We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Too busy to cope'” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Blackpool

Save Saved
You added Village Urban Resort Blackpool to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Urban Resort Blackpool
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Park Drive, Blackpool FY3 8LL, England (Formerly De Vere Herons Reach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 72 hotels in Blackpool
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“'Too busy to cope'”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The actual hotel is excellent as it has recently had an extensive refurbishment and is the flagship of the village group. The leisure facilities are great and the room spacious and modern (but too warm even with the heating off). However all departments did not seem to be able to cope with the level of business, a half hour wait for a table even though i had booked it earlier, run out of many menu choices, a 15 minute queue for a table at breakfast, they must be doing a lot right to be so busy but they do need to focus on the customers experience.

Room Tip: Not sure about all rooms but the ones looking out over the golf course seem very spacious and recent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    254
    242
    112
    68
See reviews for
217
298
15
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a £75 deal from laterooms that included evening meal. Everything was going ok until the dinner experience. Booked in resturant for 9pm. Got to restaurant and it was kaos. Told there was a big delay. Finally sat down at 945pm. Still more kaos. Ordered foos straight away. Drinks took 25mins to arrive. Food arrived at 1030pm. No starter arrived at all. Food was very, very poor. The deserts we wanted were no longer available (same as a cpl of starters)
We have stayed here before and paid £175 just for b&b and that visit was excellent. Gone down hill so much. Another reason to avoid Blackpool. Stay away. Devere sort this out

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 2pm and we were told we could not book in till 3pm (told we could book in at 2pm when we booked stay) the room was nice and spacious and a little tired but the shower dispenser was in the empty bath broken within 5 mins of us getting in the room a man must have been sent up to fix it and asked us not to touch it till tommorrow so it would stick to the wall ,also the heated towel rail didnt work !! the package we booked included a bottle of sparkling wine and chocolates in the the room but no glasses just bathroom beakers!!! .We eat at Bebo,s and the food and servive was very good and used the hotel leisure club again very good breakfast was again very good all you can eat buffet the price of £99 was just about a fair price but we wont go again !!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

The best way to describe hotel. Is a Premier Inn with a higher price tag. I am disappointed with the size of the room but more disappointed with the state of the carpet. I will put a picture on. Luckily only staying 2 nights so only have to look at it 1 more night. Front steps are very dodgy (would make a great compo claim if you are that way inclined!!). Lighting is poor in the rooms. Bathroom probably the smallest I have ever been in. Like I say very very AVERAGE

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here for one (saturday) night and had paid for the luxury 'upper deck' room at £102 on late rooms.com.
The room was pleasantly decorated and clean, it had a king size bed, only 4 pillows (needed 6), 32" flat screen, hd satellite receiver with sky sports, Bose sound system, complimentary water, good quality tea, coffee, cocoa and biscuits. It was a quiet room with a reasonable level of sound proofing.
We got seen to quickly on arrival, although reception is small and will be a nightmare when busy.later at night, 10.50pm, we tried,with difficulty, to speak to someone at reception. Eventually we had to shout them to be served. That was unacceptable and very poor guest service.
We did not eat here because we read the trip advisor reviews, De Vere take note, with such poor reviews we felt it unwise to waste money in their restaurant and went elsewhere instead.

The highlight was the bed, it was so comfortable that we slept in and missed breakfast. Based on a great nights sleep in a comfortable bed I would return here next time I am in Blackpool. However I don't think I would pay any more than we did for the upper deck room, albeit very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Went here on a Groupon Deal but even at a reduced price the hotel was poor value. Room was average but bad lighting. Bar prices were very expensive. The food was very poor. Went on a Sunday night so the food on offer was a carvery. Very poor standard, poor selection and no customer care. Breakfast was no better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Although we booked they had no record of our booking. Not sure what the problem was as it was not at all busy.

Waited a long time for drinks to be served. Made attempts to go to the bar ourselves but was told that a waitress would bring them but still had to wait a long time.

Not a lot of choice on menu.

Waited a long time for food to be served. Garlic bread which was ordered with starter did not arrive even though it was promised. Eventually arrived with main course.

Food was tasteless and dried up. No Parmesan cheese offered. Quite funny to see waitress offering Black pepper from a very small ordinary pepper pot.

Although waitress was pleasant it was all very unprofessional and slow. Definitely not good value for money or a pleasant experience.

Went to the snack bar but found this to be quite untidy and glasses still on tables although this also was not busy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Village Urban Resort Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Blackpool

Address: East Park Drive, Blackpool FY3 8LL, England (Formerly De Vere Herons Reach)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Urban Resort Blackpool 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Blackpool is set in 236 acres of Fylde coast countryside, the hotel is the perfect base for a relaxing leisure break with the splendour of the Trough of Bowland and the Lake District only an hours drive. There's all the fun of the Pleasure Beach, piers and Golden Mile just minutes away offering something for everyone. Village Urban Resort Blackpool has 174 stylish bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, an Urban Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 3 Squash Courts, 3 Tennis Courts, Indoor and Outdoor Swimming Pools, Championship Golf Course, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Otel, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Village Urban Resort Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Herons Reach Blackpool
Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool De Hotel Vere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Blackpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.