We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Northlands Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Northlands Hotel to your Saves list
Northlands Hotel
31 - 33 Hornby Rd, Blackpool FY1 4QG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #859 of 910 Blackpool B&B and Inns
North Wales
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

This hotel was booked through partyhotels.com for my mate's stag do. I read the reviews before going and decided to take my own bed sheets. I'm glad I did. Hotel is dirty and our bedroom door did not even lock! Do not stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    23
    6
    7
    64
See reviews for
8
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

Lads enjoyed the bar. Maybe I am a snob but I couldnt sleep in those beds and I checked out early. Beds were damp and disgusting with no mattress protectors. We slept on top of the beds in our clothes rather than make contact with the filthy sheets. I looked in the drawer of the bed and it was black with mould. No hot water in taps. Kettle didnt work. View from window over flat roof full of junk/fag ends/discarded takeaways. The worst place I have ever stayed in and I will NEVER go back there again. It should be condemned. Awful place. This isnt a joke, but people are actually allowed to take their PIGEONS on holiday with them!! There is a sign in the window!!

Stayed August 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

The best thing about this establishment is the location First impressions when entering building was a foisty smell and not very clean. We arrived at 2.00 pm Saturday afternoon and within 15 mins we were allocated our rooms which was a good point . When entering the room it smelled fresher than the foyer. In it there was a double bed and bunk beds. When the bottom bunk was sat on it was extremely noisy from the old springs, the double bed springs were nearly protruding through the mattress which did not have a cover on, the bed clothes were not clean. This to me was unacceptable the mattress was very uncomfortable, I slept intermittently, and because the bed clothes looked as if they hadn't been washed I slept on top of the covers in my clothes Fortunately I was only staying one night so I put up with the situation ,if it had been any longer I would have moved to another hotel. Two other members of the party, in two different rooms, complained about the damp and smell in the rooms. On the plus side the staff were helpful and very pleasant which makes a lot of difference. I stayed in a boarding house in 1979 when my son was a tiny baby which was more up to date and cleaner than this one. This could be a nice place to stay but needs to be brought into the 21st century I see that the current owners have just taken over I am afraid they re going to have a lot of work and expense to bring this place up to par. Also the price of £30 per night does not reflect what we got . Two adults and one child can stay in Durham Castle for £56 bed and breakfast - no comparison I wont be staying here again and would not recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

ideal location for shops, entertainment and everthing within easy walking distance.Blackpool is moving slowly in to the 21st century at last. with new shops and traffic free areas and much cleaner than from other years.
owners Wayne and Tamara were friendly and helpful but.............. breakfast arrived cold and unnapetising ... i did not want baked beans but was not offered an alternative like tomato or mushrooms though tea and coffee and toast was plentiful.
our twin beddded room was cramped my husband and i took it in turns to
get dressed/ undressed,no chair in the room and no hooks to hang wet raincoats/ jackets. i was wary of the wardrobe which was a bit unstable.
fortunately we did not let this spoil our weekend break

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

As soon as we got to the hotel we was made welcome and its a very friendly enviroment, the owners wayne and tamara who had only taken over in october are really friendly and provide a great service, this hotel is great for families, groups hens and stags and its an all round hotel and is 10/10 for everything, great bar, very clean and the rooms are top quality, if you are looking for a place in blackpool, the northlands hotel is the place to be and has a great location

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

On booking were advised that there was a stag party in at the same time since I needed accomodation for two teenagers. The welcome was friendly and we were shown to our rooms immediately. The rooms were small but functional for with en suite shower and loo and plenty of clothes hanging and drawer space. Tea and coffee making facilities were available as was a hairdrier and electric socket for phone chargers etc. and we were accomodated thoughtfully in that we were separated from the stag party as best Wayne and Tamara could manage. The lounge/bar was comfortable and had the usual gaming machines, pool table and tv. The bar was reasonably priced and fairly well stocked. Wayne and Tamara were friendly and helpful hosts. Breakfast was served between 9 and 9.30 in a well presented dining room and was enough to set you up for the day. A wide choice of cereal, cooked breakfast, toast and jams, tea, coffee and juice were on offer. The hotel is situated very near to the busy central pier and is in easy reach of the town centre for shops and bars. The sea front is not far away and the pleasure beach was about a 20 minute walk along the promenade or a short tram ride from either the tower or central pier pick up points. The only negative was the lack of car parking at the hotel itself, but a few hundred yards away at the bottom of the road is a large municipal car park which cost in excess of £20 to park from Friday evening to Tuesday morning. Overall the hotel was a good choice for us and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

Had a great time at the Northlands for a hen weekend they made us feel very welcome and the bar was open until the early hours. Rooms clean and the hotel is great for access to the tower and nightlife would book again.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northlands Hotel

Address: 31 - 33 Hornby Rd, Blackpool FY1 4QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #859 of 910 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Northlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northlands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.