We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
Savoy Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Disappointing Stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Three night stay turned horrendous on the 2nd night when a herd of elephants checked in! Constant thumping from children jumping off furniture, even when that stopped, the adults were stomping. Have they not got any respect for other people staying there ?
Apart from that, the hotel is quite aged and repairs have been cheaply restored. Was a bit astonished when I informed house keeping, room had not been hoovered.House maid informed me that they are not hoovered until our departure. What would happen if I had a long stay? Had to request towels for family room and toilet rolls.
The hotel management was good and they did try their best to make our stay comfortable. Probably wouldn't make a future visit as for the same price you could find more updated accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philcroft, General Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    202
    222
    222
    549
See reviews for
324
508
34
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Our family of nine, which included 3 children from age 4 to 10, stayed here 25th-27th October 2013. Whilst the hotel is dated, as are all the hotels in Blackpool, some far worse than others(!), we enjoyed a lovely weekend at The Savoy. All our rooms were spacious and clean. The dining room had a varied buffet menu which was very nice, as were the staff. The chef was there too overseeing the dining room and we didn't see anyone complaining. Apparently there had been some mix-ups with bookings that weekend, but that was not the fault of the hotel itself, it was Britannia Hotels central booking base. The people making such derogatory remarks maybe shouldn't visit Blackpool if they're 'seasoned travellers at home or abroad'. Blackpool obviously isn't the place for you....!!!!

Room Tip: The family rooms for one or two children were excellent. We were all on the 1st floor, but the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philcroft, General Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team here are committed to ensuring all our guests are comfortable during their stay and received the best possible service.

Your feedback is very important to us and is very much appreciated; our team will be thrilled to receive it. Thanks for your review it will be a pleasure to welcome you back in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked to stay for the Black Pool Illuminations at the Savoy Hotel in Blackpool, when we booked we was with a disabled couple and asked that we needed to be next to them, this was all fine on the phone so we also upgraded to a sea view room, sounded great, only to our amazement when we arrived we went to our room and the party we checked in with yes, had what could be described as an average room not the cleanest but ok for one night, then we had to go to our room, which was meant to be next to our friends with the sea view room, here is what happened.

1.) Our room was at the other end of the Hotel, don't think we could have been put further away from our friends.
2.) There was 2 families of 4 so they made the beds up with 5 in 1 room and 3 in another.
3.) Our toilet did not flush.
4.) The view from our room which we paid more for looked out onto a car park and a round about with a few lights on it, not the sea view we had paid for.
5.) Bed sheets were stained and dirty and believe me I have stopped in some bad places but this really seemed to be the worst.
6.) Windows don't look like they have been cleaned in a few year, and no this is not going over the top.
7.) To top it all off when we complained the hotel and they just told us all the other rooms was booked, there was nothing available the 4th bed which should have been in the other room is not available so they will just have to stay in our room.

P.S If you do manage to complain and they tell you there General Manager will be in touch who is Phil Croft do not believe this at all as I have now phoned endless times and emailed to which he has not replied to either.

Thoughts on this place save your money as you will probably get better service and better views from many of the bed and breakfast they have around there.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philcroft, General Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Sadly we cannot do anything about charges in other car parks.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were given a room that stunk of smoke when you walked in. When we complained we were told the hotel was full and was sent a man with a steam cleaner which just masked the smell and made it impossible to breath. When we said we were leaving they suddenly found another room. This didn't smell but was unbearably hot and the shower didn't work at all. In fact there was virtually no running water and the windows had been painted shut. The one lift holds three people and is often taken up with staff. Long queues for breakfast. Ten minute wait for someone to come and serve behind the bar. No room in the limited car park. Generally dishevelled and dirty.

Room Tip: Specify non-smoking as first two floors are smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philcroft, General Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review.

I would personally like to apologise to you for the inconvenience caused to you and that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations.

Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our services and standards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Thank goodness we only booked one night. You think "Savoy, this should be good".
Hold on folks here we go. We have travelled extensively at home and abroad. This is the worst hotel ever. You walk into reception and "What?" thread bare carpets, dull and dingy decoration and stressed out reception staff. We had to wait 2 hours before we could get our key, went for a walk, came back and decided to have a sandwich. The bar is just as bad as the reception. Worn chairs, filthy windows and stained/marked tables. Sandwich left a lot be desired but at least it was freshly done. Got our key and went to our room on the 1st floor. As we walked along the corridor lots of doors looked as though they had been prised open at some time, did not fill us with a feeling of security. Then our room - Art Deco style (i.e. old) furniture and it looked like it hadn't been decorated for years. Twin beds, clean sheets with holes in them. Carpet not overly clean. Bathroom left a lot be desired, door would not shut as bowed. Bedroom window slightly ajar and unable to be shut and dirty (pigeons outside!!). TV out of the Ark, portable not many channels available. Went to look at restaurant and decided to eat out!! Best decision so far. Came back and decided to have drink in the bar. Sat at table by windows, well - they were filthy, inside and out. handles snapped off, pieces of cardboard and sellotape stuck in gaps around windows to try and stop the wind. Came down in the morning for breakfast, walked through bar to dining room. Thought there was a heavy sea fog, oh no just the filthy windows. Self service breakfast, looked at the cooked breakfast but would not touch any of it. Cheap and nasty looking products apart from tubs Rachel's yoghurts which we had a few of.
DO NOT EVEN THINK OF STAYING HERE. There are far better places to stay. Brittania Hotels should be ashamed/

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philcroft, General Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on trip advisor, as it is only through constructive comments such as yours that we can constantly monitor the standards of service we offer our guests.

Please accept my apologies for the difficulties you experienced whilst staying with us at the Savoy Hotel and I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

I will investigate the points raised in your review and speak to the relevant Department Managers to address the difficulties you experienced.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write this review and please accept my sincere apologies once again that it was necessary to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one week ending 29Oct. The place is very dated but if you are interested in seeing a hotel almost the same as when it was built in 1905, here it is. It is a listed building and if they spent the millions on it that it needs like they have done with the Midland at Morecambe the guests moaning would have to pay 170 pounds a night. (I have enquired). If you want a posh hotel you pay the price. For 35 pounds each for bed and a great breakfast, and we had a very clean twin room with clean bathroom here at the Savoy. Maybe we were lucky, but having listened to some of the moans, most were superficial. One women complained to me that her bed creaked, so does mine at home! A smile to some of the hard worked staff works wonders. Don't stay here if you want 5 star, but if you want a cheap place to stay give it a try. Near trams and buses, great for getting around. I have no connections with staff or the business.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philcroft, General Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for review.

I am delighted that you found us good value for money.

I do hope we see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Can't believe had bad this hotel was. Stayed only 1 night (thank god). Did read reviews before I came but stopped after 5th review and thought we would give it the benefit of the doubt. Surely it can't be that bad!!!! So we thought. Oh yes, it is that bad. I am not a snob by any means but where do I begin. Upon arrival reception just feels minging, sticky carpets, tables etc. Went for a drink before we dare to enter the bedroom. Happy hour is 11am til 4pm (only good feature to be found). Went to our room via tiny (only 3 persons), dirty lift. The hotel has a definite musty aroma around the whole of the hotel. We opened our room door in anticipation and omg what a disgrace. Double bed (tiny), dirty, creased pillow case, peeling wallpaper, dirty cheap carpet, dirty windows, curtains just about hanging on, furniture antiquated and dirty, chair with massive rip and stains, and to top it all pubes stuck to bathroom tiles. Went down for evening meal, just about acceptable. Had to share a table with strangers, food luke warm. Felt like I was in a nursing home at tea time (no disrespect, I am sure there are fantastic nursing homes) just trying to best portray the atmosphere. Had a night cap before bed (I needed it). Did not sleep a wink could not wait for daylight to get out of that place. Car park was full so had to pay £10 per 24hrs in nearby car park. Got home and straight in the shower. I know it sounds extreme but this is how I truly felt. Please read all the reviews, I wish I had. I imagine homeless hostels to have better standards. I am gobsmacked this place is allowed to operate. I know it is only 2 star but no excuse for extremely poor hygiene.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philcroft, General Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Sadly we cannot do anything about charges in other car parks.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Savoy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Blackpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.