We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay we have been going here for over 8 years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kirkstead Hotel

The Kirkstead Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Kirkstead Hotel to your Saves list
The Kirkstead Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   30 Bairstow Street, Blackpool FY1 5BN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #360 of 910 Blackpool B&B and Inns
South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay we have been going here for over 8 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

jack and marie have become friends over the years we are always looked after well. The accommodation is always clean and tidy with a fully stocked tea service and a well catered bar we often forget our towels so on request they go above and beyond to provide them for me and my daughter. we always get the best advice from them to make our stay even better whether it be a restaurant review or where the offers are etc. so you will not be disappointed staying here and arrive a guest but leave a friend. the location is great as well near the central pier not to far from town or equally from the pleasure beach

Room Tip: we have stayed in all the rooms over the years and they are all comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annmarie s, Owner at The Kirkstead Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
just to say thank you for your comments, and, we are pleased that you
enjoy your stay with us. will see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    2
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you're looking to just binge drink and take part in the Blackpool craziness, then this place will be fine. We (myself and my girlfriend) stayed there in July 2012 for a couple of nights during the British Open which was taking place in the next town over. We arrived in the early evening. Instead of being greeted with a warm "hello" or "welcome", we were greeted with a remark to the tune of "where have you been?" as if we were teenagers arriving hoe past our curfew. The couple-owners asserted that they had "waited all day" for us. Even if this is true, that was their poor choice as to how to spend their day. They still got paid and would have kept their money even in the event that we had not shown up. In any event, this, we felt, was quite rude and unprofessional.

We were traveling for the whole day to arrive at the hotel and just wanted to take a shower. After "waiting all day" for us as they claim they had, I would have assumed that our room would have been well-stocked with clean towels. Wrong! We had to shake them down for simple items like towels and other toiletries. I think it is a bit awkward to go to those B&Bs with shared bathrooms, which you will note is not disclosed on their website. We learned of this after the fact when looking at reviews on another website. In any event, our bathroom was not only a shared bathroom, but it was located in the private room of another couple. My girlfriend asked me to take a shower with her because of how uncomfortable with the environment was, namely, the lack of a lock on the door and the fact that the drunk man next door was itching to use the bathroom.

Going back to the innkeepers personally, they were critical of us for deciding to take off early the next morning instead of having their breakfast. We kindly gave them a head's up that we had to take off early the next morning and that preparing us a breakfast would not be necessary. In stead of hearing from them a "thank you for letting us know so that we do not waste our food or time" we were met with a short interrogation as to why we would even think about not having breakfast with them. I will note, however, that we did stay for breakfast on our second morning there and it was rather lackluster.

The foregoing does not even consider other disappointing factors including but not limited to the street noise outside at night and all night, the size of the room, etc.

Again, this B&B would be a great joint to crash in after a night of binge drinking on the Pier. That's it. But then again, why else would you go to Blackpool? Have fun!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annmarie s, Owner at The Kirkstead Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thankyou for your feedback
Firstly i would like to point out that you booked through Expedia, via Avivvo and when anyone who looks at the product and the website it tells you exactly what we provide. and it does say that it is shared facilities, towles provided etc. ( if you looked) if we go travelling we make a point of contacting the people if we are going to be arriving late. as it asks on the booking form for an ETA. As for the bathroom we have not had any other complaints from other guests we have had about not been able to lock the door. We have checked when you were staying with us and at that time you were in when the British Golf open was on and the only other people we had in was Chinese media so i cant say where this drunk man was.?
And like it says on the web site we only take Families and Couples.
My husband offered to get up as you were leaving very early for the golf, to provide coffee and toast for you, but you left earlier, and after you had breakfast the day you were leaving, you said it was nice? as for the noise outside unfortunately it is out of our control as some of the other hotels take Stag and hens, which is unfortanate for some but if you had said about the noise then we would have moved you to a room on the back.
Blackpool is unique and i suppose like other holiday costal towns you get noise from groups who like to let there hair down now and then.
It is not a resort where to BINGE AND CRASH, which is an uncalled for remark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Jack and Marie are a lovely couple and will make you feel right at home.
It is well maintained, clean and comfortable and Marie cooks up a lovely breakfast.
The central location is ideal for just about any tourist who wishes to visit Blackpool.
I have returned every year for the past five years, it has always been a total pleasure to stay there and I have never had cause for complaint.
Excellent in every catagory A+++
*Please note* Jack and Marie have a wicked sense of humour (slightly sacastic) but I just love it, it's all good friendly fun that makes our stay all the more enjoyable.
I would recommend a stay at The Kirkstead Hotel to eveyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annmarie s, Manager at The Kirkstead Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
thank you for your kind words once more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This was our second time staying at Kirkstead Hotel and the experience was as good as the last. Marie and Jack are lovely, made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived to the minute we left. The hotel was very clean and tidy and the food was great..Very welcoming atmosphere and nice bar area! Already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annmarie s, Manager at The Kirkstead Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
thank you for your kind words glad you enjoyed your holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Jack and Marie are a very friendly couple its like home from home welcoming and makes you feel like one of the family bedrooms are very comfy and clean both the single and family rooms The meals are all home cooked and hot Value for money I will be going back again and again

Room Tip: All the room are bright and cheerful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annmarie s, Manager at The Kirkstead Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
thank you for your kind words linda, see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This is the second year on the run we have stayed with Jack and Marie (me, my husband and 6 year old) and I cant recommend it enough. It is quite simply excellent value for money, in an ideal location for all the attractions, superb for families, spotlessly clean and serves a full English Breakfast that knocks spots off any others I have had!! Rooms are a great size and have everything you need - tea, coffee, telly etc. Bathroom facilities also excellent and always clean and tidy. Jack and Marie make you feel welcome from the minute you step over the doorstep and are always there at the end of the day for a friendly chat and well deserved beverage from the bar!! Keep up the good work jack and Marie and we'll see you again next year - thanks.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

great hosts hotel spotless really enjoyed our stay,,worth every penny breakfast lovely reading previous reveiws some people maybe more accustom to premier inns carnt wait to come again xx best wishes amanda

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kirkstead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kirkstead Hotel

Address: 30 Bairstow Street, Blackpool FY1 5BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #360 of 910 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Kirkstead Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Kirkstead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kirkstead Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.