We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse Hotel Stay Ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rockcliffe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rockcliffe Hotel to your Saves list
Rockcliffe Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   248 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #380 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worse Hotel Stay Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Stayed at the rockcliffe hotel from the 22nd to 25th October 2010

The Hotel was clean but that is the only positive comment i can post

When we arrived at the Rockcliffe there was no hows your journey or welcome greet it was more money!

The first night there was no heating until 11 o'clock pm
we heard that we had stressed them because we asked for them to sort it

Breakfast, there was one only person serving forgot coffee,toast waited 25 mins before they took order they had taken other orders before ours the services was not good at all

also i am now surfing the net looking for a new passenger wing mirror as the owner snapped it by pushing it back(they dont push back because they are electric)he didnt even ask!

So all in all i am really sorry to say i will not be staying there again and as i know alot of people in the b&b and hotel industery i will advice them to stay clear.

The hotel is over priced and is costing me an extra £80 for my mirror.

So Cheers Rockcliffe!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
Thank you for letting us know we have a clean hotel. This is our number one priority. As is Customer satisfaction and making sure we give all our guests the best service and making sure their stay is a pleasant and enjoyable experience.
I cannot believe we were not courteous on your welcome, as we have a "Welcome to Excellence" qualification and part of our training is to always give a warm and courteous welcome to all our guests. Money is not our number one priority on arrival, your first experience of our Hotel is the most important factor of your stay with us.
We make sure that all our efforts will be made to cater for your needs.
On your first night, the temperature in the Hotel was 22.5 degrees C. Therefore the thermostat to the bedrooms would of triggered off. No one else in the Hotel even wanted the heating on as it was so warm, and uncomfortable, you were the only four sat in our bar with coats on???? We were not stressed about it, as it was a simple case of moving the temperature gauge on the thermostat.
Sorry about your wait at breakfast time, but we did have a series of illnesses with staff over your weekend, which is unfortunately not under our control. There is usually a wait at breakfast as every meal is freshly prepared and cooked separately, we do not pre-plate meals as other hotels do.
As for the wing mirror, after I moved it back, you did comment and told me that it was broken, and was held back with a screw, and you apologised that you had forgot to tell me. Electric mirrors as you say all are capable of being pushed back.
How you can say our Hotel is over priced? We have never increased our prices in over 5 years. You paid £40pppn for a Luxury Sea View room, including a large 9 item full English breakfast, choice of starters, Pancakes & Maple Syrup to follow. You also added a child in your double room and brought your own cot, and we knew nothing of this? We did not charge extra for this child. You paid £35pppn for a Sea View Double Room with the same breakfast also? I would say our prices are not over priced as you put it.
We are sorry you have had to pay £80 for a mirror, but we think it was necessary anyway as it was already broken before you arrived at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    25
    10
    5
    13
See reviews for
54
56
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

This is one place i would certainly recommend to my friends, Peter n Fiona were very helpful, when asked for anything, they even went out of their way to get our tea for us from the local chippy, not many people would have done that, rooms were tidied everyday, tea, coffee etc in rooms were replenished everyday, location was perfect for us, no noise, quiet and peaceful, that is until Peter gets on the Karaoke (only Kidding), we will be booking again in the future, cheers Peter n Fiona, we had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Hi Stormin85, thanks for any recommendations, please pass on to your friends and family your recommendations of our hotel.
We Appreciate your comments on us being very helpful, it looks like our "Welcome to Excellence" quilification has helped us to improve our standards? We really look forward to meeting you both again, hopefully very soon? Pete & Fiona & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Have returned from a very pleasant stay at the Rockcliffe Hotel in Blackpool. Both owners and their staff were very helpful with anything we wanted to know. Breakfast was excellent and the room , although on the small side , was very comfortable and clean. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
Hi Auntie21 from Cheltenham. Really pleased you had a pleasant stay with us. Thanks for the comments on our helpfulness, we appriate you telling us this. I can never understand why we get comments of our rooms being small as the smallest we have is 14 foot by 12 foot in size, we believe this to be ample size for a double room? Don't know where you have stayed before that could be much larger than this?
We do have many larger rooms available, on your next visit which we look forward too very much, please ask us to put you in a larger room. That is if it is available, book early. Best regards Pete & Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We were accused of using drugs and the night before we left my partner asked how was we to get my wheel chair out cause there were so many cars and the owner said he would help my partner over the wall with it we do not do drugs i have enough medication to take for my medical problems i go into hospital next wednesday i just wanted a break they were really nice when we first got there i was so upset on the friday night i cried cause i wanted to come home

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2011
Please Note, We do not accuse any of our guests of taking drugs, unless we have sufficient evidence. A member of staff, who was cleaning your room, whilst you were both in the room, brought it to our attention. Without going into too much detail, there was a genuine reason for suspicion.
As for the wheelchair and parked cars, we always leave enough room for access for prams, suitcases etc. If you were Struggling, I did offer my services as you suggested to carry the wheelchair from the Hotel to the footpath.
Your stay was for 5 nights, the incident of drugs however happened on the morning of your second day, and nothing more was said about it, I am confused that you say you cried on the night before departing from the hotel?
We were not very pleased to find out after you left that whilst you were both standing at our Hotel front door smoking and drinking Tea, you were both telling potential guests not to stay at our hotel. This is a very unfair comment, because apart from the two incidents you mentioned in your review we were excellent hosts on your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

This was our first time and all being well the first of many times.
We arrived and our first thoughts were a bit small from the outside but let me tell you never judge a book by it's cover !! Was brilliant from start to finish the owners Peter and Fiona made us feel welcome from the very start then we met their staff Deano & Julie who also coudn't do enough for you.
Most of the time we made our own room up but still everyday it was checked and hoovered if required, clean towels whenever was need you could not fault the whole experience apart from the weather which no one had control ever.
Many thanks again HOPE TO SEE YOU AGAIN SOON !!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
Hi Chris and Steve. Nice comments thanks. Yes we do kind of look small from the outside, but when you get inside we are like Dr Whos Tardis. Also we all have BIG hearts.
We know you both love reading our Managers comments on TripAdvisor, it was one of the reasons you both booked with us. Sorry for the delay in writing this, we have been so busy throughout October. We are now looking forward to a well earned rest at the end of the season.
We really HOPE TO SEE YOU BOTH AGAIN SOON ALSO.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010 via mobile

Warm and friendly hosts, made our stay enjoyable, rooms were clean and the breakfast - fab.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
Hi WillyHarris1, thanks for your straight to the point comment, yes we are friendly, and we work very hard to keep our rooms at a high clean standard, it is not easy, and when you get commnets like this it makes it all worthwile.
We really hope the next time you are in Blackpool that you will choose us again. Best regards Fiona & Pete (the fab2)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenage
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Please be aware when booking this hotel there are few things that they do not tell you on there website.
they say parking is on a first come first served basis which is not true we were parked at the front of the hotel with enough space behind us to park another car but were requested to put our car to the rear of the building. we were also asked to leave our keys at the hotel in case they need to move your car, if you don't leave your key and they need to move your car they will charge you £40.00 for the privilage. When we took ocupancy of our room we could not find the remote for the tv it had fallen behind a cabinet so the room had not been checked prior to our arrival. Please do ask for extra condiments as they will charge you 50p for six pots of milk, please do not ask for a cup of tea in the bar area they do not suppl thaty either.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
Parking is a first come first served basis, and we try to get 6 cars on the front of the hotel and 1 car at the rear of the hotel. The reason why your car was moved to the rear is because you had a very large vehicle, which if we left it on the front would of made us unable to park 6 on the front.
But we did allow you to park on the hotel carpark at the rear, and therefore we did supply you with free parking as promised.

We always request you leave your car keys with us in case we need to let someone out in an emergency, and this has happened on numurous occasions. We do NOT charge £40 if you refuse to give us your car keys and we have to move it. If you refuse to hand in your car keys, we just refuse to allow you to park your car on our car park and would recommend you park elsewhere. It's as simple as that.

Remote controls do go missing on numerous occasions, but after the chamber staff have completed a room, a member of staff ALWAYS checks the room again before arrival, but there are so many things to check, a remote control could easily be missed, when you reported it missing we resolved the matter straight away. However we also have many spares if required.

All bedrooms get a tidy everyday, Coffee, Tea, Sugar, milk are topped up daily. If you require further items we charge 50p. The tea coffee facilities in the rooms are a complementary service, and not to be used as a never ending FREE supply.

We do supply tea and coffee in the bar/sunlounge area throughout the day from 10:00 to
18:00. Your request was not within those hours. However we did say you were welcome to bring your own supply from your room into the bar area for FREE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rockcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockcliffe Hotel

Address: 248 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #380 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rockcliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2011 Awarded Top of the VISIT BRITAIN 3* guest accommodation rating system for EXCELLENCE in Cleanliness, Hospitality & Food. We are a private licensed hotel, situated in a prime location on Blackpool North Promenade, overlooking the Irish Sea. The hotel is situated just a few minutes walk away from the Blackpool Tower, Winter Gardens, theaters and shopping center. All bedrooms en-suite, many with Sea View & also Luxury Sea View room available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rockcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockcliffe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.