We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Big Blue Hotel to your Saves list
Big Blue Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clifton Drive/Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed overnight in a family room and the separate part for kids with tv's at end of the bunk beds was a great idea. Breakfast was excellent. We woke up to no lights working, this was fixed within 5 mins of ringing reception. Only down side was no plug for my straightners by the mirror. Lovely quiet stay. Excellent choice for visiting the pleasure beach

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    526
    148
    68
    29
See reviews for
703
523
25
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with work for 1 night. Lovely lovely hotel and the food is OUT OF THIS WORLD!!! Beef shoulder melts in your mouth... Yum
The staff were so friendly and helpful and could not do enough for you.
We arrived early to quickly popped for a ride on the Big Dipper! So much fun and got a free pass from reception when we asked how to get to the park...What a lovely treat :)
Can't wait to bring my family back, shame its a 4 hours drive for me :(

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had booked a few weeks ago and even the sub zero temperatures outside could not stop us heading off to Blackpool. The room had cost us £103 which seemed on the expensive side but this was a well deserved treat so I had decided to push to boat out.

Upon arival we were told that we had received a free upgrade to a "Deluxe" double room, which was immaculate and had a desk as well as a sofa. We were a little dissapointed that the double bed was a only a small double, and the room was like an ice box. We hastily unpacked and I tried in vain to get the radiator to warm up. I telephoned reception who immediateley sent the duty manager up to sort things out, after scrambling around under the desk (they had built the desk over the top of the radiator controls). He announced he had fixed it and headed off to get us a fan heater in order to get us warmed up quicker. Some fifteen minutes later we were still frozen solid, with no sign of the radiator working and no fan heater, we decided to seek warmth in the hotel bar and told the receptionist that our room was still freezing. After a drink we were met by the duty manager who told us he had fixed the thermostate and that the room would soon warm up. The bar area was also freezing and several guests were rubbing their arms and sitting in coats. Was all the hotel's hearting faulty ? :-(

When we returned to the room it had finally warmed up, but it was now 6.30pm and we had checked in at 3.00pm !!!! We got under the duvet then headed off for our shower which thankfully was piping hot. We went back down to the bar and were given a complimentary drink each to make up for the lack of heating. The hotel phoned us a taxi and we headed off to sample Blackpool's unique nightlife.

Several hours and drinks later we jumped in a taxi and returned to rthe hotel, it is a long way out and our various taxis came in at around £10 each. We had a great nights sleep and our room remained warm throughout the night. In our opninion the hotel is over priced, our room was small and we had to walk a long way from the lift down a maze of corridoors. Would we return, probably not, as already stated it is 3 miles to the centre and in sub zero conditions we could not stand to walk more than a few yards. The staff were all very polite and helpfull, but in my opinion it is not value for money at over £100 a night and we found the drinks in the bar rather expensive as mentioned in previous reviews. All in all a fantastic break, but that was mainly down to sitting upstairs in Wetherspoons watching all the goings on outside !!!!

Room Tip: ASk for a room near the main lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is the second year in a row we've come for a winter weekend break to this fab blue family hotel. The staff are welcoming, the rooms clean and inviting and the breakfast's delicious.

Having two children (3 and 5) we opt for the Superior Family Room where the kids bunks are offset away from the main bedroom giving mum and dad some welcome privacy at bedtime. (Watch out 6ft fella's - the main beds are not over long and my Hubby's legs stuck out over the end.)

This is not a £35 a night motel - its a 4 star family hotel. We pay on average £120 a night for a room for four including Breakfast in March. It's attached to the Pleasure Beach .... it's cheaper to buy them from reception once you're here than to include them in your hotel package.

The location is well down on South Beach - it's about a 20 min walk (with kids) on the Promenade or Beach to the Sandcastle Indoor Water Park (see separate review) and apart from that there's not much this far out but this does mean it's not noisy at night.

If you've got kids it will definitely be bus or tram up to the Tower and the Town Centre!

I love the Big Blue Hotel. When I travel with my kids I have standards and want somewhere I KNOW will be decent. Hubby wanted somewhere cheaper ... he's a spit and sawdust on the bar floor sort of guy ... but I won't compromise and I think he's secretly glad I didn't.

So, it is my pleasure to recommend the Big Blue Hotel!

Oh and watch out for when the tide comes in ... you can get cut off without really trying!

Have a nice holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great hotel, stayed for three nights, excellent location next to Pleasure Beach. Stayed in a family room, which had a magnetic snakes & ladder type board game on the kids section of the room, kept them occupied! Room spacious, clean and comfortable. The bed was huge. Facilities excellent - tea/coffee & biscuits, iron & board, hairdryer, tv & dvd player, lovely little bottles of toiletries. Breakfast was outstanding with everything on offer to please and plenty of it. We had evening meal one evening at the hotel, it was a bit pricey, however the food was amazing. Staff very friendly and helpful. Enough parking spaces. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed here with some friends back in February for the weekend, it wasnt what i expected, but was still great! Wasn't far from the 'nightlife'. Cleanliness was fab and so was the service. i would recommend this hotel and would more than likely re-visit! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Having holidaying in blackpool when I was a kid we decided to book this hotel following numerous b&b's stays in the past, I am glad I did. The price is average for that quality of hotel with a free breakfast (which is amazing). The room was very nice and clean and everything was as it should be. The room has a double bed and also a set of bunk beds. Being beside the pleasure beach is great but there is not really much else around the area of interest. The hotel car park was always busy but we always got a space.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Address: Clifton Drive/Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK’s only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. The hotel is also fully licensed for weddings, and the contemporary Blues Bar & Brasserie offers a stylish setting for intimate ceremonies with a sophisticated touch. The venue is perfect for intimate weddings or civil ceremonies of up to 30 guests. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room just some of the special touches we offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Blue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.