip: Room 424 overlooked the car park at the front and was very quiet. Rooms at the back overlook the fai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed for a short break, Friday to Monday, B & B. On arrival upgraded to Deluxe room which was lovely. Hotel was spotless, staff friendly & helpful, breakfast very good. Had a meal in the restuarant which was excellent & average price for a hotel. Would recommend this hotel at this time of year but in the busy summer months it would be unsuitable for anybody who didnt have children. As for another review who compared it to a fancy Travelodge all I can say is I would like to know which Travelodge they stayed in as we have stayed in a couple and they were awful

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have stayed here over new year for three consecutive years now and have always had an excellent experience. The family rooms are great for children with the bunk beds and tv's. The staff are friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble.
The restaurant and bar are good and the food is excellent. The breakfast is great and we could definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Just returned from a two night break here. Short notice escape for my wife and I. We arrived on Monday & departed today, Wednesday. The package we booked was for dinner and two nights B&B, with wrist band passes to the Pleasure Beach Attraction Park. We had a suite with a fireplace, this cost an extra £40 but to be honest, it's a bit of a con, the fire is artifical and looks rather naff, seriously not worth the extra depite being assured it was when i enquired on making the booking.....the room/bed was lovely at first appearance but once you looked about it, you could see it was in need of updating and redecorating, badly. The bathroom was well equipped despite the leaky shower screen which was horrendous, more water outside on the floor than inside on the bath, it was blatently obvious that this was ongoing for some time and nothing had been done to rectify it, we told reception and for the response we got, we may as well have whispered it in a shell and thrown it in the sea, this despite my wife slipping in it and hurting herself. So far your thinking, great hotel. Ya you'd be correct until you went for your dinner! The package arrangement is that each person has to the value of £22 for food. Fine, anything else and drinks you pay for. Easy, its just when the food isn't as you ordered or its over done....Ask for it to be corrected, you're given blank stares or the waiter disappears for twenty minutes & comes back with a new alternative...still incorrect. And the bill system is enough to crack you up. Your billed for everything, when you ask why or explain you've prepaid on a package, doesn't matter its their system for communicating with reception???? So stupid, the staff are annoying and the breakfast system is two star and not four, basically help yourself to an overcooked and dried out buffet, breakfast is not cooked to order, this is meant to be a four star hotel, not a bloody bail hostel for the financially challenged! Charging for herbal tea, boiled eggs and such... and the toaster is rubbish. They need to buck up their act if its a hotel that wants to remain above the standard of what’s available on the main strip....because what you pay does not reflect the service that is provided. would we return, NO!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel rooms very good standard, spotless all staff very friendly, breakfast very good. Evening meals in restaurant very expensive for what you get. Would recommend hotel especially for families with young children.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was a perfectly pleasant hotel, very clean, lovely staff, great location but the price is a bit steep considering its basically just a slightly improved version of Travelodge. We had a deluxe double which was a lovely clean room, super-king bed, nice bathroom & a little living room area but it really doesn't offer much more. You would expect a little fridge, robes etc.- just little touches from a hotel that charges this much.

The breakfasts were great - loads of choice, fruits, cereals, full English, continental - the lot, and as much as you can eat - although the scrambled eggs on the 2nd morning were very sloppy - but apart from that you really cant complain.

My only real gripe was the restaurant. In our package deal we got an evening meal on the first night as well, which was a choice between 3 courses from "the little menu" or you could have approx. £50 from the normal menu. We chose to just have 1 course from the normal menu. My husband had a 10oz rib eye, my daughter had sausage, mash & peas from the children's menu & I had the shoulder of beef. If we'd paid the £20 for my husbands steak as it was advertised I would have been very disappointed - it was cooked fine but it didn't look like it was 10oz and there was just no presentation, side vegetables or anything that really made it worth £20! Again, my beef was cooked very well & tasted lovely, but it was served with just a blob of mash & a couple of carrots. If we were to have bought the same in any other restaurant then there would have been side veggies etc. And my daughter struggled with her mash as there was no gravy and made it bit difficult for her to enjoy it.

Overall, this was a lovely stay but to be honest I think we'll save a chunk of money next time by booking into Travelodge up the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Address: Clifton Drive/Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK’s only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. The hotel is also fully licensed for weddings, and the contemporary Blues Bar & Brasserie offers a stylish setting for intimate ceremonies with a sophisticated touch. The venue is perfect for intimate weddings or civil ceremonies of up to 30 guests. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room just some of the special touches we offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Blue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.