We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsway Hotel

Kingsway Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kingsway Hotel to your Saves list
Kingsway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   68 Charnley Road, Blackpool FY1 4PF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #267 of 910 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have just got home from my friends Hen Party, with a party of 16. Arrived and greeted at the door by the lovely couple Karen and Pete. I booked the Hotel weeks before not knowing what we would expect, the Welcome was lovely the rooms were clean and tidy. Really didn't want to get out of the bed in the morning they were so comfy, breakfast was at a reasonable time at 9am, the breakfast had a great variety of fresh fruit, cereal and a lovely full English breakfast. One of our ladies is a vegetarian and she had a delicious omelette, nothing was to much trouble, Karen also gave us some free tickets and discount cards for the clubs. We all really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be returning back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Warm classic looking building fitting in with Blackpool's architecture, A nice seaside town with lots to do for the family would definitely go back however I have previously visited a similar hotel in Skgness of the same sort of quality/upkeep and it cost half the bill to which I still felt hard done by. In terms of the hotel, the hosts do all they can however we found that sometimes you just can't make up for the lack of quality. Breakfast was plentiful, however lacked in quality (orange juice as a starter was a little bit insulting I would have thought it was a formality), and the same can be said for the evening meal. Whilst it is all home cooking there are certainly limitations and maybe they need a proper chef to come in to really justify the pricetag. The rooms are rather poxy and as a family of 3 we couldn't help but feel like we couldn't move without banging into each other, with simple facilities (the kettle was actually dirty inside). I would have thought it was about time to bring it up to the 21st century, and especially the price. There were no other real facilities for the children in the hotel which was rather disappointing as I didn't really want to teach my child how to play on fruit machines at a young age. No on-site parking without paying for a fee and I was disgusted at the thought of paying this. Can't say I was best impressed and felt rather insulted paying the sum. Nice to have an on-site bar, again feels like it was a little stuck in the past and it's time to move on. Wouldn't return by choice.

Room Tip: Don't pick mine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have never stayed in Blackpool before but we booked this hotel for a large group for an under 14 rugby tour.The hotel is well situated about 7 mins walk from the front.There is no on street parking near by but the hotel does have a few spaces ( for which you pay extra) and there is a large car park around the corner for £7.50/ 24 hrs.The cost of a family room for 3 people for one night ( including breakfast) was £75 ( which is not cheap but I presume the location in the centre added to the cost)
The rooms are by modern standards rather old fashioned and very basic with no central heating ( fan heaters/ electric bar heaters on the walls),no hair dryers or phones but all have small ensuite bathrooms with electric showers,tea and coffee making facilities,white towels and clean white bed linen.The rooms were very clean and tidy
The breakfast was included and plentiful but we were not offered a choice except for the 'starter'of orange juice v a variety if cereals ,followed by a full English breakfast-the only problem with the lack of choice is that often food is wasted !
What really brought this hotel up was the exceptional friendliness of the hosts Peter and Karen who really did their absolute best to ensure that our stay and rugby tour meal went as well as we could have hoped.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

we stayed at the kingsway for new year and couldnt have picked a better hotel,peter and karen couldnt have been more welcoming.nothing was to much trouble for them and always had a smile.food was very good and rooms clean with tea making and toiletries for the bathroom,bar and lounge are was nice to relax in warm and inviting.will be going back during summer for a break wouldnt think of staying anywere else in blackpool now.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

stayed here many times over the years and never had any issues with anything. karen and pete always warm and welcoming brilliant for kids of all ages they cater for the pickiest kids..........i should know i have one. GOING AGAIN.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Thank you Peter and Karen for another great stay!
For all trip advisor readers I have been coming to this hotel since I was a young girl with my parents and now 35 yrs on I am still holidaying at The Kingsway Hotel. I now visit with my own family and extended family.
Hotel is located on a quiet street in a central location behind the tower. If you get to stay in one of the back rooms then you can see the tower out of your window. 5 minutes walk to main shopping centre, seafront, and amusements.
Peter and Karen are great hosts and treat everybody like they are friends and family. They have numerous repeat guests from all over the uk return every year.
The hotel rooms are very clean with white fluffy towels, tea and coffee making facilities (tea/coffee etc can be replenished from the bar in the main lounge). Each room has a tv with freeview channels. Some rooms are large family rooms or smaller double rooms. Peter will always try to accommodate you to suit your request the best he can.
Food - be prepared to put on a couple of pounds due to Peters freshly prepared home cooked meals.
Breakfast - choice of orange juice, cornflakes, Rice Krispies, frosties, fruit & fibre or grapefruit to start. Then you have the option of having a full cooked breakfast or you can have just boiled or scrambled eggs etc. the choice is yours, just let Karen know. (Karen takes your breakfast order at evening meal the night before or if you are just bed and breakfast just let her know in advance). If you don't want a full breakfast but maybe bacon and sausage this is ok too.
The good quality bacon and sausage are the best we have had. There is also fresh toast to have and Karen will keep topping you up with more if you need it.
Evening meal - choice menu which you select at breakfast on the day. Choice of starter, main course and dessert. Tea or coffee to finish your meal. All food freshly prepared by qualified chef Peter. If you have any dietary requirements these can be accommodated.
Just to note on a few previous comments, The Kingsway is a popular family hotel, and like a lot of hotels in Blackpool are older style buildings. Walls do tend to be not as thick in these buildings and you will at some point here noise from other guests, maybe the tv, or guests coming in after their morning out, toilet flushing, children crying etc. These are the norm in this type of accommodation and I personally have never stayed anywhere were we have heard no noise at all. Even 5* hotels abroad you still here noise from the next rooms.
Parking is also available at the hotel, not always on site but Peter has allocated parking slots available for use.
All in all I highly recommend this hotel to anybody wishing to stay in Blackpool. But then I suppose I am biased after being a returning guest for many years!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at the Kingsway for 2 nights with our 7 yr old grandson, we were made really welcome Karen was great with grandson Rhys and he loved her, the hotel was spotlessly clean only thing wrong the toast was on already on the table when went down for breakfast so it was cold and it was full breakfast or nothing would have liked just eggs on toast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Hotel

Address: 68 Charnley Road, Blackpool FY1 4PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 910 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kingsway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.