We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC HOTEL!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franklyn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Franklyn Hotel to your Saves list
Franklyn Hotel
1.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   33 Charnley Road | Central Blackpool, Blackpool FY1 4PE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #227 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Lampeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC HOTEL!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

At the beginning I was very worried about staying here as the accomodation was soo reasonable priced it was soo hard to believe. But what we got when we got there was unbelievable! I never met so friendly, welcoming hotel owners. They treat you more as friends than customers! It was by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in! We stayed for a weekend break, the owners brilliant even stayed to have a drink with us of a night! Even accomodated for my disabled Mother In Law, helping her up the stairs. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

Amazing nights sleep, beds were soo comfortable, even bought a travel cot in the room for our little one. The breakfast was lovely. Very clean hotel, would recommend it to anyone! We will deffonately be returning again very soon.

Thank you Iain, Karen and Paula for such a nice weekend :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen w, Owner at Franklyn Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Cheers for comments and we all look forward to seeing you again.

Karen & Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Cumbria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My family and I recently stayed overnight at the Franklyn hotel, and we couldn't fault it. The room was very clean, towels provided, beds were very comfortable and we had a very good nights sleep. The break fast the next morning was brilliant and very filling for the day ahead. I would definitely recommend anyone to stay at the Franklyn hotel our children thoroughly enjoyed it, and we would say that Iain and his family were fantastic, nothing was any trouble to ask for they were very accommodating. The atmosphere was excellent and i haven't laughed so much in one night like that in a long time. It is a highly recommended place to stay and we will definitely be going back every time we stay in Blackpool. Dianne, Andy and Family

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011 via mobile

We decided last minute that we wanted to go to Blackpool for the weekend and The Franklyn was able to take us for the Friday night! A lovely hotel ran by very nice people!
The service was excellent and they even saved a parking space on a nearby street so that we didnt have to pay!
The bedroom was nice and clean, so was the hotel!
The bed was sooooo comfortable we didnt want to get out of it in the morning but what a great breskfast!
Will definitely be staying again!
Jon and Gav

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

a good family run hotel,only 5 mins walk to the main attractions shops/sea front. my hubby and i went here for my birthday and we loved it..breakfast was just what you need on a morning before a active day out in blackpool and the staff are very freindly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

went for 2 nights for a birthday with family, and from start to finish the owners/hosts of the Franklyn could not of done more for us (thanks Ian,Karen n Paula) the rooms were lovely n clean n nothing was too much trouble they will try n get u cheap tix to attractions etc etc the buffet Karen done for my nieces 16th birthday was fantastic (at cost) no extra charge for all her hard work in making it etc!!! it was delicious. n the breakfast (full English) is yummmmmmmy from arriving to leaving the Franklyn i have never felt more welcome............all i can say is u may see the price (very very reasonable ) n think too cheap!! (i did) but omg im so glad i booked ..............book it u defo WILL NOT be disappointed............thanks Franklyn for a lovely stay n i will definitely be back soon

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

went to the franklyn with family n frinds for my nieces 16th birthday . needed some where reasonably priced . Although it was really cheap we coildnt believe how great it was. Might only be small hotel few streets back from front but a little gem , room were,nt big but spotlessly clean very comfy beds the breakfast was amazing & the owners where very friendly & helpful. only stayed 2 nights which cost us £30 each (£15 a night) for bed n breakfast and my 8 yr old nephew went free!! it wasnt long enough karen, ian &paula have got what it takes to make you feel soooooo welcome even stood at door waving us off .

Room Tip: couple of the rooms dont have en suite so ask when u book , family rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgriffiths, Owner at Franklyn Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Many thanks for your review.
We really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Our girlie weekend in Blackpool .... arrived Friday around 4pm, we were warmly greeted by Paula, Ian and Karen who made us feel very welcome indeed. Our rooms where clean, bright, fresh n very comfortable.
Breakfast was just the best and I mean the best, a full English (served on hot plates) with plenty of toast, tea & coffee.
This is a friendly Hotel run by a family who take pride, they made sure our stay was perfect, nothing was too much trouble.
Looking forward to staying here again in the winter when we go to see Blackpool lights.
Patzy

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgriffiths, Owner at Franklyn Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Many thanks for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Franklyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklyn Hotel

Address: 33 Charnley Road | Central Blackpool, Blackpool FY1 4PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Franklyn Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Franklyn Hotel, B&B, Guest House makes an ideal base for your break as we are ideally situated right in the centre of our world famous resort and within a couple of minutes walk from Blackpool's key attractions such as The Winter Gardens, The Tower Complex, Funny Girls, The Theatres and Shops. We are also only a short walk from the Promenade where trams and buses run every few minutes to whisk you off down to the Pleasure Beach. All at budget prices.Free limited parking. Evening meals on request. All our rooms are equipped with TVs, hospitality tray offering Tea, Coffee and Hot Chocolate and are freshened on a daily basis. We now have 4 family rooms which can cater for up to 5 people. If you are looking for a budget break ring us for a cheap break. We even offer a 'Free' Train/Bus station pick up & drop off service. We have limited free parking but there is a secure car park next to us at a reasonable cost. Prices are 5 pounds for 24 hours, 8 pounds for 48 hours and 9 pounds for 72 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Franklyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franklyn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.