We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel with friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   282 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EZ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We arrived in Blackpool quite late on in the evening so were just phoning up on spec for accommodation. We got a good price for our family room. The room was adequate, a double bed and 2 single beds which was ideal just for one night but a bit on the small side if you were staying any longer. The bathroom was the same. adequate for the one night but was in need of updating. We had a peaceful nights sleep and the beds were really comfy. The Breakfast was good and the staff were really friendly. We would go back again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshGaur, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out from your busy schedule to write a review about the BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel. I am delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay with us. It is honest feedback from discerning guests such as you that drives our team to provide the guests the best of our services at all times.

We are pleased to learn that your enjoyed our facilities and services and shall surely convey your kind words to the team.

I would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest and I am looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Warmest Regards

Ash Gaur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    264
    120
    42
    16
See reviews for
85
279
53
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Machynlleth, Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The Carlton is ideally situated minutes away from Blackpool North railway station. There is also a tram stop directly opposite the hotel.

I'm staying for 2 nights and checked in around 7pm. Although the on site restraunt stops serving at 9pm, they were more than happy for me to dine just after 9pm. They had a 2 course menu for £10.95 and a 3 course for £15.95. Garlic mushrooms to start and Sirloin Steak for main (for a £1 supplement) were fantastic! Service was second to none.

I had a night on the town and returnes at 5.30am. I didn't like the fact that I had to explain who I was and as there is no key entry after 11pm, it can make for an awkard drunken meeting with the night porter! At least you know you are safe and that only residents are allowed in after hours!

The single room was excellent. I'm in room 122. Although a little small, just the right size for 1 person. There is a step up to the bathroom though but they warm you about this upon check in. I had hot water issues while I was there and so dialled reception on 0 and this was rectified in no time!

All in all, excellent stay and highly reccomended.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshGaur, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out from your busy schedule to write a review about the BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel. I am delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay with us. It is honest feedback from discerning guests such as you that drives our team to provide the guests the best of our services at all times.

We are pleased to learn that your enjoyed our facilities and services and shall surely convey your kind words to the team.

I would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest and I am looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Warmest Regards

Ash Gaur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I booked here with friends based on the positive reviews, what a mistake that was !! My room had mould under the windows, water stains on ceiling, big stain on carpet, the sink had been glued back together, toilet was filthy and the shower filled up within seconds so you had to make it a really quick shower to avoid flooding the bathroom. I had a lovely noise from the generator outside which meant i had to try and sleep with what sounded like the bathroom fan had been left on. I go to Blackpool every year with friends for a long weekend and I won't be staying or recommending this hotel, I have to say that it has put me off Best Western Hotels in general. I honestly don't know how the staff aren't embarrassed when taking ur money knowing that ur going to be greeted by a mouldy room. I would go as far as to say that the company must be breaking the law for false advertising. Many will read this and think "it's 1 of those moaners that is never happy unless they are complaining". I promise u, I am usually happy if I have a bed and a clean bathroom as its just a base to sleep and wash. I don't expect 5 star facilities for the price of 3 star, but I do expect reasonable standards for the price I paid. I will put pictures on of what the rooms really look like, because its not quite the same as the brochure and u can decide for yourselves.

However....................the lift was nice and clean and location was good !!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed in a single room on floor 2 and there was damp both sides of the window. The room had been repainted quite recently but the wet wall was clearly visible through the paper/paint.

The room and the whole of the top floor corridor smelt of mould/damp.

Bedroom soundproofing also poor - I could clearly hear what was going on in the next room!

Stair carpets getting threadbare

Not enticing....

On the other hand, the staff were very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshGaur, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to post your feedback about your experience at the BEST WESTERN CARLTON HOTEL.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and to be of service to you. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the service standards at the hotel and you found the staff to be polite and helpful.

I am truly aware that some rooms are in need of modernisation, and I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that, plans are in place to refurbish the hotel next year.

I do hope that when you are next planning to visit the area, you will consider staying with us again.

Warmest Regards

Ash Gaur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Regular visitors to Blackpool as have family living here(see other Blackpool hotel reviews I've left).
Great hotel, lovely, friendly staff, comfortable room, fabulous sea view . Yes the room isn't the largest I've stayed in but it was more than adequate and by far the nicest hotel I've stayed in in Blackpool. Fabulous breakfast. I'm looking forward to my next visit in the summer months as the Indian Restaurant will be open!
The receptionist lady was lovely and very obliging when my daughter came to the hotel, thank you and see you soon.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshGaur, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out from your busy schedule to post a review about your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel. I am very happy to know that you had a comfortable stay with us.

I am pleased to learn that your enjoyed our facilities and services and shall surely convey your kind words to our staff that helped you and your family while you were at the BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel. We look forward to feedback from our guests that drives our team to provide the guests the best of our services at all times.

I would like to thank you once again for your valuable feedback and look forward to serving you and your family again in the near future.

Warmest Regards

Ash Gaur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We have just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Good value for money at quieter end of Blackpool.Very good breakfast was great with lots of choices. The room was good yes OK a bit hot but we had a great nights sleep. Good free parking and only a short walk from town centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshGaur, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to post your feedback about your experience at the BEST WESTERN CARLTON HOTEL.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and to be of service to you. I am happy to note that we were able to meet up to your expectations and you enjoyed the service levels at the hotel.

Thank you once again for your lovely feedback and your kinds words. Such comments from our valuable guests help us to serve our guest in a better way every time they visit our hotel.

I would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest and I am looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Regards

Ash Gaur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel

Address: 282 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be right beside the seaside! The Best Western Carlton Hotel enjoys a fantastic seafront location, overlooking the beautiful Fylde coast. Though you’ll enjoy the quiet setting of the Northern Promenade here, you’ll be just minutes from the centre of Blackpool and its many attractions. Built at the turn of the century, the Best Western Carlton Hotel boasts panoramic scenery across the Irish Sea, as well as a ‘front row’ view along 12 miles of sandy beaches and the famous Golden Mile! Be our guest in Blackpool. A leisurely stroll will take you to the town Centre and Winter Gardens, and Blackpool’s best bits are within easy reach! 1 mile from Blackpool Tower with 5 new attractions, 3 miles from The Pleasure Beach, 5 miles from Blackpool Airport, 1 mile from the Sea Life Centre, 2 miles from Madame Tussauds, 0 miles from The Beach! There are lots of shopping opportunities nearby in the city centre, and at Hound’s Hill Shopping Centre. Find out more about locations near the Best Western Carlton Hotel. Best Western Carlton Hotel at a glance. Whether you’re here with the family or spending time with that special someone, you can look forward to a warm Lancashire welcome! Our Values: Our aim is simple – we want to make sure your stay is as enjoyable, relaxing and memorable as possible. Our friendly staff will go out of their way to meet your every need, so for the warmest of welcomes, be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blackpool
Blackpool Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.