We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Douglas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added New Douglas Hotel to your Saves list
New Douglas Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   9-11 Wellington Road, Blackpool FY1 6AR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #593 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel quite a few times..couldnt ask for better people to meet than moya and ian
The rooms are immaculate as well as decorated lovely..beds are that comfy didnt want to get up!
Moyas breakfast is superb really filling
Both moya and ian are brilliant people and we now class them as family(not forgetting the lovely anne)
Would strongly recommend this hotel to all my friends xxx

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    7
    0
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have just returned from a weekend at the New Douglas Hotel. I read the reviews before I went and thought that they were probably too good to be true. I now know that all the glowing tributes are well deserved! The accommodation, food and entertainment all lived up to expectation but the overwhelming impression I carried away was the memory of the friendliness and hospitality. I would be happy to nominate the New Douglas as the Blackpool hotel of the year every year as long as Moya and Ian intend to stay there. I have already booked my next stay and may even return sooner.... David M

Room Tip: I heard no complaints about any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I would like to thank Moya &Ian for a fantastic stay at new year .they are both so freindly and go out there way to make you welcome .I go on a regular basis and would recomend this Hotel to anyone looking to stay in Blackpool .Looking foward to my next trip in feb xxxxx Mave xx

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just got back from a two night new years stay at new douglas hotel in blackpool we could not of asked for better accomodation or more friendly owners who go out of their way to make you feel at home & most welcome. The hotel was spotless clean with great food in ample quantaties moya even went & made sandwhiches for us at no extra cost while we drank in the bar in the evening, We were lovely & warm in the hotel being as it was winter time & the beds was really comfy to sleep in & we could not of asked for better value for money, There was 20 of us went & nothing was too much trouble for Moya & Ian the owner's who will now deffinately be firm friends of ours & this is one hotel we will be returning to many times in the future I cannot fault this hotel. The hotel & it's owners made our break away much more better than we could of anticipated. I will deffinately recommend this hotel to friends & family & anyone reading this review I can honestly say I could not give one negative comment to anyone thinking of staying here at the new douglas , get booking & I know you will have a warm welcome & a great time .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Good value clean accomodation. Very friendly owners Ian and Moya. Rooms are basic but very clean. Good value for money.Parking is difficult but thats Blackpool Ian made an effort to help us get a parking spot

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and i and our nearly 2 year old daughter and friends stayed at The New Douglas last week and we had a great weekend.
Moya and Ian are a lovely couple and run a very friendly hotel. Nothing is to much trouble and you feel at ease as soon as you check in.
The bar is excellent and very resonable prices for blackpool.
Thanks guys for a great weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

moya and ian are very friendly and welcomes there guests with open arms no matter who you are they run a great hotel the rooms are very comfortable they breakfast is out of this world i am going back in january to the hotel with my daughter jennifer to go to another gig i have telling friends and you might get more people coming to see you and stay

Room Tip: room 11 is a nice family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Douglas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Douglas Hotel

Address: 9-11 Wellington Road, Blackpool FY1 6AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #593 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Douglas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your New Douglas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Douglas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.