We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay At The Rockcliffe Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rockcliffe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rockcliffe Hotel to your Saves list
Rockcliffe Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   248 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #381 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Our Stay At The Rockcliffe Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We have just arrived home from a stay with Pete and Fiona at the Rockcliffe, had a great time the accomodation was ace, good facilities, clean room, clean bathroom. Hotel bar and lounge wide variety of drinks and the kareoke was a brill night got all the guest together and the hosts joined in with everyone. Great Stay, Cant wait to go again. Thanks Pete and Fiona.

Room Tip: You can choose from a sea view or a back room the choice is yours as long as availability is there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Thanks Diane and your friends for this gleaming review of our establishment. We really enjoyed your company, especially the Karaoke, we have recently purchased the Cordless Microphone, and have found it a great success in being able to do "Round-Robins" and get everyone involved in singing, not that you all needed any encouragment? thanks to all for making our two mid week Karaoke nights a great success. Look forward to seeing you all again next year, when we will do it all over again. Pete, Fiona & Staff xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    25
    10
    5
    13
See reviews for
54
56
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

stayed sept this being our second visit to hotel on arrival we were met by peter and fiona whom we found very friendly as were the rest of the staff our room was excellent spotlessly clean with a lovely comfortable double bed breakfast was excellent with good service from the staff car parking was no problem parked in the hotel car park would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: rooms on first floor best for older people
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Thanks Pauline from Sunderland for taking the time to write this glowing report of our Hotel. It was nice to see you both again. Thanks for saying there was no problem with parking your car. As most of our complaints stems from either not being able to park, or can't freely come and go in their cars once parked. We are one of very few accommodations in Blackpool that provide parking at all.
We very much look forward to your next visit at the Rockcliffe. Fiona, Pete & Staff xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

12th sep-15th sept
me and my husband stayed at this hotel and found it very friendly and clean the breakfast was a full monty the service was excellent we had no problem with parking the hotel location is excellent we found the bedroom very comfortable and would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again got nothing bad to say about this hotel only GOOD

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thanks RoseMarie and partner for taking the time to write this wonderful review, it is very much appreciated. The Full Monty breakfast we call "The Max" consists of Egg, bacon, sausage, black pudding or Haggis, fried bread, hash brown, beans, mushrooms and tomato. It is a big success for us, we have been cooking that now for six seasons, and many guests have returned time and time again for the breakfast and our hospitality service and cleanliness.
We look forward to seeing you both again soon. Thank You both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for one evening and had a great time. The owners were very friendly and welcoming and found them to be very accomodating. Although check in time was 2pm, we arrived early at 11am and found we could check in straight away. We arrived in our room which was clean and comfortable. There were tea and coffee making facilitlies, shower gel, soap, shampoo, conditioner and a great sea view from the room. We spent some time in the bar and joined in the karaoke which was great fun. Unfortunately having just come back from Egypt, I wasn't feeling well! and ended the night early. However, if I was feeling Ok, we would have certainly remained in the hotel bar. We went down for breakfast in the morning late (I got the times mixed up) however the staff still made us bacon on toast and provided coffee and orange juice. Overall, I found the service to be excellent, the rooms clean and comfortable and would recommend staying at this hotel. We had no issues with parking. When we return to Blackpool, myself and partner will definately be staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thanks Sarah from Wigan for this glowing review. You were both a lovely couple. Sorry that you were not feeling very well from your Egypt trip, however we did have a great Karaoke night at the weekend, the atmosphere was like a New Years Eve. Look out for the Rockcliffe Hotel soon to appear on Channel 4 Prime time with their Karaoke Nights. We look forward to your next stay with us, and keep up the singing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

me and my grandaughter love going to the rockcliffe hotel its friendly and clean they made a fuss with my 5 yr old grandaughter breckfast is realy nice made time to make my grandaughter a ommlette with a smilley face witch she loved and the way she likes it and when they had the karookee on they included my grandaughter chloe having a go iv been going ther for the last 4 and a halve yrs and they alway make you feel welcome im going back in october then next august if not befor

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Many thanks Linda for your very kind review. Chloe is a lovely child, and we really enjoyed having her around. Pleased she enjoyed her Omlette with the tomato smiley face. We always take the time out to please our guests. Look forward to your next visit in October. We are booking up very fast for the last month of the illuminations. Don't forget the World Championship Fireworks display is on every Friday in September, if you would like to return then. This is on every year in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

28th Augest - 4th september.
This must be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. On arrival we were ushured into the bar and requested by the person who greeted us to wait there whilst he finished his phone call,
He said he would be five minutes. About fifteen minutes later a female appeared and gave us our room key. The Room was just about big enough for four if you stood side ways tyo get past the Z ' bed. Beds were hard as a rock but the sheets were clean. Carpet and upholstery on chairs-very dirty. Bathroom - a disgrace. Breakfast was adequate. One packet of biscuits was provided on the day of arrival only - there are three biscuits in a packet, we shared them between the four of us!!. The hotel is vastly overpriced - would i recommend it to anyone - NO! Would i stay there again - MOST DEFINITELY NO!
The only redeeming factor was the view from the bedroom window!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
There are many times when guests arrive that we are busy on the phone taking bookings or enquiries, we are only a small 16 bedroom family run hotel, we are not large enough to employ a full time receptionist. Sorry about your wait, but I do not believe it was 15 minutes; a booking does not take that long to take. Fiona gave you your keys, with the intentions you would pop down later on Sunday to check-in, you checked in on Tuesday, 2 days later.
At the time of booking you selected that Sea View room, you knew it was meant to be for a family of 3 only, because it only has one double and one single bed, we explain that to fit a second child a guest bed would have to be put up in the room, it was obvious that this would make the room smaller to move around, but it is a very large Sea View Family room.
Everyone who has slept in that room has praised us on the comfort of the beds and that they always get a good nights sleep. I suppose our mattresses will not please everyone as we all have different ones back at home.
Sorry about the chairs we did know about them, they were there from the previous owners, we have an order in for replacement of all the bedrooms and Bar area chairs costing us over two thousand pounds. Unfortunately you will not be around to see them. The bathroom is not a disgrace it was ranked four star by the visit Britain assessor in March this year.
The biscuits in the room are just a gesture of thank you from the hotel on arrival, it was not meant to be a feast for the family with your brew, but point taken, if it upsetting then we will put two in all family rooms.
What I can't understand is on Tuesday two days into your stay you were asked "Is everything OK with your room, and is everything working alright" to which you replied "yes, everything is fine" If you all would of brought matters to our attention on your second day, we would of moved you all to a much larger Family room we have with two double and one single bed, as it was available for your weeks stay at this point.
One other point you never made any effort to get to know us, you all avoided the bar, even though we had entertainment on at the weekend. We hardly ever saw you all, you had the same breakfast every morning, which was only a few items on your plate, so you could of got more for your money, you just never made full use of the facilities the hotel has to offer during your stay with us. I do not believe we are the worst hotel you have ever stayed in, believe me there are a lot worse, I know because I have stayed in them. We always said we would never give anyone less than what we would expect our selves, and believe me we are very fussy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

What sets the Rockcliffe apart from the rest of the hotels in Blackpool is the people who run it. Nothing is too much trouble, from the breackfast service in the morning right through the day to the Karaoke in the evening they are there to make your stay the best it can be.

I know next time I decide to stay in Blackpool I dont have to look for somewhere to stay I will be booking at the Rockcliffe again - enough said

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fyn0tf1, Owner at Rockcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thanks Merlin for your very kind review, it is very strange we seem to get reviews from one extreme to the other, which I suppose proves we cannot be that bad, we do try very hard to please everyone, but it does not seem to get appreciated by all.
Thanks again Merlin, we really appriciate all reviews whether positive or negative, it keeps us on our feet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rockcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockcliffe Hotel

Address: 248 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #381 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rockcliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2011 Awarded Top of the VISIT BRITAIN 3* guest accommodation rating system for EXCELLENCE in Cleanliness, Hospitality & Food. We are a private licensed hotel, situated in a prime location on Blackpool North Promenade, overlooking the Irish Sea. The hotel is situated just a few minutes walk away from the Blackpool Tower, Winter Gardens, theaters and shopping center. All bedrooms en-suite, many with Sea View & also Luxury Sea View room available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rockcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockcliffe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.