We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Florida Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Florida Hotel to your Saves list
The Florida Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   32 Charnley Road, Blackpool FY1 4PF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #686 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Wallasey, England
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Myself and 4 friends stayed in this hotel for one night and it is quite possibly the worst room iv ever stayed in. The smell of damp and dogs was very strong when we first walked into the hotel and when we walked into our room it was absolutely freezing. We had old wooden windows of which one had a large hole which had been covered wiv some sort of sticky back plastic, and the bathroom window was wide open and had no lever to be able to close it. The bathroom light or television didnt work in our room either. I could not fault the male owner or cleaner, they were really friendly, however on returning back from our night out and coming up the stairs talking, we got screeched at to shut up, we thought this was another guest and replyed with a joke, it turned out to be the female owner who then ran up the stairs screaming and swearing at us an was quite obviously drunk, I find this unacceptable as a paying guest and felt quite uncomfortable, we did not stick around to try the breakfast after this experience. Safe to say we definitely will never return to the florida hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeahHansonCampbell, Owner at The Florida Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
well all I can say to this is what a load of lies. These young girls obviously have taken a dislike to me for whatever reason. For starters I don't drink on weekends when the hotel has guests in. I think you have clearly got mistaken with a commotion going on in the hotel that night as I was woken by someone setting the fire alarms off. Obviously me and my husband have to check the full hotel for our guests own safety. Upon doing this one of these girls screamed down the stairs which was more deafening than the fire alarm. There was no screeching from me and naturally I was in a slight panic. how was I to know at first that it was a false alarm. Really don't get how i can be drunk when im stood there in my pyjamas half asleep. Thanks a lot for putting this bad review on as none of it is true.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    7
    2
    14
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ENGLAND
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a stay here, and it was possibly the worst hotel I've ever been to.
Our room had a hole in the window covered up with plastic, the toilet light and the tv would not work. And the window in the bathroom had no latch to close it! It was freezing.
To top it off when arriving back to the hotel after a night out we got screamed at by the landlady to be quiet and told to get out of her hotel. (She was under the influence of alcohol)
The gentleman that runs it with her was at least polite thank god!

I'm not fussy and rarely ever complain but never again would I set foot in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeahHansonCampbell, Owner at The Florida Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
this is a friend of the other bad review that was put on here putting me down. I remember all of you and did my best to help you in anything you needed. If you had any problems you should of come and informed me or my husband so that we could of helped. You were all clearly intoxicated so don't see how you can judge me or our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights, owners Leah and stu are lovely people. Breakfast was the best i have had in a long time, would definately stay again and reccomend it to anyone looking for top class accommodation with a warm welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great hotel, good location right in the centre was a bit worried after reading the comments to find it was the complete opposite, very clean rooms great owners very very helpful very nice breakfast clean bedding couldn't fault the place.. 5 stars :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you want a hotel that gives you peace of mind stay away, more like a western saloon bar fists at dawn seems ok at first bit frosty and thats just the owners place in the bar was a mess from the night before and thats what it was like all weekend last nights glasses and over flowing ashtrays still there on afternoon hosts spent most weekend drinking heavy only to end in a screaming and shouting match at 8am in morning for well over a hour, then to be told no breakfast sorry I don't think will last 6 months this is just short version
dirty, smelly, filthy glasses, blood spattered up walls, bedroom furniture falling apart, old old fashioned, mould on pillows, and lots more Aug 2013 JBDL

Room Tip: Don't book
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeahHansonCampbell, Owner at The Florida Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
No one was smoking, everyone had vapour cigs. This is a non smoking hotel. Owners drinking heavily, well I thought we all got on very well until this review showed up. If anyone looks on our facebook page you will see a group of people on the karaoke where stu my partner also had a sing a long. If this looks like someone that isn't enjoying themselves then I don't know. As for the breakfast, JULIE, you failed to mention that we refunded five pounds per person because there was a fault in the kitchen and wasn't going to be sorted till eleven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Florida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Florida Hotel

Address: 32 Charnley Road, Blackpool FY1 4PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #686 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Florida Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florida Hotel is a family-run Blackpool bargain priced hotel guesthouse. We are ideally placed for the Winter Gardens, Blackpool Tower most shows, clubs, Central Pier and town centre, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Florida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Florida Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.