We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Big Blue Hotel to your Saves list
Big Blue Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clifton Drive/Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

we got a great deal which included 3 course dinner. the dinner and breakfast were both lovely, had a great rollercoaster view from our room, rooms were fantastic and a great location

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    526
    148
    68
    29
See reviews for
703
523
25
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Myself and my Husband stayed at The Big Blue for one night in a Deluxe double DBB with views overlloking the pleasure beach. We arrived at 10.15 in the morning, and although it was too early to check in, i was informed that my room would be available at 2pm. We were able to leave our car in the private car park and we got wrist bands from reception for the online price that the pleasure beach are charging but without having to queue, we booked our table for dinner for 8pm and then headed off out for the day.
We arrived back to the hotel for around 2.30 and our room was ready. The room was warm, cosy and had really nice decor, with french doors opening for you to watch people on the rides outside. I was a little worried about hearing the rollercoasters whilst in the room but once the door is shut you can't hear a thing. There was a fire in the room that you can turn on and off for heat and a small lcd tv and a dvd player, and the bathroom was very clean, modern and warm, with plenty of white soft towels and as for the bed well that was just amazing.
The meal in the restaraunt was very nice and not too badly priced and that goes for the drinks too. We had booked DBB so our meal was included in the price. Now you get a choice of either a 3 course meal from the chef's menu for what you have paid or you can choose a meal from the main menu and you have 22.00 to spend each and then you pay for any extra amount over that. The staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for you and made sure your glasses were topped up etc.
We chose to have our breakfast delivered to our room the next morning, so we filled out the menu we wanted and what time and hung it on the door to be collected before 2am. Now this is extra cost of 5.00 but is well worth it for the relax. The breakfast again was excellent and there was plenty of it too.
This is a very nice, clean, well maintained hotel with excellent staff and services and i will be going back again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2nights last weekend and it was brill. The outlook of the hotel is very fitting and pleasant and the reception and communal areas are very welcoming and tastefully decorated. Our room was big and had a lovely large city bed, there was also bunk beds with teles next to them for kids and we thought the snakes and ladders giant game was a nice touch. The room was very clean and the pepsi max was literally outside our bedroom window. The hotel is located at south shore therefore right on top of pleasure beach but at the opposite end of where the bars and restaurants are. The staff are lovely but we felt that they could have been more accommodating with room service when the meals are over priced to start with that's expected in hotels but then another £5 to bring it to the room we thought was ridiculous we offered to go and collect it ourselves from downstairs and were told we couldn't. We ended up going out for half the price and the hotel lost the cost of 2 meals for the sake of a service charge. We thought it was Good they have a DVD rental service but £4 plus £10 deposit for 1 DVD overnight is a tad excessive we felt, if it was £2 plus £5 deposit they would get more take up. We thought the brekkies were superb beautiful food and couldn't fault anything about it except that the dining area does not suit the size of the hotel and therefore there were lots of people who had to queue and then sit and wait to be called when a table was free. We seen Tracey Barlow and Steve macdonald with little Amy and the crew of corrie so watch out for a runaway to Blackpool storyline - u heard it here 1st. Finally 1 little recommendation would be to give parking information prior to arrival or even upon arrival no1 told us codes were needed to leave the car park or where we should park etc the code could be given along with a wifi code upon arrival. All in all outstanding weekend we will defo return xxxxxxx

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

It was great to stay in accommodation that really delivered on its promises and other peoples reviews.
We ate in the hotel in the evening, the food and service were very good.
Breakfast was fresh with a huge choice.
Blackpool seems to be a huge refurb site at the moment, the work being carried can only be beneficial to the resort.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Just returned from a weekend away with my husband and 2 girls, had a great time. The hotel was lovely well worth its 4*. The breakfast was plenty with alot of choice. We ate at the hotel one evining and the food was really tasty. The hotel is perfect for the pleasure beach could not be closer and just a little walk to sand castle waterpark. However blackpool tower is at the other end ,but even my 6 and 8 yr old managed the walk there and back. When we return to blackpool we will be staying at the big blue hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Big Blue for one night only on the 7th March.We were in Blackpool for a football match (Blackpool v Chelsea ) and decided to stay overnight! The Big Blue had been recommended to us by trusted friends! We booked via hotels .com and got a tremendous deal!
The hotel is situated at the South (furthest from the tower) end of the pleasure beach,the rear of the hotel does indeed overlook the Pleasure beach! We were given a room on the front which would be called a side sea view were we abroad! Unfortunately,the view from the room was of a large closed down hotel across the road,but as we were only there for the football,it really didn't matter.The room was very well appointed ,spotlessly clean with a nice bathroom with lovely 'fluffy' towels ,French toiletries and a nice powerful shower.We were in a De luxe room,but could have booked a Superior room for only £20 extra ,we didn't need Superior for overnight! The room that we were in had two bunk beds in a seperate area ,both with their own plasma tv,a nice touch for families although of no use to us!
The reception staff were excellent,very helpful, advising us on taxis,buses etc (the trams are not working at the moment as the sea front is undergoing a major re-furb).We decided to walk to the football ground (1 mile away) and they told us the best and safest route to take.Check in and check out were very fast and efficient,top marks to reception.
We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant ,but the menu looked very appetising and nice smells were emanating from the Restaurant.We did however have Breakfast the next morning ,which was served buffet style.The food was hot,plentiful and the staff were very welcoming and efficient! The only gripe that we had was that we found our room to be rather noisy first thing in the morning ,as the contracters vehicles were heading for the Golden mile and Pleasure Beach,also we did find the room and hotel in general a little cold! But nothing that couldn't be taken care of easily and at the price that we paid,we certainly can't complain!
So in summary,a really nice hotel,some would find the location too far out of town,others,who want the Pleasure beach,would find it ideal! would I go back? Absolutely!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the north
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Stayed here for a weekend in breezy February, very handy for taking the kids to the Pleasure Beach which is right next door. This hotel exceeded my expectations (well this is Blackpool) in that it was friendly, modern and clean and the family room we were given was huge and very well appointed (kids bunks in a separate annexe! - peace). The restaurant food was excellent and the bar/restaurant area was really nice and relaxing. Best of all though were the staff who were very friendly and particularly in the restaurant exceptionally courteous, efficient and well trained - they made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble or fuss. Breakfast was really crowded but they coped very well and made sure everyone was catered for very skilfully - a good team. We came away feeling like we'd had a proper break - and while its not the cheapest stay in Blackpool you do get value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Address: Clifton Drive/Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK’s only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. The hotel is also fully licensed for weddings, and the contemporary Blues Bar & Brasserie offers a stylish setting for intimate ceremonies with a sophisticated touch. The venue is perfect for intimate weddings or civil ceremonies of up to 30 guests. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room just some of the special touches we offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Blue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.