We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel on Front” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Blackpool Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hilton Blackpool Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Promenade Sea Front, Blackpool FY1 2JQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #53 of 72 hotels in Blackpool
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Good Hotel on Front”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Located right on the seafront with good views up and down the coast from the higher floors, this is a hotel that caters for conferences and sightseers. It is about ¾ mile from Blackpool town centre but there are bus and tram stops nearby which cost £2 per adult each way.

We took two of our grandchildren aged 3 and 5 and stayed overnight on a Saturday. The hotel is spacious and modern with plenty of car parking space outside. Parking is £5 per day but the hotel kindly validated our ticket for two days. On arrival in the car park you can press a button in the downstairs entrance to get help with your luggage from the concierge.

We had a pleasant check in experience with friendly and helpful staff. We were staying on a bed and breakfast basis and were advised to pre purchase dinner if we wanted to dine in the hotel. We paid £18.50 each for dinner against £21.50 if we just turned up, but more on the actual meal later. Children under ten eat free which is a real plus and I am surprised the hotel don’t make more of this. There are lifts to all floors and we were booked into a large room on the seventh floor with king size bed and two single beds for the children but there was still plenty of room. There are all the usual facilities you would expect in this standard of hotel; television, tea and coffee making facilities, safe, hairdryer, telephone with data point, alarm clock and radio. WiFi is available free in public areas but you have to pay for it in your room. There is plenty of wardrobe space and a clean and tidy bathroom with shower. The carpet looked a bit tired and the wardrobe doors could have done with replacing but otherwise the room was OK. The king size bed, whilst impressive was not very comfortable and ‘pinged’ if you rolled onto a particular part of it.

There is a large hotel bar although we didn’t try it because we had the children with us. Food at the hotel was a mixed experience. Dinner was a rather uninspired carvery of fairly dry turkey, pork and a beef curry plus some salmon. However, the hotel dining room staff were outstanding. They made a fuss of the children, were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast food on the other hand was outstanding by comparison. Warm croissants, chocolate muffins, fruit, cereals, fruit juices, a full English if you want it, and all of very good quality. Again the staff were exemplary.

We tried the leisure facilities on Sunday morning with a dip in the heated pool and it was heated too, not just the chill taken off. Maximum depth is 1.2m so ideal for a leisure swim. There is also a fitness centre with various equipment which looked good to me but I am no expert.

Overall, in spite of my comments about dinner, we were happy with our stay and would recommend the hotel but they do need to improve the choice and innovation in the dinner menu. There are some signs that the hotel could do with refurbishment in parts.

Room Tip: Upper floors provide great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,638 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    455
    545
    365
    164
    109
See reviews for
446
542
64
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Hotel in Blackpool on Friday 11th October. We had visited the illuminations and went back to the hotel and decided to have a drink in the bar before we went to bed. My partner bought two glasses of wine at the bar and I was totally horrified when he returned to the table with them and told me the price. The Hilton Hotel charged £11.50 for a glass of wine. I was totally gobsmacked and wanted to take them straight back to the bar and demand a refund, but my partner did not want to be embarressed. I wonder how the Hilton Hotel, Blackpool justifies charging £11.50 for a glass of wine ? A complete and total rip-off and I am still very angry.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Hilton Blackpool for a weekend in September with our 3 year old twins and had a lovely 2 night stay.
Lots of room in the car park and even though a small fee we didn't mind paying, lovely reception area and felt welcome on arrival. Room good and spacious, slightly tired and ready for a revamp, never been fond of shower curtains in hotels and also couldn't operate tv properly, the back had been stuck on with tape holding the batteries in, not a good look for price paid to stay there.
Thats the only gripes though as hotel got it so right on every other level, fabulous staff all so friendly and wanting to help, food great, highly recommend having dinner there as food excellent also breakfast superb.
Sorry but there is another small moan as its a family hotel in Blackpool and it would be nice to have an hours entertainment before the singers come on at 9 for the younger members and kids staying in the hotel as the acts are quite good but the place is empty and aimed at the older members so too quiet.
Overall great hotel, fab food, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA_HiltonBlackpool, General Manager at Hilton Blackpool Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
It was nice to hear you endjoyed the hotel services and facilties we have to offer and overall you had a great weekend and the staff provided a great service for you. Chef was delighted to hear you thoroghly enjoyed the food. We are hoping to restart our bedroom and bathroom refurbishment programme in the near future in order that we may bring all of our rooms up to the same standard. Thank you for your feedback this is most important to us. Nick Taylor, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I spent a short business trip at this hotel this week. I was on the 7th (top) floor. Although the hotel has good facilities and a pleasant bar area, i found the room to be somewhat disappointing compared with other hotels around the UK for the same budget. Very dated, was perhaps decorated and fitted out to a good standard some time ago, but it definitely needs looking at again. There is also a poor selection of TV channels, and the WiFi is not free, commanding a surprising £15 per 24 hours. I would look around for something else if i were to return to Blackpool.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA_HiltonBlackpool, General Manager at Hilton Blackpool Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
I was pleased to hear you enjoyed some of the hotel services and facilities we have to offer. The hotel bedrooms are refurbished on a rolling programme in accordance with business levels in the hotel and we are hoping to restart our bedroom and bathroom refurbishment programme in the near future in order that we may update our rooms and bring them all up to the same standard. I am sorry we did not have a recently refurbished room to alloctae to you due to high occupancy levels. Wi-fi is free to all our guests in the public areas, lounge bar, reception, and restaurant and to Hilton Honors Gold and Diamond members however there is a charge for this in the bedrooms. Thank you for your feedback., I have taken on board your comments. Nick Taylor, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HASTINGS
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very well located seaside hotel away from the hussle and bustle but near enough to traverse to all the business quarters and attractions, the new modern trams operate every 10 mins from outside. Rooms are pleasant, clean and the reception team are exceptionally efficient and friendly. The hotel does have an opportunity for improvement in the restaurant area,although the breakfast food was excellent - the restaurant staff seemed subdued, great training opportunity here to bring the restaurant staff upto the high Hilton standards of excellence. We had to prompt the staff several times including the restaurant supervisor. Other than that everything was superb.

Room Tip: 7th floor as the lifts can get congested at peak times and also great views from that floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA_HiltonBlackpool, General Manager at Hilton Blackpool Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
I was pleased to see you enjoyed the hotel and the seafront location, and Reception staff provided a warm welcome for you. It was nice to hear you enjoyed breakfast. I have taken on board your comments regarding the restaurant staff, staff training is an ongoing process in order that we provide the Hilton standard to our guests at all times. Thank you for your positive feedback this is most important to us. Nick Taylor, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here just overnight on an organised coach trip. We had a twin room which was very nice, spacious, spotlessly clean with a flat screen TV. The bathroom boasted a bath as well as a shower and the bathroom freebies were very nice. Unfortunately we were in room 251 which did NOT, disappointingly have a sea view, the only view we had was a grass area, some shops and the coaches parked some way below our window which fortunately didn't start up during the night. But we didn't spend that long in the room to worry too much.

The staff are very helpful and nice. Reception are particularly good. We didn't use the health suite.

The food was very good, we had a three course evening meal, two courses were self service and a three course breakfast, which was all self service. There was lots of choice for breakfast which should have suited any taste.

They do need a new toaster or buy some pop up ones, as to make your toast it was one of those that takes the bread through toasts it one side then you put it through again to do the other side, BUT, although it was on the highest number the toast had to go through at least twice to toast properly!!! The man next to me was going to try and toast crumpets, I left him to it!!!

If I have a gripe it is that they are mean with the in room coffee, only two sachets, so we had a drink in the evening which meant there were none for the morning, we don't drink tea!!! And you don't get automatic refills with breakfast. The only good cup of coffee I had was an Irish coffee bought in one of the bars, delicious!!!

But overall excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. 251 did not have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA_HiltonBlackpool, General Manager at Hilton Blackpool Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
It was nice to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the facilities we offer. I am sorry we were unable to allocate you a sea view room due to high occupancy levels in the hotel, and this is dependent on which room type you book. I am sorry you were not left sufficient complimentary tea and coffee sachets in the room, our Housekeeping department would have been pleased to replenish these for you on request, and also the staff in the restaurant would have been pleased to refill your cups. I have taken on board your comments, thank you for your feedback this is most important to us. Nick Taylor, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent 2 nights here for a friend's 50th birthday celebrations. Good position, helpful staff, nice breakfast. Looks very luxurious when you enter, bedrooms slightly less so! But clean and tidy so we were happy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA_HiltonBlackpool, General Manager at Hilton Blackpool Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay for your 50th birthday celebrations and the staff provided a good service for you. Thanks you for your feedback this is most important to us. Nick Taylor General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Blackpool Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Blackpool Hotel

Address: North Promenade Sea Front, Blackpool FY1 2JQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Blackpool Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all the fun of the seaside at the Hilton Blackpool hotel. Located on Blackpool’s famous Promenade, take in delightful sea views and enjoy easy access to many popular attractions. This central Blackpool hotel near Blackpool Tower offers excellent transport links and ample onsite parking for private cars. Choose from a range of spacious guest rooms, family rooms and suites at the Hilton Blackpool hotel. Surf the web with high-speed internet access, watch an on-demand movie on the LCD TV or simply relax. Upgrade to a suite for extra space and guaranteed sea views. With 11 flexible meeting rooms, business is easy at the Hilton Blackpool. Host an important meeting or lavish reception for up to 800 guests in this adaptable venue and stay in touch with wireless internet access, which is complimentary in all public areas.Enjoy complimentary access to the LivingWell Health Club during your stay at the Hilton Blackpool. Swim in the heated pool, work out in the 24-hour fitness center or de-stress in the relaxing sauna. The hotel’s beauty suite offers a range of luxurious treatments including facials and massages for a spot of pampering. Indulge in a delicious meal from the carvery in the Promenade Restaurant then enjoy evening entertainment most weekends and a relaxing drink in the Lounge Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Hilton EMEA, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Blackpool Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackpool Hilton Hotel
Hilton Blackpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Blackpool Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.