We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely disgusting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Dhu Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Thistle Dhu Hotel to your Saves list
Thistle Dhu Hotel
31 - 33 Bairstow Street, Blackpool FY1 5BN, England (Formerly The Coach House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #280 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with a group of friends for one night, and after 25 years of staying in Blackpool every year with the same friends can honestly say this is the worst, dirtiest, disgusting hotel we have EVER stayed in.
The sheets were unwashed and covered in stains, the rooms were dirty, in need of severe modernisation, the communal showers and toilets had 3 inches of urine on the floor as the toilet was leaking and was generally disgusting.
The landlady gave us a price, then on arrival demanded another £10 per person as a deposit in case of any damage, fair enough but there was no damage yet she refused to give back our deposit saying we was noisey which was a blatant lie, she never had any intention of giving our deposit back, she was rude, arrogant and had the hospitality of a pig.
My advice is never stay here under any circumstances and she needs shutting down as I will be contacting environmental health.
Jason.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleDhuHotel, Owner at Thistle Dhu Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hi Reviewers

We have recently signed up our Hotel ( Thistle Dhu Hotel ) previously known as (The Coach House) on TripAdvisor.

Unfortunatly we have inherited the old reviews and will be unable to get these erased from our address for some time, so heres our story and hopefully you will visit us to experience what we have to offer in our Hotel

We took it over in January 2013 and opened April 2013. We agree that it was severely run down.
And felt so strongly at wishing to sever any ties of The coach house and any previous reviews we chose legally to change the name.

We have made lots of improvements and would like to invite you to come and visit us to see the changes for yourselves

Kind regards
Caroline & Dougie Sills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    4
    0
    0
    5
See reviews for
6
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

i have never met people so nice and welcomin. i had the best time ever and i would recommend this hotel to evryone its close to ever thing and you wont stop laughin the hole tym ov ur stay and i will stayin here again thanks julie darren daniel and liam i had a wicked tym x

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed at the Coach House for a Stag Weekend, and I couldn't fault Julie and Darren's welcoming attitude and their flexibility, we were made to feel welcome and comfortable. You can't expect luxury for the price you pay, and toilets and showers were communal (say 1 every 2-3 rooms); but our rooms were clean, and adequately furnished.

The pool table was free to use, and the bar was available before we went out on the town.

The main plus is the central location, which was less than 10 minutes walk from any of Blackpool's main attractions.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I have stayed at the Coach House 4 times now and always go back! The rooms are clean & comfortable and great value for money...Darren & Julie are always there to offer anything to hand...even down to a bottle opener for a few cheeky pre-drinks :)!!

Located on Bairstow St gives it the perfect location for all attractions!! 10 minute walk into the Town and local bar and clubs!! Plenty of places to grab a bite to eat close by too.

Darren & Julie have always been welcoming and friendly hence why myself and friends always go back!!

They even stayed open New Years day so myself and a friend could have a few days away after a bit of a crappy Christmas, so thanks for that!!

Will see you for the illuminations!!

Kate & Gemma

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleDhuHotel, Owner at Thistle Dhu Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hi Reviewers

We have recently signed up our Hotel ( Thistle Dhu Hotel ) previously known as (The Coach House) on TripAdvisor.

Unfortunatly we have inherited the old reviews and will be unable to get these erased from our address for some time, so heres our story and hopefully you will visit us to experience what we have to offer in our Hotel

We took it over in January 2013 and opened April 2013. We agree that it was severely run down.
And felt so strongly at wishing to sever any ties of The coach house and any previous reviews we chose legally to change the name.

We have made lots of improvements and would like to invite you to come and visit us to see the changes for yourselves

Kind regards
Caroline & Dougie Sills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

there are horrible ppl they are abuseese and they are not nice ppl over the fne especially i wouldnt recommened anyone to stay here it horrible ppl and they dnt even repect anyone it was horrible dnt go plus the took money out of my bank becxuasue we couldnt go because we had a reson so we report it to bank and frude departement so i wouldnt advise anyone to stay ere there horrible ppl

Room Tip: horiible was noisies and couldnt sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleDhuHotel, Owner at Thistle Dhu Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi Reviewers

We have recently signed up our Hotel ( Thistle Dhu Hotel ) previously known as (The Coach House) on TripAdvisor.

Unfortunatly we have inherited the old reviews and will be unable to get these erased from our address for some time, so heres our story and hopefully you will visit us to experience what we have to offer in our Hotel

We took it over in January 2013 and opened April 2013. We agree that it was severely run down.
And felt so strongly at wishing to sever any ties of The coach house and any previous reviews we chose legally to change the name.

We have made lots of improvements and would like to invite you to come and visit us to see the changes for yourselves

Pictures are available on
http://www.thistledhuhotel.co.uk

Kind Regards
Caroline & Dougie Sills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

i just would like to say a big thank you to darren and julie and family for a great stay in there lovly hotal they have got. as for the bad compments they must of stayed in the wrong hotal, darren and julie are nice and welcoming people you every come a cross, they was great with the kids breakfrest was bri they made saw you were full and the kids. they wen tout of the way everyday to make sure we had everything towels toilet role etc
darren and julie are realy nice people and i am my family we begoing back they was bri and nice and i dont no were these bad reports come from. me wife will be going in two weeks. i will highly recoment the coach house hotal blackpool to anyone familys hen stags and penserners to. thank you julie and darren for great stay and we will be back in the near future, thanks for the lee family..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

just come back from stayin here wiv 10 off my friends for my hen night. the hotel was clean and darren and julie was very welcoming defo wud stay here again infact thinkin off goin bk in august wiv my 3 children. thanks darren and julie for a great tym xx

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleDhuHotel, Owner at Thistle Dhu Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi Reviewers

We have recently signed up our Hotel ( Thistle Dhu Hotel ) previously known as (The Coach House) on TripAdvisor.

Unfortunatly we have inherited the old reviews and will be unable to get these erased from our address for some time, so heres our story and hopefully you will visit us to experience what we have to offer in our Hotel

We took it over in January 2013 and opened April 2013. We agree that it was severely run down.
And felt so strongly at wishing to sever any ties of The coach house and any previous reviews we chose legally to change the name.

We have made lots of improvements and would like to invite you to come and visit us to see the changes for yourselves

Pictures are available on
http://www.thistledhuhotel.co.uk

Kind Regards
Caroline & Dougie Sills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Dhu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Dhu Hotel

Address: 31 - 33 Bairstow Street, Blackpool FY1 5BN, England (Formerly The Coach House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi ReviewersWe have recently signed up our Hotel ( Thistle Dhu Hotel ) previously known as (The Coach House) on TripAdvisor. Unfortunatly we have inherited the old reviews and will be unable to get these erased from our address for some time, so heres our story and hopefully you will visit us to experience what we have to offer in our HotelWe took it over in January 2013 and opened April 2013. We agree that it was severely run down.And felt so strongly at wishing to sever any ties of The coach house and any previous reviews we chose legally to change the name.We have made lots of improvements and would like to invite you to come and visit us to see the changes for yourselvesWe have a variety of room types with a number of them being family and doubles. We provide FREE WIFI throughout our hotel. Some of our rooms have full en-suites; all our rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, towels and soap. We have a large dining room and games room. Late key provided for party people. Breakfast is provided if required (at an extra cost). High chairs and travel cots available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Thistle Dhu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Dhu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.