We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Norbreck Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Norbreck Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Norbreck Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“weekend stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

stayed here in october for two nights. the hotel looks ok from the out side but on entering found the hotel very tired. its a very large hotel and at mealtimes it was organized chaos.with one dinning room it got very busy and a wait of 20 mins for a table and 15 to 20 mins for self service food. the food was good and had a few different dishes.the carpet in the public areas needed a clean and if u bought tea or coffee at the snack bar it was served in paper cups. the prices was about average at the bar but the other bar needed a facelift. the room we was given was a standard room which was ok for the price , the sea view rooms cost extra.
there is plenty of trams or buses that go to the town centre about 2 miles away.
overall the hotel needed a revamp and maybe more lifts to get to the rooms.
i think that the hotel is way to big and at meal times it felt like being back at school hahha.
if we ever go back to blackpool we would find a smaller hotel.
we would not go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: the higher up you are the longer you wait for lifts as only one lift per block which takes about 6 p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    559
    764
    606
    1,549
See reviews for
1,022
1,227
78
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,058)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were taking a three day break, i was staying with my grandchildren and my husband. We requested rooms next door to each other, so we could keep an eye on our grandchildren and also for two twin rooms.We were given rooms at either end of the corridor, one was a twin the other a double. The rooms were dirty,and old fashioned, one of the rooms had a broken bathroom door there were no toiletry's as we were promised. No morning papers were available. The pipes ran through the rooms making them unbearably hot. The food was basic and not very nice,we were a long way out of town and i can safely say we will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

First impressions were not great. The queue at reception was very long and when we eventually got our room (149) we were short one bed. We chose not to go for dinner in the hotel out of fear. The location is not good having to get a tram (which come rarely and are very busy) into Blackpool. The staff however were helpful and nice. The room was clean-ish and the bathroom light took 3 minutes to turn on. The swimming pool was okay (but very shallow), but the changing facilities were awful. The breakfast arrangement was overly-complicated and the food was not worth the 45 minute wait. On the second and thankfully last night the fire alarm was set off by 'persons unknown' at one in the morning and we were all out in the rainy car park in our pyjamas!
Do yourself a favor: find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

just returned from this hotel having had a really good 5 days there
we were concerned about the hotel after reading all the negative reviews about the place
after phoning our tour company was assured the hotel was fine as they used it on a quite regular basis
yeah ok the place is in need of a revamp in places particurly the bar area but when you consider the hotel has 487 rooms and caters for 1000+ people every day this is not surprising
our room was quite comfortable although a bit small , we even had a whirlpool bath , furnishings a bit dated but ok
meal times were good with plenty of choice usually 4 or 5 different items on the menu breakfast was good with the usual choice of fruit juice , cereal and cooked varieties
we travelled with david urquart travel who were very very good our coach driver, steve , was really good with a good sense of humour kept us really well entertained through out our time on the coach , well done steve
we paid £159 each for the break and we were really pleasantly surprised at the standard of what we got for the money but as they say you only get what you pay for but personally we thought we got much more
well done to norbreck and david urquart travel would definatly use them again
just goes to show you shouldn't believe all you read

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Paid £40 each for 2 nights B & B.for the two of us. Free parking, and lots of it. Outside of hotel looks like a bomb site. Inside was far better than expected. Room on first floor at back of hotel, no view, but did not expect one for the price paid. After reading previous reviews prior to our stay, I checked the sheets, spotless and fresh, and the bed and mattress, both clean. The bathroom was old but clean, and the towels were fluffy and white. There was endless piping hot water on both nights too.

We had a twin room and had plenty of space to move around. Yes, we could only get four channels on the tv, and the picture was a bit fuzzy at times, but we didn't come away to watch tv
The breakfast and service was good, and we were offered veggie sausages cooked to order both days. Our breakfast waiter could not do enough for us, and although the dining room was full we did not have to queue for more than a minute or two for anything.

The hotel is on South Beach, about two miles out of the centre, but there is a tram stop directly outside. Walk to the back of the hotel and buy an all day rider for the tram at Mc Colls newsagent - £3.50 - you save £1 and if you have a disabled/pensioner bus pass then the tram is free.

The illuminations do not go as far as the hotel, but there is a bus that pulls up outside reception at 8pm on some days (check at reception) and you pay £5 for a 90 minute tour of the lights, well worth the money.

Would there be so many negative reviews if the hotel was facing the Med in 90 degrees sunshine, rather than the Irish sea on a blustery coast - somehow I doubt it.
This hotel is old and tired, but I believe that it is well worth the money if you want a cheap and cheerful stay. Do what we did, and go with an open mind, you might just like it!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights,came with majestic tours.When we arrived we were given an envelope with the key card and details of the hotel,meal times etc.. then told to go find our rooms,easy to get lost as the hotel is massive,got to the lift and the queues were so long,only one lift was ridiculous,had to carry suitcases up the stairs then couldn't find the room for awhile,no help from staff,they were miserable and looked overworked.

The room was dated old furniture ripped wallpaper,the sink looked like it was coming away from the wall,dirty windows,dirty bath and mat ,no toilet brush to clean the toilet with,broken curtains,rusty kettle so couldn't make hot drinks in the room.
Meal times were a nightmare queues and people everywhere nearly bumping into people,far too many people in the dining room at one time,one night the hotel staff had a mix up and all the people staying in the hotel had come down for dinner at the same time,the queues were miles long because of this ended up being late and couldn't go on illuminations tour with majestic,had to get a tram.
Spoke to a waitress that said the chefs don't listen to the waiting staff,they were going to put out an extra buffet but the chefs wouldn't do it.
The food was very repetitive always potatoes and veg,not much variety.
Same cakes every night.
Overall the food was ok but not great,the breakfast wasn't good over or under cooked toast,same cereals everyday,no fried eggs,no fresh fruit just tinned fruit and watered down yogurt,very bland,my boyfriend found a bit of plastic in his bacon,very off putting.

This hotel is far out from the center of Blackpool,have to get a bus or tram,too far to walk.

My mum stayed in the room next door she had a slanted toilet,and broken curtains.

The worst thing of all though was getting bitten by bed bugs and itching half the night it was disgusting,the beds are so old.

This hotel needs to be refurbished and fumigated.
Would never stay here again you do not get what you pay for,basic is fine but this hotel is beyond basic.

This hotel cannot manage the amount of guests that are staying there,they haven't got the staff.
Entertainment was nothing special,no star cabaret as advertised outside.
The only positive for me was free WiFi in the lobby.
It's the worst hotel we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have just spent 5 days in this Hotel (21/10/13 to 25/10/13), along with the wife, her brother & sister-in-law, on finding out where we were staying just 5 days before departure, we googled the Hotel & were very concerned about what we were reading?. My Brother-in-law & i both rang the travel agnts & were told it was a good Hotel. So, Monday morning we set off still not sure?.
Ok, the Hotel is in need of a revamp, our room on the 5th floor was small & the furnishing a bit old, but functional, the bed was very comfortable, bathroom clean, as was the room, with a power shower that worked well. The cleaner came every day & was a very nice lady, plenty of Milk & fresh towels daily.
The 1st time you go for your evening meal can be a bit daunting it does look like a free-for-all,
just get in the que & chat to the other's in 10 mins you have your Dinner, it's not so bad for breakfast. We all found the food to be of a much better standard that we expected with 5 main meals to choose from, (Empty plates all 4 nights on our table & the same for breakfast),
When you consider they are catering for 1000 plus meals twice a day the standred is high?.
We paid £159 each for 4 nights bed breakfst & evening meal with David Urquhart travel. We were picked up on time & the coach driver was great, all in all we are very happy with the short holiday & we know we had value for money.
Don't believe all you read with the negetive's on this Hotel, just think what you are paying, it will not be a 5***** with silver service? you get what you pay for in this world today & the 4 of us come home well pleased. Mike (Hemel Hempstead).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norbreck Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.