We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good team under an excellent manager” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Restaurant at Ribby Hall Village

The Restaurant at Ribby Hall Village
Ribby Road | Wrea Green, Blackpool PR4 2PR, England
01772671155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 591 Restaurants in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A good team under an excellent manager”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Eaten there twice as host of a large group. The food is not quite as good as in the hotel but the atmosphere is much less strained and I think that allows the food to be enjoyed more - see my latest comment for the Spa Hotel

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    19
    10
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good quality food, a little bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were staying at Ribby Hall at the beginning of the year and we went to the Restaurant for my eldest son's birthday.
We've eaten here before and have been impressed by both the quality of the food and the service.
This visit wasn't quite as good, however everyone enjoyed their meal and we managed to get everyone in the restaurant to join in when we sung happy birthday to him.
Well worth trying if you stay at Ribby Hall.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“With a little more attention to detail the place could be vastly improved.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a couple of fairly decent meals here during a Christmas stay in the cottages. The restaurant was under quite a lot of pressure during the festive period but they seemed to cope competently and cheerfully. The food was passable festive fayre with the odd glitch such as an extremely chewy pork loin and Yorkshire puddings which looked like they’d been cremated (the replacement was just as black as the one I sent back).
Although the restaurant has been refurbished since my last visit a few years back, the décor feels rather dated and the furniture has definitely seen better days. The tables are sticky and the chairs are stained and tatty.
The waiting staff are clearly experienced and efficient with one glaring exception: A rather glamorous but otherwise dreadful waitress who first of all dumped our bottle of red wine in an ice bucket and then couldn’t get us out of the restaurant fast enough as soon as we’d finished our last mouthful.
With a little more attention to detail the place could be vastly improved.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslingden, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Felt like we were guinee pigs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Me and 13 others attended for our Christmas party and there was not a cracker or christmas tune to be had. The food was ok yet the service was awful plates being cleared while others still eating pailing plates up at one end asking persons to pass the plates to waiting staff etc etc. It was obvious the staff had not ben trained and this was even pointed out by one of the staff when she droppeda knife and soup spoon on one of out party.
The maitre de was rude asking "cant you remember what you ordrered love" in a very patronsing way. Really spoilt the weekend and could not wait to leave very poor service and will not be going again for a celebration.

We was seeing if this could be a suitable wedding venue definietly not for us if they cant get a table of 14 right a wedding party have no hope.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Good food and good service. Costs very good, especially compared to nearby hotel. Very quiet when we visited which made a welcome change.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Ribby Hall Village also viewed

 

Been to The Restaurant at Ribby Hall Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restaurant at Ribby Hall Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.