We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel - but appalling breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Blackpool

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Blackpool to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Blackpool
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Park Drive, Blackpool FY3 8LL, England (Formerly De Vere Herons Reach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Chester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ok hotel - but appalling breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This is my second trip to a De Vere Village hotel in the past 2 weeks and yet again they have astounded me with their appalling breakfast offering. The hotel in general is pretty good. Friendly staff at reception and in the gym. Room is ok, but way too dark and gloomy. However, the breakfast was appalling. I was met by a lady who grunted to me "what's your room number , do you want tea or coffee". No smile, no " have you had breakfast here before"?. The grapefruit juice was warm, and the toaster was one if those infuriating things that you have to put the toast through twice to get any "toast" on it. However, the English breakfast was truly bad. Cheap overcooked sausages, dried scrambled eggs, horrible stringy greasy bacon swimming in fat, fried eggs floating in grease that were simply dusgusting. The De Vere seems to be targeting itself at the mid-range business hotel. They need to visit the Holiday Inn to see the breakfast offering they have. They are no means brilliant but way out in front of this hotel. Have breakfast at your peril!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Urban Resort Blackpool, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hi "cheshire food",

Thank you for your recent review of Herons' Reach.

We were sorry to hear that you were disappointment with your breakfast during your stays, I will ensure that your comments are passed to both our Executive Chef & Food & Beverage Manager.

If you do wish to discuss your issues further, then please do not hesitate to contact me via email at Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    319
    291
    142
    89
See reviews for
276
374
19
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

As i write i am still here...the upgrade is not a UPGRADE. The 1st room was dark and depressing the upgraded room over looks the golf course if you can see through the condensation dirty window. The 2nd room full of cobweb and dust...well worth the £184 spent!...we pre payed for the italian restaurent which is very decieving you get to choose from 3 courses on the early bird menu or upto the value of £14.50 per person on the main menu...but on the bottom of the main menu it states friday/ saturday 3 courses for £29 but the waiter said this for local people only!...after choosing our first and second course on the EARLY bird menu it was dessert time..a choice of three but one of the desserts was not available, the waiter said we could choose from the main. I asked for the cheeseboard, the chef refused because of the expense...i asked the waiter what was the difference she said £1.45...seriously how tight, i would have paid the difference but was not allowed...avoid

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Here on a long weekend as a group of twelve from our golf club.
Reasonable price for B&B and golf. All the facilities you would expect from De Vere and we have found the staff all to be very friendly even though they were very busy with regular guests and a couple large wedding groups over the weekend.
The bar is busy but friendly, a little pricey, but its convenient and if you're with a De Vere member, their discount brings in down in price.
Having a Starbucks on site is very convenient and again, the baristas were friendly and efficient.
The inclusive breakfast was very good with a good selection of cereals, pastries and full English - again, couldn't fault the staff even though they were very busy.
A good golf course which, apart from appalling weather, is a good test of gold without being ridiculously tough.
Would happily stay and play here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Urban Resort Blackpool, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hi "Yeltsay",

Thank you for your recent review of Herons' Reach.

So glad that your golf party enjoyed the golf and your stay with us recently.

We do hope your party return to the hotel again very soon and that the weather will be better next time?

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed for two nights during the week and found our stay mixed. When we arrived we was yet again asked if we wanted to upgrade after already have been asked over the phone when confirming our reservation. Young receptionist seemed straight faced and was not very pleasant and welcoming. The room was comfortable however the cold tap was rarely ever actually cold and we noticed during the night the cold tap became hot water so therefore we had no drinking water. Had to call reception asking for some cold water, the night porter delivered sparking water to our room stating that they had no still water? not acceptable.

When visiting the spa our experience was ruined by an obnoxious member of staff at the gym reception who embarrassed my girlfriend infront of several other customers by raising her voice to her regarding the way you are supposed to exit the gym even though this was not made clear to us in anyway. A complaint was made regarding this to the main reception, they were apologetic and said they would deal with the issue - we did not hear back about this.

The priority of the staff is clearly the gym/spa/golf members and not the hotel residents, we felt uncomfortable when using the swimming pool and the gym.

When checking out of the hotel the young receptionist was again blunt and not particularly friendly, when handing the room cards over she simply replied "ok thats it", no enquiry if we actually enjoyed our stay or a thank you.

We will not be staying at a De Vere hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Urban Resort Blackpool, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hi "Mulldog89",

Thank you for your recent review of Herons' Reach.

We were sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay with ourselves. If you would like to contact me direct then please do not hesitate to email me at Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just returned from one night at this hotel and what a disappointment. On checking in we were asked if we wanted to pay an extra £20 to 'upgrade' to a room with a view of the golf course, which we declined. On arriving at our room we found we already had a view of the course but were in a 'disabled room- no mention of this to us by the receptionist. Obviously everything in the room was eqiupped for less abled people with emergency pulls(which we nearly activated) and the bathroom mirror was low down with a pull out seat which I found very strange when trying to use.The room itself had everything we expected and so we did have a good nights sleep. Avoid the breakfast as it was terrible. There was one table with a bow;l of fruit, croissants, cereal and fruit juice and then the hot buffet. I wanted prepared fruit and yogurt and didn't think there was any but it was situated at ther end of the hot food - not on the table with the only cold choices - very strange. The hot food was of very poor quality - no hash browns, very burnt black pudding, very raw sausages, very very fatty bacon that I could not bear to touch. The beans and mushrooms were OK but were cold. Come on DeVere this is certainly not up to your usual standards. We used the pool area and found that very pleasant although the changing rooms were not very well maintained and quite dirty. The hotel overall was pleasant enough for a one night stopover but very disappointing compaared witht other DeVeres we haver stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Urban Resort Blackpool, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Morning "Lynda W",

Thank you for your recent review of Herons' Reach.

We were sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent visit to the hotel. If you would like to contact me to discuss your issues further then please email me direct at Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matlock
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Have stayed here several times....mainly because of the reasonable price...it is unfortunate that it's looking a bit tired now although the surroundings are spectacular.....such a waste.
Only eaten here once.......mmmmmmmmm not too good.
Position is good ........just needs some TLC and some staff training.
Rooms are dark with small windows.

Room Tip: all rooms are very dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Urban Resort Blackpool, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi "john s",

Thank you for your recent review of Herons' Reach.

We were sorry to hear your comments, but all feedback is of value to us and these will be passed to our Senior Management team.

We do hope you would return to us again?

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just arrived home after a great night at Herons Reach. I booked a bargain late deal, just £29 for the room with breakfast, amazing value!! We arrived to a lovely welcome, went up to the room to drop our bags and then had a couple of drink relaxing in the sunshine watching the golfers.
The room was quite warm and perhaps could do with air conditioning but it was quite a humid day so probably isn't noticeable most of the time. Free wifi, comfy bed, very clean.
We picked up a voucher booklet from reception (part of our deal) and headed to Buca Di Beppo for our ore booked meal. The reviews on here aren't that complimentary but we found no faults. We dined on the 2 for £29 menu and used a voucher from the booklet for a free bottle of house wine. Each course was hot and tasty, service was excellent....infact we thought the staff were excellent.
After a good night sleep, we headed for breakfast. It was VERY busy but we only waited a few minutes for a table and the restaurant staff we constantly replenishing everything. Fruit, cereal, pastries, toast, bacon, sausages, eggs, mushrooms.......pots of coffee and pots of good strong tea. Tables were cleared swiftly.
All in all, it was a very good stay and I will most certainly watch out for another bargain night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Urban Resort Blackpool, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi "flowerchick",

Thank you for your recent review of Herons' Reach.

We are pleased that you had a great night away and that you made use of our amazing offer last week. We do also have various offers which go out daily via Twitter & Facebook if you would like to follow us with the possibility of getting another great deal.

We do hope you will come back to the hotel very soon.

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Blackpool

Address: East Park Drive, Blackpool FY3 8LL, England (Formerly De Vere Herons Reach)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#7 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Urban Resort Blackpool 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Blackpool is set in 236 acres of Fylde coast countryside, the hotel is the perfect base for a relaxing leisure break with the splendour of the Trough of Bowland and the Lake District only an hours drive. There's all the fun of the Pleasure Beach, piers and Golden Mile just minutes away offering something for everyone. Village Urban Resort Blackpool has 174 stylish bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, an Urban Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 3 Squash Courts, 3 Tennis Courts, Indoor and Outdoor Swimming Pools, Championship Golf Course, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Village Urban Resort Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Herons Reach Blackpool
Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool De Hotel Vere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Blackpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.