We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem on the North Shore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waves Hotel

Save Saved
You added Waves Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 3 more sites!
Waves Hotel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   12 Wilshaw Road, Blackpool FY2 9SH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 878 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Gem on the North Shore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have just returned from our 4th stay with John and Dean ( and Harvey !!) at this fantastic hotel on the North Shore. The hotel simply could not be faulted in any way, spotlessly clean, lovely comfy bed, breakfast to die for which really sets you up for the day, super location overlooking Gynn Square with tram and bus stops at the end of the road.
John and Dean are the perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them and they always go the 'extra mile' to make your stay a memorable one, as far as we are concerned - Blackpool wouldn't be Blackpool without the Waves Hotel !!!!
Can't wait for our next visit !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
47
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, the room was clean and the breakfast was excellent!
John and Dean were great hosts including Harvey the chocolate lab!
My kids loved it we stayed for one night, and cannot wait to come back !!
Situated in a quiet square near lovely parks

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oundle
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed at Waves for two nights whilst on a business trip to Blackpool. I chose this hotel because it was just 1 mile from where I was working, had excellent reviews and was very well priced. It lived up to all of the reviews. A lovely warm welcome and had I been staying there on holiday John had plenty of recommendations for what to do. Clearly knows the area well. My room was at the back of hotel, a small room with a double bed (very comfy), wardrobe, tea & coffee and a private shower room. The shower was excellent, plenty of hot water and a good level of power. Toiletries provided too which was a lovely touch and unexpected. All very clean. It was very quiet too so I slept well. The only thing that bothered me was a small light flashing on the smoke alarm (I'm sensitive to the smallest of lights, even a TV light) however, I take an eye mask with me so not a problem. I didn't have cooked breakfast as I tend to eat just cereals and toast however, I just know that the breakfast would have been great. It so good to be able to find good quality independently owned hotels at excellent prices, rather than having to use one of the expensive chains of hotels. Support local business and stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here whilst house hunting in Blackpool.

You know this is going to be a lot nicer than most hotels as soon as you see it. A clean bright modern fresh exterior that invites you in

I'm a notoriously bad sleeper but the beds were really comfy and I slept well.

For those on holiday, the hotel couldn't be much nearer the beach yet just tucked into quiet side street away from the hustle and bustle and with loads of free parking

Recommended

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

At last we have found the best hotel in blackpool We would highly recommend waves hotel to friends n family or anybody looking for a nice clean and quiet place to stay we where made welcome from the minute we went through the door and John and dean where so friendly they do a very good job and made us feel at home during our stay our flat was spotless and our breakfast was amazing we could not have asked for a better place to stay we won't be going to any other hotel in Blackpool apart from waves hope to see yous soon guys and thanks for a great holiday John and dean. And of course big Harvey he's so adorable Angie n andy x

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Everybody says its a home from home and this is true from start to finish,from the fab welcome to the sad and reluctant goodbyes . An absolute gem of a place and I challenge anyone to find better hosts than John and Dean and of course the gorgeous Harvey....a real hit with my two boy's! Thank you so much guys...hope to see you soon...Sarah,Clare,Finlay and Niall.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnetby le Wold, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Think the headline says it all! It really is "home from home" & if I was to give it a score it would be 100 out of 10! From the moment my six year old daughter & I stepped into waves it became home for the week. From the welcome you get to the room you have is better than a five star hotel! John is a master at making you feel welcome, a fountain of all knowledge when it comes to Blackpool & the best places to go, deals to be had, friendly advice. Dean is a master in the kitchen - fantastic breakfast from Dean every morning - cooked to perfection! Then there is Harvey (the dog) a true gentleman! Great with my daughter & as friendly a dog I have met in many years; he too is fantastic. I have been lucky enough to travel to some wonderful & beautiful places in the world and I know that the american`s pride themselves on customer service...and making people feel welcome - not knocking the american`s in the slightest, just a bit of advice...come & see how John & Dean do it!!
So to sum up, fantastic, fantastic, fantastic....so much so that I have booked to go back in three weeks time for a short break with my daughter!

Room Tip: No tip here - if our room was anything to go by, every room will be fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waves Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Hotel

Address: 12 Wilshaw Road, Blackpool FY2 9SH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 878 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Waves Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Waves a friendly, clean, cosy guesthouse in Blackpool, the UK`s premier seaside resort. We offer you a home-from-home by the sea. From the moment you arrive you are assured a warm welcome, where you can enjoy your break in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We are located in a beautiful prime location overlooking Gynn Gardens, and just a few steps away from the Promenade and Sea. Yet the excitement and bustle of Blackpool is within easy reach, with tram and bus stops a few yards away. Also within easy reach are market towns such as Cleveleys and Fleetwood. There is free on street parking, alternatively there is a car park at the end of the street, where a fee is charged. We are open all year round including Christmas and New Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Waves Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waves Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.