We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackpool Tramway

Blackpool Tramway
Rigby Road | Blackpool, Blackpool, England
+44 1253 37001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 137 things to do in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Blackpool has the oldest electric street tramway in the world with records dating back to 1884 when track plans were produced for an electric tramway that would connect North and South Shore. Blackpool Corporation paid for and maintained the infrastructure, whilst the Blackpool Electric Tramway Company, formed in January 1885 provided the electrical equipment, depot and tramcars. The tramway opened on the 29th September 1885. After the second world war, there was gradual consolidation and by 1962, the trams were confined to the 11 mile route from Starr Gate to Fleetwood which still operates today. The bus services expanded along with the town throughout the sixties, seventies and eighties. Since bus deregulation in 1986, the trams and buses have been operated by Blackpool Transport Services Ltd, a Blackpool Council Company. While the trams themselves are owned and run by Blackpool Transport, the tramway infrastructure is currently owned by Blackpool Council and leased to the Company, which pays an annual track rental fee for the privilege. The bus services suffered from local competition throughout the 1980s and early 90s, culminating in the purchase by Blackpool Transport of the former Lytham St Annes corporation services, which by 1993 were running as Blue Buses. The Blue Buses depot at Squires Gate was kept for several years until all operations were consolidated on one site at Rigby Road.
AYLESBURY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

although can sometimes get a little crowded, it was a great experience and one not to be missed, some of the trams were decorated for the lights , and best of all i could use my bus pass

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,485
    445
    152
    71
    63
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect way to travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Modern clean comfortable Trams, convenient way to travel to the various attractions located on the sea front. Frequent service at fair price.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Regular Running”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The tramways have really improved, its all very modern now. They run really regular (towards the tower) However, going back towards the Pleasure Beach they aren't as frequent it feels.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
103 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Only head northwards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A group of ten of us planning to see the Blackpool illuminations and get something to eat, started our journey in Lytham St Annes, using our day savers passes we travelled on a bus to Starr Gate (which is the southern terminus of the tramway). Once at Starr Gate we waited for the next tram once on we had a delightful trip to Bispham Station where we got off and headed off the something to eat. After our meal we started to walk back with the plan after little while to get back on the tram and return to Starr Gate but sadly after an hour and a half trying to get on we gave up with the tram.
It appeared trams were heading northward but only two trams headed south and was rammed pact as we had a four-year-old who had walked all the way we decided to look for an alternative means of getting back to Lytham St Annes. We headed into the town passing the lovely The Grand Theatre building and up towards the spectacular St Johns The Evangelist Church, where we got several taxis back to our hotel. I would like to say the conductors on the trams were friendly but was unable to give us any information on why the trams were not coming southwards.
I would still say this is the best way to see the illuminations but tram company need plan a bit better.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“treat yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a must in Blackpool, better still now we can use our bus passes on the trams as well as the buses. Take a trip to Cleveleys or Fleetwood, both are lovely.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackpool Tramway also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Blackpool Tramway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackpool Tramway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.