We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a trip to Blackpool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Sightseeing Blackpool

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
City Sightseeing Blackpool
Market Street, Blackpool, England
44 (0)1253 473 001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 14 activities in Blackpool
Type: Bus tours
Attraction Details
Newcastle under Lyme, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“a trip to Blackpool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

hated the wind and rain... loved the hustle and bustle

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    5
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Supertram v Old Tram”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

I have been to Blackpool virtually every year for nearly 40 years & I have used the trams just about every time I have been there.

I was saddened to hear that apart from a few heritage trams they will be disappearing & new "supertrams" will be taking their place.

Most people want to travel on the "proper trams" when they visit Blackpool mainly because there isn't anything else like it in the country except in a few museums like Beamish or Critch.

I will miss the trams & doubt if I would use the supertrams when they appear next year.

Blackpool tramway is totally different to Nottingham, Sheffield or Manchester where they are used by shoppers & workers, Blackpool is used mainly by tourists & I think the majority want the old trams to stay, which isn't going to happen as they have sold most of them. It will be a sad day in November when they go forever except for the heritage fleet. It will be interesting next year to see how many tourists let the supertrams go past & wait in what will probably be a long queue for an old tram.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“wheelchair users”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I can highly reccomend the trams. The conductors helped us on and off the trams with a smile on their faces.
Apparently next year (2012) there will be wheel on and off trams, at the moment there is a large step up.
The staff are so helpful and cheery. Well worth a ride.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Building Site Blackpool”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Don't get me wrong Blackpool is a great place, or should I say, it was.
Go to Blackpool for the "lights" this year and you will be disappointed, the golden mile has become the Golden 500 yards! Also if you fancy a trip on a tram to Fleetwood and Cleverly ...forget it, no tramlines this September! They have more building works going in Blackpool than Berlin as they are replacing the old tram tracks and revamping the seafront. Good for Blackpool but it's also feeling the economic squeeze as a lot of shops have either closed or look run-down. They are building a monstrosity of a building on the seafront by the tower..it looks like an L tipped on it's side! The new glass floor in the top of the tower is great as is the 4D film, but be prepared to pay £12 each.
I would advise anyone to bypass Blackpool this year and wait until 2012 with its new seafront, new trams and hopefully a seaside resort where you get plenty of pizzazz for your pound...

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Having been to blackpool before, I found everybody you come in to contact with have been very helpfull, but the town needs tidying up.
Dont like the idea you have to pay to go into the fairground.
The beach and other attraction were very good.
We wanted a meal having arrived at 9pm, and everybody we asked said weatherspoons,
we gave them a try and found the food good and good value (£6 for a main meal with a pint.a bottle of wine for under £5,)

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Sightseeing Blackpool also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to City Sightseeing Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Sightseeing Blackpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added City Sightseeing Blackpool to your Saves list