We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as bad as people are saying!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norbreck Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Norbreck Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Norbreck Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
co, durham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not as bad as people are saying!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

after spending months reading reviews about this hotel i almost cancelled, getting myself stressed about our holiday, but i am very pleased that i didn listen as we had a fab week ( 7 nights). some people are moaning over silly things. yes its abit dated but why would that affect your stay? the food is nice and always hot and lots of choice, just make sure you get a early evening meal slot by booking your slot straight after your early breckfast. all of our 7 evening meals and seven breckfasts were nice. entertainment is good if your lucky enough to get a seat as their is not enough seats for all hotel guests. pool is fab, very clean, we must have went in six or seven times. our room was in the balmoral wing, huge with plenty of space for myself, hubby and 3 children. fresh towels and beds made up everyday, the maids do a fab job. this hotel is a very good 3star hotel and great value for money. if you want posh and la de da then you will have pay the price tag of another hotel. the norbreck castle does everything it says on the tin and more!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    524
    709
    563
    1,454
See reviews for
971
1,136
75
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (993)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

me, my husband, 2 year old daughter, sister and neice aged 3 stayed here for 3 days ..after booking with national holidays i had a look at some reviews and thought what have we let ourselves in for! we arrived there and were shocked to see how nice it was.
yes it was a little dated but it was cosy i think i like the fact it was old fashioned and so what if the walls had a few scratches of paper missing from thembut were clean .. all u are doing is goin in your room getting changed or sleeping in there the whole holiday isn't about being in your room allday!
the breakfast and dinner was amazing the food was lovely and hot, (we got there 15mins before food was ment to be served) also the waiters were great they took your plates away straight away and if you needed them for anything they were there in seconds! our children got there childrens meals as soon as we sat down which was brilliant as the last thing u want is your children screaming because they are hungry while your gettin your own food..
the hotel was packed i actually wish more people would review on here not just the moaners! for the price we all paid for this holiday we will defo be staying again!
the girls loved every min of it they were dancing about on the night and and we enjoyed the bingo too!
the day we were leavin we went in swimming which was great, then me and my sister went for a back massage which was so relaxing! and worth every penny!
the location didnt bother us we liked been out of the way from all the hen/stag do's in the city centre..

it cost us less to stay here than it would if we stayed in a b and b somewhere where u dont get the entertainment or the dinner on a night all i can say we we got a bargain and also had a great time! if your fussy and just a right moaner go and pay more money and stay somewhere else but WE HAD A GREAT TIME! our age range is 21-25 years old so if we can enjoy ourselves so can you!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norbreck_Castle, Manager at Norbreck Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear BLA031109,

Thank you for taking the time to share your honest and balanced feedback with reference to your stay and experiences at the Norbreck Castle Hotel.

It is pleasing to hear that you found your stay with us enjoyable. We, here at the Norbreck Castle Hotel, pride ourselves on offering a fun and vibrant atmosphere to all our guests at competitive rates. It is through constructive comments, such as yours, that we aim to continue to improve our standards and the services which we offer.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review and everyone here at the Norbreck looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Mr. Tony Banks
General Manager
The Norbreck Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed just the one night and after reading all the dreadful reviews, we really expected the worst! Fortunately it wasn't that bad - our room was small but clean, we had a very dated bathroom but everything worked, the food was adequate and the staff were very friendly. My husband enjoyed a couple of swims in the pool and the evening entertainment was quite enjoyable, if a bit amateurish. The bottom line is that we didn't pay very much for our stay and we feel we got our money's worth.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

this is a terrible hotel stayed 4 nights changed rooms. once food terrible no salads bedrooms dirty pillows awful please just dont stay here.

Room Tip: none i imagine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norbreck_Castle, Manager at Norbreck Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear Kathryn187069


Thank you for taking the time to share your honest and balanced feedback with reference to your stay and experiences at the Norbreck Castle Hotel. We, here at the Norbreck Castle Hotel, pride ourselves on offering a fun and vibrant atmosphere to all our guests at competitive rates.

As you will be aware we offer our services to a diverse cross section of clientele from all walks of life, with various age groups and demographics taking the opportunity to experience our unique ambience. The hotel is very popular with families, many of whom return regularly, as we offer a safe and friendly service.

I am saddened to hear that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion and can assure that all the points, which have been raised, will be looked into in an effort to improve our standards and develop further the services that we offer.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review and everyone here at the Norbreck looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Mr Tony Banks
General Manager
The Norbreck Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

My family and I have just returned from a nights stay at the Norbreck Castle Hotel, Blackpool. I would advise anyone thinking of staying at the hotel to reconsider. My first impressions were that it was in desperate need of a refurbishment. Check in was pleasant, though my partner did feel that on complaining her issues weren't dealt with professionally. The bedroom though large was in a desperate state, the windows were caked in grime, carpet dirty, stained sheets, broken toilet roll holder, 70's furniture the list is endless. On a positive note, we used the steam room which I found quite refreshing along with the jacuzzi though that's all I can say. The food reminded me of work (prison officer) it was warm, cheap but plenty of it. My heart goes out to the staff who have to clean the place, as it must be hard trying to polish a turd. To the managers,
spend some money, refurbish, clean clean clean and more clean.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norbreck_Castle, Manager at Norbreck Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear barneymiff

Thank you for taking the time to share your honest and balanced feedback. The Hotel is very popular with clients of all ages and thousands of families visit the hotel each year and many chose to return again and again as we offer a safe and friendly service, I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

I wish to thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Mr Tony Banks
General Manager
The Norbreck Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Just got back from a 1 night stay and very glad to see the back of it. Yes all you read is very true. I stayed with my partner, 2 boys and our friends were in the room next door with their two children. The receptionist who happened to be a team leader was very pleasant and friendly. The spa area and staff their were also very lovely. For us, thats where its stops. When we first got to our room we thought wow, it was large and had plenty of room for our family. BUT, I had to complain as the standad was below exeptable. The recepttionist I spoke to was miserable and unhelpful she definatley had a re-training need Her customer service and attitude was appauling. Complaint about the room included: pubic hair in the bath, the room was very dirty, previous guest rubbish, the carpet was filthy and stained, furniture was broken, crockery was VERY old and unclean windows didn't shut, The fake leather sofa was filthy and had rubbish in the creases, wallpaper coming off the walls, stains on the paintwork and walls, bathroom floor was grubby. As for the food YUK MUCK! Nothing was fresh, cold, tasteless, swill that you wouldn't feed an animal. It was really hard to find something positive to say about the food even the coffee and tea was disgusting as it sat in urns stewing for hours before use. It felt like we were on the set of a remake of On The Buses Infact I'm sure most of the guests could have been extras on the original programme. DONT DO IT save your money and give it to charity.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

So the rooms are a little dated but the bathrooms are amazing! I had a jacuzzi in my room!! The bed was comfy enough, and there are tea and coffee making facility's. The only things wrong was the window didn't shut and the pillows must be recently bleached. I can't stand the smell of it makes me sick! But silver lining is central heating, and Jacuzzi!! If your going to stay and expect a prompt check in on a monday and friday then please note they have a load of coach company's checking in too so be patient it will soon be your turn.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norbreck_Castle, Manager at Norbreck Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear Marvinmonkey,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the Norbreck Castle Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Tony Banks
Genral Manager
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norbreck Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.