We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK. Nothing special.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Blackpool

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Blackpool to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Blackpool
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Park Drive, Blackpool FY3 8LL, England (Formerly De Vere Herons Reach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“OK. Nothing special.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here last December. Facilities were pretty good, gym, pool, and bar services. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast in the morning was decent, but no better than what you may get at an average 3 star hotel! Room was very dark, bed sheets were dirty on arrival, and certain items in the room were dusty.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Urban Resort Blackpool, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi "PCJH",

Thank you for your recent review of Herons' Reach.

We were disappointed to read that you did have some issues during your stay, all feedback is gratefully received and your comments will be passed to our Head Housekeeper.

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    292
    266
    135
    78
See reviews for
260
331
17
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed one night with 2 rounds of golf and well worth the money only problem we had was on checkin were they had booked us in in the name of our house not surname so took a while to find our booking while the one girl on reception was very friendly the eastern european girl who got involved was a bit rude and sharp but all in all rooms were very clean and comfy one point we were told by the taxi taking us into town when coming back be careful as when you mention the hotel some taxis try to over charge you which i found out when one took me to a housing estate called herons way then tryed to tell me i was going to pay the whole journey it was on 10 pound when i got there so i just got out the taxi and refused to pay so just be careful the hotel seems to be dog friendly which is getting more popular so all in all a good all round stay

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Urban Resort Blackpool, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi "ashez82",

Thank you for your recent review of Herons' Reach.

We are sorry to learn that you initially had an issue at check-in but pleased that this was rectified and that you went on to have a great stay with ourselves.

We do hope to welcome you back very soon.

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel for a girls weekend away, you could not fault the hotel and facilities for the price we paid. The waitress in the restaurant was really friendly and helpful, food was fine as was service. We used all the leisure facilities and the outdoor pool was super, lovely and warm even though the day was cold and overcast. We went to the entertainment that was on offer on the Saturday night, dancing through the decades, and although meal wasn't as good as we had the previous night, the price reflected this. Overall a super weekend was had by all, would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Urban Resort Blackpool, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hi "trailerLancashire"

Thank you for your recent review of Herons' Reach.

We are pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and great to hear that you utilised all the facilities and enjoyed the party night.

We do hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

For the 3rd year in succession I've enjoyed a girlie break at this hotel. Excellent location opposite the entrance to Stanley Park. Close yo the zoo and model village. The facilities are excellent . I can't get disappointed that my room wasn't ready when we arrived whilst some of my friends were , it was way before the check-in time!! We waited in the comfortable bar area and the receptionist later came to find us to bring our keys to our room when it was ready .. How great was that!! The rooms are clean and well appointed with tea/coffee making facilities too.

We had a relaxing afternoon in the pool and made use of the hot spa pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna .

Food was great at breakfast and although we didn't this time, we have used the in house Italian restaurant before and I would thoroughly recommend it.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff in this hotel , the atmosphere is very friendly. If you want to go into Blackpool the receptionist is only too willing to phone a taxi for you...I'd thoroughly recommend a stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Urban Resort Blackpool, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hi "Janette B",

Thank you for your recent review of Herons' Reach.

Its great to hear that you and the girls enjoyed another trip away to the Hotel and loved it.

Please don't leave it too long until you return again.

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in June 2012 and have no complaints at all. One morning, we came down for breakfast and I was standing in the queue for the restaurant, holding my 2 year old. He leaned foward and decided to pull the t-shirt of the bloke in front of me. This 'bloke' turned around and who was it??? Only Roy 'Chubby' Brown! He was playing at the Winter Gardens and was staying in our hotel of all places! Great bloke, posed for photos etc with no problem. Anyway, the hotel! Great room, great facilities, great price, great location. You can't go wrong here. Not in the middle of Blackpool ( i mean, would you dare??? ) but close enough to only pay around a tenner to get a taxi into Blackpool. Oh, did I mention the golf course attached to it?

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Urban Resort Blackpool, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hi "Supersonic1979",

Thank you for your recent review of Herons' Reach.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with ourselves last year and that you had the added bonus of meeting "Chubby Brown".

Please come back and visit us again soon.

Thanks,

Janine whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My friend and I had a day here last month and it was ok nothing like what we expected, the products are nice but the staff not very attentive to our needs and did not really seem interested in what they were doing. the treatment standard was ok. I have been lucky enough to pick up quite a few deals lately for day spa's so will be reviewing them in due course, there does not seem to be a site just to write sa day reviews so unfortunitley I was forced to write this on the hotels page sorry as we did not stay over so cant comment on the hotels bedrooms or food but we did go to the pub for a coffee which was friendly and served food that looked nice. I would not come again but my friend said if she got a good deal she may return but the deal would need to be less than half price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Urban Resort Blackpool, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hi "Pam r",

Thank you for your recent review of Herons' Reach.

Your comments will be passed to both our Spa Manager & Team Leader as all feedback is gratefully received.

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Blackpool

Address: East Park Drive, Blackpool FY3 8LL, England (Formerly De Vere Herons Reach)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#7 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Urban Resort Blackpool 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Blackpool is set in 236 acres of Fylde coast countryside, the hotel is the perfect base for a relaxing leisure break with the splendour of the Trough of Bowland and the Lake District only an hours drive. There's all the fun of the Pleasure Beach, piers and Golden Mile just minutes away offering something for everyone. Village Urban Resort Blackpool has 174 stylish bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, an Urban Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 3 Squash Courts, 3 Tennis Courts, Indoor and Outdoor Swimming Pools, Championship Golf Course, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Village Urban Resort Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Herons Reach Blackpool
Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool De Hotel Vere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Blackpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.