We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply..........EXCELLENT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
The Imperial Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Simply..........EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed at the Imperial from 14th to 16th April for my wife's birthday. We have stayed in Blackpool many times and at the Imperial several times too. This time we got a really good 2 night deal on their website (bed and breakfast with dinner on our first night, including a bottle of wine, and afternoon tea on our 2nd day) and I decided to email the hotel in advance to ask about any possible upgrades.

We were absolutely delighted with our room (222) which had a stunning sea view, and a huge bathroom. The sitting area in the bedroom was also an added bonus. We had the pleasure of meeting Alison (General manager) in person, and she is truly a credit to her hotel and the rest of her staff team. All staff that we dealt with were very attentive and friendly and this was evident throughout our stay.

The food was excellent, although breakfast could be a very busy time, however the hotel had the courtesy of letting their guests know this, by putting letters under the bedroom doors to this effect.

So, thank you Alison, and thank you to the rest of your team. It was a pleasure to meet you, and I am sure we will return many times in the near future.

Room Tip: Of course the hotel cannot guarantee any upgrades, but from this experience I am sure they will do t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear "Bigcraig",

Thank you so much for leaving your comments on Tripadvisor, I really appreciate it! It was a pleasure to welcome you to the Imperial on your special occasion and I was pleased we were ab le to upgrade you. This as you know is not always possible, but we do try to ensure our tema are aware of any special celebrations.

I'm so glad we were able to make your celebration that little bit more special and look forward to seeing you again soon,

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    559
    300
    193
    111
See reviews for
456
711
43
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The décor of this hotel is lovely, it needs some money spent on it to be a 4* experience.
A bit overpriced for what you actually get, the price we paid you would expect an immaculate room but it was a little tired.
Check in was excellent, check out was awful had to wait for at least 20 mins. Was going to eat there but there were no seats available due to the slow checkout. Would recommend the promenade café down the road!
Don't think we will be back, wanted to see the period features etc but not worth the money and would probably stick to the boring Hilton!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations.

I do hope that if you are in the area again you will consider staying with us.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed here a couple of nights ago with my family. Nice friendly staff on check in, really helpful. Room was small but comfy and clean (twin room). Went for spa treatments, the therapists were lovely and looked after us but unfortunately their treatments dont match the descriptions in the spa brochure. My mum had an eye treatment and her make up wasnt removed which is bad. We both had the 'soft feet' treatment and after leaving the spa and looking at the results, well, there wasnt any results! me and my mum both had the same amount of hard/cracked skin as when we first went in there and nothing had changed, even the foot massage wasnt a deep one as stated in the description, I was disappointed as I was looking forward to this part. I am a spa therapist myself and know that this was a poor performance, I would again like to stress that the therapists were lovely and it isnt against them. The pool, jacuzzi and changing area was clean and looked after.
Anyway we complained at main reception and the staff were very keen to help and cut a long story short we got a complimentary breakfast for the 4 of us which was lovely and kind. My mum has since received a partial refund but I havent received a penny which is unfair.
I would return here again in the future but maybe skip on the treatments. Thanks to all the staff for their help.

Room Tip: pick a room that has windows and doors. always helps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

Please accept my apologies that you did not find the spa treatments to your satisfaction. I was delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am a proud Hotel Manager and consider myself very fortunate to be surrounded by a team who, I believe, genuinely care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel when you are next in the area.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed here for a few days, have stayed before and was quite impressed however this time not so much. The room was very small and overlooked the back of the hotel as you can see from other peoples pictures it's rather depressing. I was also told I would have to pay £3.50 to park each night. I went back to reception and asked if there were any other rooms available and was shown one that was even worse - smaller and overlooked the bin area so I stayed in my original. I also showed my booking email that said includes free parking and was told that I wouldn't have to pay as it says that on my email but only because I had it to hand otherwise I would have been charged. Apparently you have to let them know if your booking has that on it? All in all not the same as last time and not worthy of four stars. Shame because it's a lovely building.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving your comments following your recent stay with us.

I am sorry that on this occasion we have not lived up to expectation.

I do hope that in time you will consider staying with us againl.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I very much enjoyed my night here, the beds was very comfy. Did have have problem with the dpa as treatments eere not done correctly, which we told the manger and she was very keen to here what we had to say, and got a lovely breakfast for 4, the breakfast was lovely, and staff was very happy and cheerful, but all staff was happy to help. The hotel was very clean and tidy, only let down was the scaffolding but everything needs doing time to time. All together lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments.

I was delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your time with us and my team looked after you well. The scaffolding has been erected due to some storm damage we received to the roof during the earlier storms.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

150 of us stayed for three nights, all on a dance weekend using one of the hotels function rooms for our dinner and dance afterwards.
Check in despite our numbers was quick and easy; we gave our name to a dedicated member of staff who gave us the key and our welcome pack. The general manager attended our first night, gave us some words of welcome; told us some of the history of the hotel which was really interesting and helped with the dinner service. She also came onto our coach as we were leaving to say goodbye, another nice touch.
The hotel is interesting, the number 10 bar with all its photos of prime ministers and all the other public rooms with their unique qualities. The number 10 bar is not cheap but worth a visit, the function bar was less expensive.
It is an old building and yes our room windows could do with a clean and the bathroom could have been bigger, but it was a nice room, plenty of room space; flat screen tv; opening windows; heating; free wifi (very useful); comfortable bed; iron and board; hairdryer; trouser press and well cleaned. Can't ask for much more.
Our dinners were excellent and nicely served - for breakfast there was ample choice and again it was well prepared.
There is an indoor pool, spa and gym which we intended using but just didn't get round to it. It looked to be fine.
It really is a nice hotel, but what makes it special is its staff, most of whom were English and those that weren't spoke English fluently. It made a refreshing change not to have to speak pigeon English in an English hotel. Without exception the staff were efficient, helpful and friendly.
Can't really say much more except they made our stay special and we felt like valued customers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you Joe200 for your lovely write up, I do appreciate and we thoroughly enjoyed having you with us. The Washington Ballroom is stunning, isnt it? and I hope you agree it has the second best dancefloor in Blackpool!

It was a pleasure to have you with us and we very much hope to see you all again another year.

With kind regards, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Bought a spa day for my Mother-in-Law and a friend at The Imperial. They had an hour long facial and massage, then a manicure. Lunch was included with wine and they had full use of all the facilities for the day (Swim, jacuzzi etc). The staff were warm, polite and welcoming. My Mother-in-Law had a lovely day. Best £100 I've ever spent and that was for 2 people. Thanks Imperial !!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest

I am so pleased that your gift was well received, and the team helped to make the day extra special for your guests.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#21 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.