We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit out the way” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Norbreck Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Norbreck Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Norbreck Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
edinburgh
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A bit out the way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Good fun for families. It's a bit out of the way from the pleasure beach but there's a team stop right outside the hotel. Good sized bar and restaurant. Very family friendly. Buffet dinner was reasonably priced. Good value if travelling in a group

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    526
    709
    563
    1,455
See reviews for
972
1,137
75
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (995)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

booked a 4 day special deal with caledonian travel,did not know the hotel until nearer the time of departure.after reading reveiws of this hotel was not happy to be going there.found the hotel to be extemely busy not enough room to watch the entertainment unless you dined early,plus its a long way out of blackpool,£2 on the tram to the tower.small tip go to a shop round the corner to mccolls you can buy a all day ticket for £3.50.there is all so a first class fish and chip next to mccolls.
anyway about the hotel was quite surprised its not as bad as made out.we were lucky enough to get a sea view room only problem sink was cracked.could not fault the food and good swimming pool.we had a 99p bar from 6.30-9.00.there is also a happy hour from 3-5 in one bar and 4-6 in another £2.20 a pint. if you get this cheap enough i would not put anyone of it.we paid £99 for 3nights plus bus travel.

Room Tip: we stayed in 328 not bad,sea view not far to walk from lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

we set off Thursday for a thee nights stay with a 99p bar with national holidays the coach was the best coach we have ever travelled with national with air con which works the hotel is a very big place the biggest I am told in Blackpool and we soon realised it wasent just national that stay there the norbreck is a modern day hotel well to put it mildly a madhouse the room we were allocated was lovely apart from the the abstracter fans outside the only window in the room so no sleep that night after relocating to another room we soon realised we had jumped out odf the frying pan into the fire as we could not open the window and I turned out to be a sweatbox...the food in the hotel was excellent and the menu 1st class but be wary of the 99p bar and though the bar does use glasses on one side the 99p bar uses the dreaded plastic glass even for martinis the entertainment was for the younger residents all 40 minutes of it on the Saturday the cheerleaders competitions were held held with hundreds of young ones bidding to win something and turned the place into some kind of munchkinland we also had a couple of stag parties in the place who it seem have no intentions of sleeping but running up and down all night long creating a nuisance but Blackpool is Blackpool

Room Tip: it is very important that you get a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went here with the wife and grand-daughter for a 4 day break. Travelled with National Holidays and arrived about 1.30pm. Room not quite ready but after a short wait were in our rooms. The room we had 226 was basic but very comfortable, bathroom had everything we needed and we were well pleased. We paid £99 pp, child was free and the food was very nice. Would I stay here again? Most definitely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel last minute,what a huge mistake,I wouldn't stay here again for free..£55 to stay in this dump is scandalous..the whole building was grubby inside & out terrible stench of damp soon as you walk in.noisy isn't the word not by noisy people just because the walls are so thin you can here every movement from surrounding room,people urinating in their toilet was loud and clear sounded like it was in our bedroom..people coughing,talking loud & clear cos the walls at so thin...the pipes are unbelievably loud soon as a toilet flushes or taps run the room vibrates,a wind howles through the corridor makin a whistling sound it was that bad I got up at 5.30 & drove home..place needs a rippin out & refurbing..do not stay at this hotel that's if you can call it a hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

When we arrived we went to reception and we had our voucher showing 2 people half board. The guy on reception said we were booked on a bed and breakfast basis, we queried this saying I'm sorry no it's half board', the response was 'yes that's what I said!' erm.... no you didn't - you said bed and breakfast. Whilst we were checking in we heard a female staff member patronising another guest (an elderly lady in a wheelchair) who had booked half board but the girl said it was only booked as bed and breakfast, saying it was their fault for booking via another website and not the hotel's own website? She would 'let them off' on this occasion!!! She then proceeded to say they needed to be careful what they booked in future in a really sarcastic tone ( never a truer word has been spoken in my opinion - if you get what I mean!! ) Surely if you are going to allow people to book via external websites there should be more checking in place. Honestly do you really think it is in any way acceptable to speak to a customer in that way? There were some staff who were really lovely and couldn't do enough for you, such as when we couldn't sleep due to the noise coming from downstairs ( from the entertainment in the conservatory ), we called reception and a guy was really helpful and arranged to move us to a quieter room for which we were very grateful. The shame was when we got up to have a shower the morning after and the whole shower fitting fell off into our hands. The walk to breakfast from our room had us encountering foul smells of sewage and dirty looking pipes sticking out of the walls. However, the spa/pool complex was great and was included complimentary with our stay and we were very pleased with it, lovely swim and Jacuzzi all very nice. If you like to have to queue 20 people deep for breakfast and sit smelling damp/sewage while you are eating you wont be disappointed. The food was okay (we are not hard to please, believe me) mass produced but great value for what we paid.....The hotel just feels very tired and dated and the majority of staff looked like they were doing a shift in a prison camp praying for the end of their shift before another load of people arrived, scrambling to be served. It just felt a bit depressing. If I worked there, I would probably feel the same, having to try and offer a good service and keep a smile on my face in a place that looks like it has given up the ghost!!!! I genuinely felt for them (working in Customer service myself!!) Luxury it is not I am afraid and it just feels lack lustre and like it is on its' last legs. I think you need to re train some of your staff to get some enthusiasm and spend some money on the place instead of running it on a shoe string. There was certainly no lack of guests scrambling round for survival the place seemed packed to me ( god knows how ). The sole lift serving the Balmoral suite was a nightmare, you had to wait 5-10 minutes each time or face a gruelling 5 floor hike to the top ( it was 27 degrees C by the way with no air conditioning ). Come on guys, it's not rocket science, maybe get the hotel inspector in and actually listen to what she says. Sadly we would not recommend your hotel to people as we were looking forward to a relaxing mini break after a week of hard work re-fencing our garden and we nearly drove home from Blackpool to Huddersfield at 1am. Sadly. not the relaxing time we were hoping for. We will return to Blackpool in the future but will look for somewhere else. It was billed on websites as 'luxury', this was a huge stretch in our opinion, we appreciate you pay for what you get and at £70 for both of us, it was a very good deal (money wise) but we would have rather had less in the package and better quality throughout our short stay. Or even just stayed at home?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Where to start?! Our room was so dusty it stared off my daughters asthma, riped wall paper, windows screwed shut, sink in bathroom cracked, bathroom grubby and old, had to sleep on top of the bed as I was being bitten, carpet was smelly & sticky. The rest of the hotel was just as bad, food was awful, staff don't care. We left after one night. So bad

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norbreck Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.