We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“budget price, great room and meals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norbreck Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Norbreck Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Norbreck Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“budget price, great room and meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Decided to have a break to Blackpool to see the illuminations and booked this hotel for a night with dinner and breakfast included.When we arrived first impressions of reception area were not good, scruffy reception that would benefit from a refurb and clean, check in was slow due to numbers but we had room 425 on the 4th floor and it was excellent, a family room with a double and single bed and 2 sea view windows.....We had dinner in the restaurant at 1900, excellent, clean and buffet selection had good choices, all hot and filled up often.Staff were friendly and all spoke with English accents, a rarity nowadays.After a night looking at the lights we had a good nights sleep, breakfast was a buffet of anything you wanted all in all a great nite and very cheap.

Room Tip: 425 family room and 2 seaview windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    526
    709
    563
    1,455
See reviews for
972
1,137
75
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (995)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

1st room was filthy. Spit on windows. Urine stains on matteress and duvet. Toilet black and yellow stains...and just for safety sake....a live wire hanging out of bathroom ceiling...manager moved with no fuss...this room at least looked clean...till u took closer look...urine stained bathroom floor...dirty toilet..ripped curtains..halfmade beds..now for the rest .... lift and corridors stinking of sewage and yes they knew...didnt even bother with an air freshener....opposite end of hotel just stank anyway...the food....what can i say...horrible slimy and total nightmare...same meat every nite just smeared with a different sauce..almost raw fish....same pototoes..just the one choice mind...boiled or boiled then flash fried...tinned or frozen veg...every nite...no salads or rice dishes or pasta....only ate the food first nite..couldnt stomach it to be honest....same dessert...cake..cake...cake...breakfast only fried or cereal. Now other things...rude staff..overworked and unpleasant...hotel was over 30 degrees 24 hrs a day...jugs of ice melting b4 they got to you....germs breeding..yuk yuk yuk never ever again..should be shut down and completely overhauled...shocking gross horrible dirty smelly place....

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The top class bus tour company that are taking bookings for this hotel need to hang their heads in shame.Dirty smelly,crowded,caotic,and I could go on and on.I was quoted 50 pounds for a room at short notice absolute disgrace 20would have been to much .it looks like the hotel was once nice but needs extensive work now.my sister had to change her glass twice at breakfast due to lipstick and dirty marks.Avoid avoid avoid

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Probably the worst hotel I have ever had the misfortune to book a room in.
I booked a room here as part of a nostalgic trip for my pregnant wife as a treat for her birthday. My wife would come to Blackpool as a young girl with her Grandparents to see the illuminations and as this would be my wife's first birthday after the death of her Grandmother, I thought it would be a nice touch. Oh boy, how wrong I was.

The hotel is dilapidated. This is more of a hotel that rents rooms by the hour than by the night.

After a long drive up from London we arrived at the hotel in the early hours of the morning and although check in was painless we were greeted in the lift to the room by a "couple" in flagrante. Either that or she had dropped something and was on her knees to find it and he happened to have his flies open and was hurrying to close them as the lift door opened.
In hind site we should have left there and then.

The "sea view" room we had the key for had probably not been decorated (or cleaned for that matter) since my wife last visited in the early 90's. Its that feeling you get when you open the door and your heart sinks. Its 4am and you feel that you have no choice.

After some laying on the bed (we were not about to get in it) and slowly getting itchier and itchier, enough was enough. They had to do better than this for the £99 a night we were paying. After some complaining and a little attitude for the front desk I was shown another room in the recently refurbished part of the hotel. No seaview but it had just been "done up". By done up, read vacumed and with a slightly nicer bathroom. This will not do.
I collected my wife and our things and checked out immediately. With a heavy heart we traveled into the early morning to find a bed for the night.
Credit where credit is due. After a little complaining we did get a full refund.

And a big thanks to the staff at the Imperial Hotel further along the promenade that took us in on a very good deal for what was left of the night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have seen many reviews on this hotel and some of them pretty damning. I DONT AGREE. we got a deal on the stay and had 2 nights half board. The room was a little dated but for the time we spent in there so what. bed was comfy, lovely clean bedding and towels and we couldn't really moan. The meals are served buffet style so you get a great choice. Given the size of the hotel I am not surprised. I can guarantee if it wasn't self service there would be loads of moans about time it took to get served the food so I don't blame then for this style. Food was good, plenty of choice, hot and tasty and you couldn't ask for more. Breakfast was good and I didn't see any reason for complaint. Staff were friendly and when they discovered that we were celebrating our 22nd anniversary we had a complimentary bottle of champagne which was lovely of them. entertainment was good though cheesy but it is Blackpool so fitted in well. Overall we had a lovely stay, had fun, met some great people and were very well looked after. We would definitely go again and I would say you get what you pay for....don't book budget and expect 5 star... and don't believe all the reviews.... we have had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were looking for a cheap room at this end of Blackpool. We booked a room on Laterooms for £35 which we thought was good for a Friday night during the lights. The checking in queue was very busy and I did wonder if we would get any sleep that night.
After quite a long walk to find our room we were pleasantly surprised. We had a corner room (0096) with big windows looking out onto the sea. The room was basic but perfectly adequate, it was clean, the TV just about worked and the shower was very hot and powerful. We ate out then spent time in Blackpool so didn't use the facilities but we were impressed with what we did see.
We slept very well and heard no noise from the corridor. So no complaints.
We would happily stay at this hotel again if we were looking for a cheap place to stay.
I would not have paid £150 which according to Laterooms was the original price for the room.

Room Tip: Don't book direct with the hotel check out Laterooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in oct great value £74 for 2 nights b and b for 2 and a child it is the place your grandparents would go on a coach tour the place needs major revamp and the food aint great but wat do u expext for £12 for 3 course carpets are terrible in bar area and there was a nasty smell in the lift rooms are ok and staff are friendly would go again as we only used the place to sleep and eat breakfast

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norbreck Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.