We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alan & Beryl” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rockcliffe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rockcliffe Hotel to your Saves list
Rockcliffe Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   248 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #364 of 910 Blackpool B&B and Inns
uk
1 review
“Alan & Beryl”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Upon arrival we were met with a very warm & sincere welcome,we also found the location of the hotel was excelently situated for all the attraction's & need's with out the need to use our car.Pete & Fiona were excelent host's with nothing to big or to small when ever we requested help.The service at breakfast again was excelent, well presented, & very tastey,the waitress was very efficient hence we did not wait to long to be served.We will definatley be staying there again.Bravo to all at the hotel, many thanks Alan & Beryl.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thanks Alan & Beryl for these kind comments of our accommodation. We enjoyed having yourselves and your family with us. We look forward to meeting you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    28
    10
    5
    13
See reviews for
54
61
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I found this hotel by chance on the internet and booked a 5 night stay. From start to finish the staff were friendly helpfull and could'nt do enough to help, they all truely made our stay as much like home as possible. I found the hotel to be very clean with excellent facilities and the breakfast was second to none, it is situated in a great position near the north pier which makes it close enough for fun but quiet enough for a good nights sleep and is excellent for families.I would reccomend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in blackpool as i will not be staying anywhere else from now on. Just like to thank Pete, Fiona and Roseanne for a wonderfull stay you truely are wonderfull welcoming people with a lovely home and we will see you again soon, Adele, Megan and Dylan from Oldham.

Room Tip: The sea veiw is a great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Many thanks Adele, Megan and Dylan from Oldham for taking the time to write this review.
We are all so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, as we enjoyed your company also.
Thank you for the praise of cleanliness, and quality of breakfast. These are one of the many areas we take great pride in achieving. We look forward to your next visit with us. Fiona, Pete, & Roseann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

In the nicer and quiet part of Blackpool and right on the front overlooking the sea we stayed for two nights whilst visiting the Open Golf. An extremely clean hotel. The bedroom was not particularly attractive but just of adequate size, the furniture utilitarian, the shower and bathroom OK. Unfortunately the bed seemed old and not of good quality and was very uncomfortable. The pillow was lumpy. The bedroom was susceptible to all external noises but no internal ones. Breakfast offered little choice but was perfectly adequate (the bacon was excellent). There is car parking for four cars and public parking around the corner but on our second night having arrived back late we had to park in a side street about half a mile away. The owners are pleasant and helpful. The prices were reasonable. The main 'amusement' area of Blackpool is a ten minute walk away to the South whilst to the North there is a delightful seaside promenade. Excellent location for wallking, trams and sea air and free of the clutter of the amusements and disgraceful stag and hen antics in the town itself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
We are situated in Blackpool North; only minutes walk away from the town centre. Thank you for your comment that our accommodation is extremely clean, this is one of the many areas that we strive in, our staff do an excellent job, and we double check all rooms before they are occupied. We are very surprised about your comfort of the bed and pillow, as the room you were in has a mattress that is no older than twelve months, and the pillows are bounce-back and very comfortable, we have had many praises of the quality.
The room has fairly new double-glazing and external noises are very minimal, unless you slept with the windows open? As the weekend was extremely warm.
We have parking for four cars at the front and two at the rear, but as it was the Open Golf weekend we were fully occupied, and most arrived by car. There are three car parks with-in 100m of the Rockcliffe, but these were full as well. Sorry you had to park a distance away. I even moved my own car to a side street to allow guests for further parking.
Our breakfast we believe has a very wide choice for a three star accommodation, wide choice of cereals, Grapefruit segments, Fruit Juice, Nine item full English breakfast made with fresh produce, also a choice of Scrambled egg, Pouched egg, Beans on toast, Pancakes and Maple Syrup.
Thank you for commenting that we were pleasant and helpful, and our prices were reasonable.
We agree that we are well situated, and very near to the shops, bars, restaurants, and amusement area, but yet lovely and quiet when you return.
We hope to see you all again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

After arriving a day late due to a problem with our car we easily found the hotel as in the directions from Pete and Fiona's confirmation e mail to us. We were asked if we needed a hand with our luggage after we had parked the car in the hotel car park. In some hotels the carpet tends to look well trodden but it seemed as if the hall, stairs and landing carpet was new and gave a good impression of the hotel entrance. Our room (room 2) was quite small but the bed was very comfortable and thoughtfully presented with prettily folded towels and runner. The wardrobe space was ample and the there was a wall mounted tv with free view. Welcome touches were the hairdryer,tongs and clock radio provided and in the bathroom we found complimentary shampoo,conditioner and showergel dispensers, also hand soap for the basin and cotton wool buds and balls . We were pleased to note that the hotel had a "hot spot" for our lap top . Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice of cereal, grapefruit and fruit juice and an excellent "full English". The owners and staff were very pleasant and we would not hesitate in recommending this hotel . Maureen and Ray Wenham.

Room Tip: ask about room size if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you Maureen and Ray for taking the time to write this review of the Rockcliffe.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in room 2. The hall stairs and landing carpet was only fitted early this year, and we are very proud of it. Many thanks for the praise of our breakfast choice, our Full English choice of nine items is very popular with all out guests. We hope to see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel at Easter 2011 and are just looking to book again. Staff were obliging and polite and even commented on how well behaved our kids were which is lovely for any parent to hear. Lovely and clean and breakfast was amazing
Looking forward to our next stay :)
Mary-Claire and George Telford and 3 well behaved kids

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Many thanks Mary-Claire, George and children for this gleaming review of our Hotel.
We look forward to seeing you all again in 2012. Fiona, Pete and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The owners were very nice and helpful ... I told them in advance that I had a dietary req and they found me a breakfast item to suit, which was much appreciated and when we checked out they looked after our bags before we got a train in the evening. I am sure they would go out of their way to help any guest with anything - which you don't get everywhere!

The actual hotel is a bit tired ... Our bathroom was from the 1970's and the shower was too hot (temp dial broken also) and had a weak flow. The bedroom curtains were white so we were awake early due to being too light. The view from the room was lovely. As a whole I would say the stay was nice but if I was to go go Blackpool again I would look for a different hotel for the above reasons.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Many thanks SS from London for your review. You did tell us that you had a dietary requirement when you booked, we always try our very best to please all our guests with any requirements they may have. When guests want to leave their baggage, and have late trains or other means of transport on departure day, we always oblige.

The hotel is under improvement at all times, we have spent a lot over the years with decorating, bedding and quantity of mattresses, we have changed a lot of furniture this year, and fitted a new hall stairs and landing carpet, and many of the bedrooms have had new carpets fitted.

Thank you for letting us know about the cream lined curtains, no one has brought this to our attention before, and we will now get them replaced.

The shower in the room you stayed in and all showers in the hotel are very powerful, many guests have praised us on the quality and pressure of the water flow, on inspection of the shower it had a faulty temperature dial knob, which we always carry spares, it was replaced in less than a minute. What a shame you did not bring it to our attention on your stay, we could of replaced it instantly, and therefore you would have had a really strong and powerful shower.

We are pleased to hear your stay was nice, and you appreciated our hospitality and services.

Please do not be put off staying with us again, as we are improving the quality of our accommodation at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had a really nice weekend in Blackpool . the Rockcliffe is a really hotel and the breakfast is the best ever. The owners are really nice and made us very welcome. We would recommend this Hotel.
Bill & Bev McDowall

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Many thanks Bill and Bev for writing this review. We are pleased you enjoyed our breakfast, our nine item full English breakfast, and variety of choice is very popular with all our guests. Thank you for recommending our Hotel. We look forward to meeting you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rockcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockcliffe Hotel

Address: 248 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #364 of 910 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rockcliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2011 Awarded Top of the VISIT BRITAIN 3* guest accommodation rating system for EXCELLENCE in Cleanliness, Hospitality & Food. We are a private licensed hotel, situated in a prime location on Blackpool North Promenade, overlooking the Irish Sea. The hotel is situated just a few minutes walk away from the Blackpool Tower, Winter Gardens, theaters and shopping center. All bedrooms en-suite, many with Sea View & also Luxury Sea View room available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rockcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockcliffe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.